We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stay there for 2 nights, and it was really nice experience because the price they give us it's affordable and the rooms is really nice and have touch heritage concept.it's just they don't provide kettle but it's upon request and they send to our room, the service at front desk was really good and they all really helpful.they even very friendly and we actually ask a lot of question to them, they was so helpful.before we stay there we read few bad review about this hotel but it was totally different environment ,we enjoy our stay there and would recommend to all of our friends and family..:)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darreck_5560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

We are pleased to find that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We wish to receive you again amongst us for another amazing experience.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    273
    71
    21
    14
See reviews for
141
166
59
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Saw some nice reviews on TA and decided to give it a try but we had a horrible 3 night stay. Although price was good/cheap, it is not value for money at all. I would pay more to have a better hotel definitely!
At check-in, we noticed many mosquitos in lobby and reception area. Hotel staff themselves confirmed that there are many mosquitos lurking around.
Our room was fairly clean but as mentioned by all, no phone, no fridge, basically no frills.
We noticed mosquitos in the room too but sprayed deet and left it. However, the night was bad, could not sleep and each of us had more than 10bites each!! On top of that, there was so much noise along the street!
We asked to check out next day (even willing to forego the full payment we had already made at time of reservation) or to have a better room with no mosquitos and front desk obliged. Room was quieter but still some mozzies!
On our last night, couple in next room had a huge arguement at 3am and we could hear everything.. they also hit/bang against the wall numerous times. Due to lack of phone in the room, we had to use our mobile to call the reception, it also took us awhile to find the hotel's contact number!!
Finally, at check out, Suzanne at the front desk was not apologetic of what we had gone through and also did not thank us for the stay and no invoice whatsoever was given. Very bad service.
Overall, although cheap, I would not recommend this to anyone especially if you are not on a budget. Only redeeming factor is the location of hotel was closed to quite some good areas of Georgetown but there are many better options I guess! Dont be fooled by this hotel's top 10 spot on TA!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Armenian Street Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi Starie,

We apologize for what has happened during your stay. We had some challenges during the initial stages of opening, and has since, taken steps to improve our services, and facilities. We have taken steps by reviewing the pest control maintenance visits, which has now being scheduled at a regular basis.

We understand how important comfort and cleanliness is for good night sleep and are invariably finding ways to improve gaps in our products and services from reviews like yours.

Please allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel the next time you come by.

Thank you for highlighting this matter to us.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

While it looks and feels basically clean and new, there's nothing special about this place at all. No phone in room. Have to take a very slow elevator 6 floors down to ask for anything. Poor bathroom amenities. No fridge in room. Cleaning staff probably didn't spend more than 2 mins in our room every day. Same grime, same places. Could go on and on. I normally am very generous with hotel reviews, but this place was a horrible disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The first room we were given had a trail of ants on the wall so we requested for a change. We were given a higher floor room and away from the elevator. Room was definitely quieter and we could see the Penang bridge from far. It was clean and the beds were comfy, too bad the pillows were way too soft. Toiletries were provided and we borrowed a kettle from the receptionist. No mini fridge though. Drinking water is provided and there is a water dispenser at the lobby too. Room is spacious. Sound proofing ok, but we can hear voices from the common area and doors closing.

Felt that they were under-staffed, only one person manning the recept at night and in the day. Security guy double up as room service guy.

Will stay there again as it's value for money.

Room Tip: choose a higher floor room and away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strangger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights during Christmas week. At that time, the hotel was only open for a month. The room and bathroom was large. Airconditioning, wifi, tv, drinking water and towels were included. What the room didn't have was a fridge, kettle or phone. As the building structure is such that there is an atrium at the centre and most of the rooms are around it, noise travels easily even within levels. We could hear people talking and showering next door and guests from a far away room creating a din at 2am. The window was facing a blank wall, but we were fine with that as we didn't want the sun coming in.

Our biggest gripe was the poor housekeeping during the 6 days we were there. There was hair all over the place in the bathroom when we checked in - on the walls, in the sink, on the countertop. When we checked out nearly a week later, hair that was on the hairdryer when we checked in still was not cleared. Needless to say we didn't use it. The room was hardly cleaned daily. The floor was not mopped/swept and the toilet was not cleaned properly. This is really appalling as we have never had a problem with the cheaper, older and smaller Tune Hotels Downtown.

The water pressure was so low, the power shower was practically useless. There was a mosquito infestation in the lobby. There is a small carpark behind the building but you can never seem to get a lot inside. The only other option was to park on the street outside the lobby and opposite the road.

Location wise, it is a short 5-10 minute walk to 1st Avenue mall, Komtar and Prangin Mall. There is a coffee shop opposite to the left selling great wanton noodles and a famous oyster omelette If you explore the area to the right, you will also find some food stalls where you can watch the bustling morning activities. This is also a great location to begin exploring the famous art murals nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the lift and centre as possible due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the whole hotel that gave a cosy atmosphere! The reception staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcomed! There was enough power sockets located around our family room and made charging our gadgets easier! The brightly lit bathroom was a plus for my dad as his eyesight is not good and has always complained about bathrooms that have warm lights instead of bright white lights. Probably the only drawback was the absence of a kettle which would have been great for a late cuppa. Otherwise, I love the location of the hotel and its proximity to the heritage as well as street art area!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinchiminie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

If you are coming here by a car, you can try to avoid this hotel. Me and my friends came here for only 1 night, and it's more than enough for us!!! The parking is so terrible, they have around 100 rooms if I'm not mistaken but only less than 20 parking lots!! But not all, when upon checking in, we asked for parking, they said park at the back, so when we went out for dinner and came back at night, this is the most terrible part, went we are about to enter the parking, the security doesn't want to open the barrier for us, so we though he couldn't understand our language, and we requested him the receptionist to talk to us, but he ignored us!!! He just continue sits there, so I went into the hotel and talk to the receptionist, the receptionist told us, first come first serve basis, so we were like wtf??? You should tell us while check in right? After that we decided to find our parking outside, but suddenly we saw a car coming out, so we went back inside, but the security told us no parking also!!! and at last, the reception told us that he will get us a parking, at last we parking opposite the hotel across the road, when walking into the hotel, the security told us to check out !!!! CHECK OUT DURING HALF WAY OF YOUR STAY! THINK HOW TERRIBLE IS THEIR SERVICES! TRY TO AVOID. A VERY VERY VERY VERY BAD ATTITUDE, SERVICE. EVEN THE RECEPTION IS NOT TRYING TO SOLVE OUR PROBLEM OUT. HE TOLD US THAT THE SECURITY IS NOT A MALAYSIAN, COULDN'T SPEAK PROPERLY! RIDICULOUS !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brandon-ckh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#33 of 84 in George Town
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#22 of 84 in George Town
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.6 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#16 of 84 in George Town
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armenian Street Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armenian Street Heritage Hotel

Property: Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Address: No 139, Lebuh Carnarvon, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia (Formerly Armenian Street Heritage Hotel (By Tune Hotels))
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Armenian Street Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage zone in Georgetown, Armenian St. Heritage Hotel lets you experience the charm of old world hospitality at its best. The hotel is steps away from the heritage trails of museums, temples, eateries and the world famous "Little Children on a Bicycle" mural hand-painted by renowned artist Ernest Zacharevic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Armenian Street Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing