We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Continental Hotel - Penang
Ranked #145 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Klang Bah Kut Teh
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Unpleasant stay...”
Reviewed March 4, 2009

I went there for a short trip so thought of staying in this hotel since it is in the town area which is convenient for me to travel out to the highway. However, when I drive into the parking lot, the place is so dark and I can’t see any security person at the exit point. The exit pole is also broken and I can’t see any CCTV camera around the parking lot so if bad things happen such as someone steal your cars, it will be an easy job for the carjackers. The hotel room is quite below the par and doesn’t up to the 3-star standard hotels. The bed sheets, towels, window curtain and the floor carpet need to be totally change as it looks like the room service staff never did their job to change it everyday. The staffs are not so friendly though as when I check in that time, the staffs are chit chatting among each other over the counter as though I’m invisible there. The breakfast provided are just “okay” and not much food provided. The room rates are quite expensive considering the services that I get. This hotel definitely will need to be refurbished as the whole hotel is in the sorry state. Would I come back and stay at this hotel? The answer is “NO”.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvin_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    38
    32
    35
See reviews for
24
21
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Came back and stayed in this hotel again....(refer my review dated 15.10.08). It was absolutely a big mistake. My previous encountered with the staff was pleasant eventhough the hotel looked pretty tired, but this time around everything was not up to the standard at all. (The hotel still looked the same...no improvement) The service was absolutely a disgrace. No bellman was on sight to help with my luggage...the front desk staff were chatting away while checking in me as though I did not exist. The room condition was horrible. Even a cheap motel in Chulia Street looked better that the room given to me. Housekeeping service was horrible....they only changed your bedsheet.!!! The room itself was not even cleaned, the carpet was not even vaccumed. Debris everywhere!!

This was my 2nd trip to this hotel and will also be my last........I returned because of their good service previously and was definitely dissapointed this time. The hotel is in a terrible need to be renovated and staff need to be retrained.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service and rundown hotel
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CeaserBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2008

I stayed there only one day. Just near marine. thats all. but dont forget ı saw terrible things in other hotels. this is cheap hotel and nearly clean. I cant find satellite TV there. ıf you are alone, you can stay. but not for honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ebd_ebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2008

Travelling with partner and kids 6 & 9. Desk staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good english. Got room 1601 for the first night. A large room with one queen and two large single beds. Nothing like the room on the website. Very tired and stained. Beds, however, were more comfortable than most of the slabs used in other hotels we had and it was very quiet. Leaking loo valve and shower rose and the aerator nozzle was missing from basin tap. Some of the TV channels were fuzzy with only a couple in english some of the time. (Not that we were there to watch TV.) The taped up in-room fire sprinkler nozzles were very concerning also. Definitely not worth the 300 RM we were being charged. The buffet breaky the next day was also shocking. My partner complained the next afternoon- calmly- and was shown another, marginally better, room which she said she would need to okay with me and while we were discussing it the manager appeared and offered us a suite on the 21st floor. Much better but still a bit tired. Back in KL a few days latter I read that the chain is spending up next year to refurbish their properties in Malaysia. I hope that this one gets it's fair share of the cash. It won't be soon enough.

  • Liked — Proximity to the bus terminal and the view
  • Disliked — It was tired and breaky was cold.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaldoraTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#70 of 84 in George Town
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#29 of 84 in George Town
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#21 of 84 in George Town
1,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 84 in George Town
841 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Continental Hotel - Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Continental Hotel - Penang

Property: Grand Continental Hotel - Penang
Address: Hotel Grand Continental 68 Jalan Gurdwara, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Continental Hotel - Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Hotel - Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing