We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$192
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
$129
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$47
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Heritage Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
$22
$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muntri Mews(George Town)
$73
$63
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
GLOW Penang(George Town)(Great Value!)
$47
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spices Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
$59
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
$38
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveler rating
186
316
95
30
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
316
95
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking distancefamily roomconvenience storearmenian streetwall muralskimberly streetspacious roomhotel lobbysafety boxlittle indiastrategic locationexcellent locationsecurity guardthe ground floorprangin mallmini fridgeparking space
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
500 - 505 of 642 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

First the positive points: spacious room and bathroom; great location in the Old Town. Off street parking.
The minus points:
The (bath)room was not clean: floors, counter, toilet, shower walls,... all looked like they hadn't been touched with a cloth since the opening a few weeks before. Drinking glasses in the room did not get replaced. One day our room simply didn't get serviced.
I mentioned it to the reception staff every day, and although they were 'friendly' enough, nothing actually got done.
Biggest disappointment: the obvious lack of interest from the staff to remedy things. Having to talk to receptionists with earbuds in their ears connected to their phone or music devices didn't help either.
The Hotel (managed by Tune Hotels from Air Asia) had only just opened and obviously has/had 'some teething' problems to sort out. We had pre-booked because it look great online. We would have changed hotels after one night had we been able to. Very basic amenities for what they are making out to be. The hotel is definitely not in the budget category but wants to be 'classy midrange'.
Also, be aware that all rooms and corridors are located around an open lobby in which sound carries and echoes. When guests decide to have a late night noisy party in the lobby downstairs.... suffice it to say there is not much sleep to be had.
I don't like writing negative things like this; I prefer to talk to the staff, which I did but unfortunately there was no response.
I do believe the place has a lot of potential though, and some training could do wonders :).
PS: The parking attendants were very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

We apologize for the falling below the desirable service standards you have come to expect from us.
Appropriate action has been taken in solving this matter and ensuring this does not happen again. We understand how important cleanliness is and undeniably it would have been very unpleasant for guests when it is compromised.

Thank you for highlighting this to us and we hope to restore your confidence in us the next time you come back.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

我和朋友觉得这家酒店不错。房间挺大,设备很新,也很干净,前台也很热情,位置也好,离光大很近。美中不足,只有漱口杯,没有喝水的杯子,可能是新装修的缘故,有些味道。If I be given second chance to choose a hotel,I would still choose this one.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Qi X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stated at Armenian St Heritage Hotel over the last weekend, and it was WONDERFUL.
For any travellers wanting to explore the Georgetown heritage enclave, this location can never get any better. The heritage zone information center is right at the doorstep of the hotel if you need any information about the town. Clan houses such as the famous Khoo Kongsi is just a mere 5 minute walk away! Prangin Mall/Komtar is around 10 minutes away from this hotel, which makes travelling by bus really convenient!
My stay at this hotel was also a wonderful experience. Most hotels within the heritage zone would have overcharge tourists at premium prices. But at Armenian St heritage hotel, I find it a bargain as the rooms were in immaculate conditions. The bed and pillows are a definitely a real treat after a whole day of sightseeing!! The toilets are equipped with all modern facilities with hot water access and are very spacious. There is also free wifi access to all rooms.There is a restaurant at lobby of the hotel if you want quick meal, but within a 2 mile radius you can find real gems around town.

Room Tip: Higher floors gives a better view of the skyline of Georgetown
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy to find that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us and hopefully you'll come back again for another awesome experience.

Thanks for the review.

Best Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very wonderful experience when first check in at this hotel, very friendly staff and helpfull.The hotel is in the middle of George Town and Jetty. Rooms are provided full amenities which you cant find in other hotel.Very excellent in cleanliness and I heard about the environment programme for cleaner and greener Penang. Will strongly recomend to my friends and colleges.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nisa_izzati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Was here for 2nd time this week since my 1st visit in Dec 2013. Conveniently located at the heart of Georgetown, many popular local eateries are just within walking distance, also it's very close to First Avenue & Prangin Mall shopping spots. Rooms are clean & bathroom is quite spacious, staff are very friendly & efficient to assist us during check in and other requests made (we experienced same quality of service during both stays). Last month they charged RM5 for parking per guest' stay, however this time found out parking is free, hopefully they won't impose this parking fee again later. Definitely worth to stay here again if you are looking for a simple & cheap hotel within Armenian street. There is free wifi at all floors, what you need to do is ask for wifi login id from front desk.

Room Tip: if you prefer a quiet corner, request for a room that's located further from lift zone.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Little_Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Hi There,

We are happy to find that you liked our hotel and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see more of you.

Thank you for the review.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews