We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Couzi Couji Boutique Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I had such a good time there ! Definitely a place for backpackers ! I enjoyed the week I spent there (I extended my stay because it was very nice). We hanged out with Alex (the owner) almost every night ! He brought us to the best places to eat and drink in Penang ! My stomach still remember the 22 ringgits all-you-can-eat steamboat buffet we went !
It is also very close to all the interesting places in the downtown of Georgetown. If you are afraid to walk, there is a free shuttle stop next to the hostel which drives you around the whole downtown : Easy.
The dorms are clean, the showers and toilets also. More of that, a bed in a dorm is very cheap and you can enjoy the AC all day long ! Perfect for sleep late in the morning, to take a nap or anytime you need to take a rest from the hot Malaysian weather.
There is also a free access computer, very useful when you travel without computer, tablet, smartphone as I do. Usually I spend a lot of money and the internet cafes...
It is the best place I have been so far in my 7 months trip

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elskou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 284 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Booked 2 nights, ended up staying 5. The hostel is in Little India surrounded by lots of great restaurants which are so so cheap. There isn't a great deal to do in Georgetown but we enjoyed walking round finding all of the street art.
Cleanliness is not top of te agenda here, and it could do with another bathroom. However it offers a lot: aircon rooms, Xbox, TV, PC, and lots of seating inside and outside.

We enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller10205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Excellent place with good location. I stayed much longer than I had planned because of the atmosphere and the owner Alex who arranged something nice almost everyday. Dorms are clean, well air conditioned and have enough privacy. Simply the best hostel where I've been!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank topolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We actually only wanted to stay for 2 nights in this great hostel, but this place was just so cozy, the staff so friendly and we had so much fun, we didn't want to leave.. so we stayed for 3 more nights. The owner and the staff were very helpful and organised parties and trips for us. The hostel was very clean and I slept like a baby in the very comfortable airconditioned dorms. I can only recommend it to all travellers!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank 0Platypus0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We had the best time at Couzi-Couji with Alex and the rest of the staff. The atmosphere is great and the rooms are comfortable. From the minute we arrived we knew we'd found somewhere special and immediately extended our stay. I genuinely can't recommend this place highly enough. Location is great and if you speak to Alex he can point you in the direction of a dozen good places to eat within minutes of the hostel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank avaconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Couzi-Couji offers a party 7 nights a week and wants their guests to get in on the fun. Sure, folks may be a little hungover during the day...but they come alive every night. Fun is always available and the owner, Alex, is an amazing host to each of his guests. Rather new and well designed, the place certainly has a cool vibe for young packers in search of good times. Cleanliness does not seem to be the top priority...but it is a hostel after all!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank TheMalaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

couzi-couji is well located, clean and has a very nice owner! we had a great time there because the owner alex organized a lot of party's for us and we spent a unforgettable time together! the dorm's are clean and you have some privacy cause you can hide your bed behind a curtain! if you go to goergetown, there's no reason not to choose couzi-cougji!! there's also free water, coffee and tee!! the staff can give some good advise for cheap and excellent restaurants!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#37 of 88 in George Town
651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 119 in George Town
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
SIOK Hostel, Penang
SIOK Hostel, Penang
#3 of 119 in George Town
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#5 of 119 in George Town
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#4 of 119 in George Town
211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wassup Youth Hostel
Wassup Youth Hostel
#12 of 119 in George Town
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couzi Couji Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couzi Couji Boutique Hostel

Address: 84 Lebuh Gereja, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 119 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range: $14 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Couzi Couji Boutique Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couzi Couji a fabulous boutique hostel in Penang located right in the centre of UNESCO World Heritage Cities Zone. Couzi Couji greets the visitor generously in a warm and vibrant atmosphere. Beautifully restored while keeping the charm of boutique Heritage accommodation, this "century old house" provide guests with the whole vibe of low-key and discreet rather than showy. You get simple, no-fuss service from the sophisticated and friendly staff, who give you as much attention as you require,making your stay lovely and enjoyable. Couzi Couji café is the ideal place to wind down after a long day exploring the great city. We boast one of the biggest get together area for all the guests to mix around with chill out like atmosphere with great music. Glorious central courtyard, complete with artistic wall mural let travelers chill out and share memories from all over the world. A cozy chill out bar with comfy sofas to slump into after a day of sightseeing. By opting for this neighbourhood, you'll get an instant taste of how the locals wind down and enjoy themselves, follow their lead and fall in love with this beautiful city. This luxury charm hostel in a youthful area of Penang is great for meeting fellow travellers. Featuring Free Wifi throughout the property. Couzi Couji has 2 mixed dormitory and an exclusive all female dormitory. We also have 3 elegant and beautiful boutique private rooms for guests that wants more privacy. All rooms are air conditioned with blankets provided. A peaceful haven as no children under 16 are allowed. Couzi Couji rooms are exceptionally pretty and very spick and span. There is no curfew with 24hrs security card access throughout your stay. Located in the heart of UNESCO Heritage Zone of GeorgeTown, Couzi Couji Boutique Hostel is the preferred choice of travellers into Penang. Perfectly nestled in the quiet street of Lebuh Gereja (Street) and walking distance to the beautifully famed Penang Street Art Wall Painting and walk through George Town's heritage streets such as Lebuh Armenian, Love Lane and Lebuh Muntri to enjoy refurbished shop houses that are trendy cafes and boutique hotels while some remain antique stores, small businesses and Chinese coffee shops. All this within the walking radius of Couzi Couji Boutique Hostel. Experience refurbished heritage buildings by staying here in Couzi Couji, one of the most gorgeous boutique hostels. "Your most preferred getaway boutique hostel in Penang" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Couzi Couji Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couzi Couji Boutique Hostel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing