We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good in many respects.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hong Ping Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hong Ping Hotel
Ranked #53 of 79 Hotels in George Town
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Very good in many respects.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed here for four nights during a one month trip around Malaysia.

There is a big concentration of guesthouses, small-hotels, boutiques and rented apartments around this area of Georgetown. Having arrived early in the day, I had the opportunity to check around many before deciding on which to stay. The price of the room i payed at Hong Ping was 70RM and for that i had a spacious room that was very clean, t.v., air-con, a lovely shower and a room with natural light. Having gone around many of the guesthouses where backpackers congregate, i thought that, for the price, this room was of a better value. It is a fairly large building in a good location right next to the hawker stands selling delicious food and some bars close-by. Its also ideal for a walking tour around Georgetown and is central to Khoo Kongsi, Temple of Mercy, Penang Museum etc and about a 10-15 minute walk to Fort Cornwallis, the clock tower. To reach the ferry point to Butterworth its around 20 minutes. There is a bus-stop just outside. I mostly took bus numbers 101, 102 and 104. These buses can take you out to Penang National Park, Batu Ferrengi, Kek Lok Si temple, Penang Hill as well as the airport and snake temple. So most, if not all, of the tourist attractions for Penang can be reached from this bus-stop just outside the hotel.

The people were nice and informative here. Told me about places to go and helped me with my onward journey from Penang.

In Georgetown the prices are generally higher than most other places in Malaysia and having looked at many rooms for around 40-50RM in the guesthouses that were no more than boxes and very hot inside i figure just pay 20 RM more and stay in a spacious, clean, cool budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lardylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    20
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
16
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

You get a little more than you pay for with en suite bathroom, tv etc. Not luxury but clean and safe.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

when i checked in hong ping i thought id made a mistake the room was tiled from floor to ceiling and there was no fridge or bath, but it turned out to be a little cracker!!
the staff wer so cheery and helpful and gave me a room at rear of hotel nice n quiet,
thr oom was lovely and clean the bed was so clean the bedding was so clean and white
the bathroom had a shower with a deep bucket sink in the corned great for clothes washing!! lovely hot shower, toilet was lovely and clean, the room had a tele with only local channels but ad maybe 2 english programs anight
the room lacked a fridge which would of been great, there is a hot water gezzer in the reception for hot water for tea or coffee, never saw any insects in the hotel or the beds!!!!!!
hotel situated on chulia street not far from hong kong bar and my fave bar the mona lisa bar
the cleaning staff we so friendly and helpful had a brilliant stay and will defo go back

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieomx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

I spent a couple of nights here in July. I'd walked around the area, looking for somewhere that looked convenient to the ferry which was clean and not a backpackers. While there were a couple of very nice looking places further up the street, they were also quite a bit more pricey.

I'm sorry for those who had encounters with bugs: my room was spotless, and with it being mainly white tiles, even on the walls up to the height of my head almost, I would have noticed unwelcome visitors. The room had both a fan and air conditioning and a fairly comfortable bed (although firmer than some). No problems with the bathroom facilities, but I did find the TV a little intractable: I unplugged it and could not get the plug back in the socket.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay in the Hong Ping: the check in staff tended to be elderly gentlemen, but they were polite and asked after my plans and the like. I liked the fact that there were a couple of 24 hour Nasi Kandar places down the road and a beer shop just up the road.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

The furnitures are old. The room is not clean enough. I had an encounter with cockroaches. Enough said.

Location wise, if you are taking a van to Haadyai early in the morning the next day, it's rather convenient.

Food wise, loads to eat if you go down the street at night.

Room Tip: For that amount of money we paid, I rather put in slightly more and stay at a more modern & clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in July as we were taking a bus up to Koh Lanta, via Hatyai early in the morning. The stretch of road that this hotel is located on is the main backpackers area, with budget hotels, tour companies, cheap eats, internet cafes and all day/night food. The room was fairly basic, it had hot water, aircon, slippers, towels, clean sheets, clean toilet, tv , bottled water (very dubious, as I reckon it was tap filled) and even an early morning alarm call. However, the rooms are in need of a good refurbishment. we paid about RM 80 for the night. There are cheap eats all around the area, the main street becomes alive at night with street vendors and hawkers setting up shop in all over the street. For a good munch, walk up the road to Jalan Penang and bear right, there is a Nasi Kandar place which is worth a visit. Try - the blind reflexology place on Jalan Penang, (on same side as the Nasi Kandar plpace) it is on the first floor on top of a shop (I think its 7-11, in front of a bus stop). Ask for Boon, his English is excellent and good for tips and local knowledge. Was RM30 for 1hr.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chungfucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

I found this hotel after needing to check out of a nearby budget hotel which was seriously flawed (so noisy there was no sleep, no windows, no toilet paper, one tiny blanket, the real SE Asian budget experience in full). I asked at the bus station for a recommendation and was put onto Hong Ping hotel. Wow. For only something like $5 Australian more per night (it was around $21 Australian per night) I got a real hotel with all the trimmings: my own room with a view, own bathroom, air con, tv, best of all - Quiet and Central with really great and helpful staff. To my utter surprise it was located only one block from the backpacker area on Lebuh Chulia (handy to buses and food stalls), but what an improvement. For the sake of saving a few dollars a night (and by the time you don't have to pay for drinking water, toilet paper or soap, that is covered anyway), don't go to any backpackers hostels - get good sleep and service and go to Hong Ping.
NB The little old Chinese style buildings are cute in appearance but they all seem to front onto noisy roads and have limited light / ventilation (if they have light and ventilation its often because they are on the corner of two noisy roads). I recommend this hotel wholeheartedly. They were also very helpful in letting me use the hotel phone to chase after my lost baggage.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bundle_of_straws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Broadway Budget Hotel
Broadway Budget Hotel
#37 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#30 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#10 of 79 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
G Times Inn
G Times Inn
#49 of 79 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coffee Atelier
Coffee Atelier
#17 of 79 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#42 of 79 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Ping Hotel

Property: Hong Ping Hotel
Address: 273B Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 79 Hotels in George Town
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Hong Ping Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing