We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended~”
Review of Noor & Dean’s Kafe - CLOSED

Noor & Dean’s Kafe
Cuisines: Asian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Noordin Street, or Lebuh Noordin, is the second road south of the Prangin Canal. It is within a city area known today as the Seven Streets Precinct, a working class neighbourhood which developed out of the hodge podge of kampung houses in the late 19th century. The Hokkiens call Noordin Street Ji Tiau Lor, short for Ji Tiau Lor Koay Kangnga, meaning the second road after the Prangin Canal. Noordin Street is the only street in the Seven Streets Precinct to be named after a Muslim, in this case Habib Marican Noordin, the Indian Muslim merchant who was one of the benefactors of the Kapitan Keling Mosque. Noordin Street was famous in the 1950s and 60s as the home of the Wembley Cinema; an amusement centre where entertainment as different as bangsawan performances, movies, ronggeng parties, bumper cars, billiard parlours, pinball arcades and dance halls attracted throngs of Penangites. It's the Wembley which has inspired the design and feel of Noor & Dean’s, a celebration of popular period Asian cinema, stars and fashion of that era. Noor & Dean’s was a conglomerate of a peranakan culture with a touch of colonial British times. Dining in Noor & Dean’s Café is a stroll down memory lane. The atmosphere boasts collectibles depicting historical community of yesteryears Penang, all accompanied by a casual and tasteful menu ranging from favourite local delicacies to Western. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served seven days a week.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

It is rather hard to find a place presentable place to dine with your Malay friends in Penang. Now we have this place and the food is GOOD. Really.

Satay, Cucur Udang, Claypot Nasi Lemak (very good), Nasi Goreng..

Pork free but serves beer.

Limited parking lots, so just park anywhere when you are getting near.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank koshpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoorDeans2013, Manager at Noor & Dean’s Kafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Firstly, thank you for dining in Noor & Dean's Cafe - Espresso Bar & Asian Fusion and allocating your precious time to pen us a review in TA.Your comment and review will definitely keep us going to serve the best food, service, ambiance and hospitality.

Hope to see you again in Noor & Dean's. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 168 of 224 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

Restaurant recommended by friends to try. 8 of us went, but it must have been an off night for the staff and kitchen. Only 21 people in restaurant, with basically 2 servers who seemed to be stretched to their limit . Our meals came out slowly and 3 had finished before the rest got theirs. Shish kebab chicken was cold and tough, pasta would have been good if not served cold. Catch of the day was good, chicken satay, was small and also tough. Curry kapitan was only average. Difficult to please local palates but the restaurant tries.

Thank itchycucumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoorDeans2013, Owner at Noor & Dean’s Kafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all thank you for your time for dropping us a feed back . Pls take note that we do value each review, it might be negative to our guest but we at Noor & Dean's Cafe always have an open mind and this is an opportunity for us to strive better in near future.

It is just perplexing that as a person accompanied by 7 friends attending a reunion whilst enjoying friends company, manages to allocate time in counting our cafe guest and staff. With due respect, service staff during that evening was 3 person, 2 on floor, 1 in the bar with a manager on duty. Ample staff to serve guests having 28 max sitting capacity in our cafe side.

Likewise, we do want to be better in future. However, it is rather difficult for us to do this with your review. "Chicken is though" by nature, chicken meat is tender unless we do serve it frozen, rather preposterous. Pasta is cold is almost impossible, as the process of cooking pasta is by blenching the pasta on a boiling water before tossing with ingredients on a medium fire and while taking minutes to blend all ingredients before reaching the guest table.Pls take note that the distance from the kitchen to serving floor will only take 7 steps, not enough time to make your pasta cold !

We do wish you to drop-by again here at Noor & Dean's Cafe to once again enjoy your friends company and experience the taste of our food which is evident from the high recommendation posted in TA with regards to its quality, taste and service.We know we will keep on pleasing the local palates (based by other reviews) but true enough, we will TRY to achieve to be among the best Cafe's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Dinner in late March - stayed just a few doors down the road and decided to give it a try. We had claypot chicken, satay, sago pudding and fried banana - all very tasty and reasonably priced. I also really appreciated the decor and the friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lukasg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoorDeans2013, Manager at Noor & Dean’s Kafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Firstly, thank you for dining in Noor & Dean's Cafe - Espresso Bar & Asian Fusion and allocating your precious time to pen us a review in TA.Your comment and excellent review will definitely keep us going to serve the best food, service, ambiance and hospitality.

Hope to see you again in your next trip to our historical Georgetown - UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Had breakfast there as it was part of the package staying in Noordin Street House. The food was good and delicious especially the nasi lemak and I like the beautiful decor there. The staff were very friendly and helpful

Thank Angela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoorDeans2013, Manager at Noor & Dean’s Kafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Firstly, thank you for dining in Noor & Dean's Cafe - Espresso Bar & Asian Fusion and allocating your precious time to pen us a review in TA.Your comment and excellent review will definitely keep us going to serve the best food, service, ambiance and hospitality.

Hope to see you again in your next trip to our historical Georgetown - UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

What a fab place this restaurant is. We made a reservation thinking that it might be busy but on arrival was disappointed to be the only two diners. Our disappointment disappeared almost immediately when we were seated in very beautiful and atmospheric surroundings. In fact we would have been happy to have had the place to ourselves all night but alas, a few other customers arrived!

Onto the food; to summarise it was very tasty, well cooked and presented and at a very reasonable price. We did however think that the cost of a bottle of wine was a little high being only 10 Ringgits less than a similar quality of wine at the E&O Hotel! Putting this aside, the wine was very pleasant. Our meal consisted of 2 appetisers of chicken satay (6 skewers) and a large chicken sheesh kebab, mains were 1 spicy lamb curry and 1 chicken kapitan curry with two portions of steamed rice and for dessert we shared a sago served with palm sugar and coconut milk. It was all very yummy. On a personal note, I found the chicken kapitan to be very delicate in flavour but this is probably as it should be. Nonetheless, it was very well cooked and enjoyable.

This is a real gem of a place which serves fantastic food in wonderful surroundings by very pleasant staff. We have already decided to return within the next few days before we leave for KL and will make a point of eating here on future visits to Penang. Wonderful.....

Thank MumtoScruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoorDeans2013, Manager at Noor & Dean’s Kafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Firstly, thank you for dining in Noor & Dean's Cafe - Espresso Bar & Asian Fusion and allocating your precious time to pen us a review in TA.Your comment and excellent review will definitely keep us going to serve the best food, service, ambiance and hospitality.

Hope to see you again in your next trip to our historical Georgetown - UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noor & Dean’s Kafe also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing