We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely cozy”
Review of Noor & Dean’s Kafe - CLOSED

Noor & Dean’s Kafe
Cuisines: Asian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Noordin Street, or Lebuh Noordin, is the second road south of the Prangin Canal. It is within a city area known today as the Seven Streets Precinct, a working class neighbourhood which developed out of the hodge podge of kampung houses in the late 19th century. The Hokkiens call Noordin Street Ji Tiau Lor, short for Ji Tiau Lor Koay Kangnga, meaning the second road after the Prangin Canal. Noordin Street is the only street in the Seven Streets Precinct to be named after a Muslim, in this case Habib Marican Noordin, the Indian Muslim merchant who was one of the benefactors of the Kapitan Keling Mosque. Noordin Street was famous in the 1950s and 60s as the home of the Wembley Cinema; an amusement centre where entertainment as different as bangsawan performances, movies, ronggeng parties, bumper cars, billiard parlours, pinball arcades and dance halls attracted throngs of Penangites. It's the Wembley which has inspired the design and feel of Noor & Dean’s, a celebration of popular period Asian cinema, stars and fashion of that era. Noor & Dean’s was a conglomerate of a peranakan culture with a touch of colonial British times. Dining in Noor & Dean’s Café is a stroll down memory lane. The atmosphere boasts collectibles depicting historical community of yesteryears Penang, all accompanied by a casual and tasteful menu ranging from favourite local delicacies to Western. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served seven days a week.
kl
2 reviews
“Extremely cozy”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This place is really cozy. Love the ambience and I am a huge fan of asian fusion. Best place to eat in penang if you are a big fan as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kavi_a_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoorDeans2013, Manager at Noor & Dean’s Kafe, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Valued Customer. Firstly, thanks for dining in Noor & Dean's Cafe - Espresso Bar & Asian Fusion. Your comment and review, is very precious to us since we are only 2 months old. We will keep on striving to serve the best food, service and ambiance. Hope to see you again in your next visit to Georgetown Heritage City ,Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    73
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable Experienced”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had short stay in Penang for 3D2N and decided to lookout for the closest restaurant. Checked with Foursquare, few restaurants pop up. Hence we decided to check out Noor&Dean's. From the moment we walked into this heritage shophouse, we were mesmerised by her charm and beauty. We were taken for a short tour of the boutique hotel and cafe. Hence, we decided to dine in. We were rather sceptical at first since we know we have the option in eating hawker food but decided to order. The Prawn Mee was a treat. We both agree, this could the best prawn mee ever we had tasted. The prawns were fresh and soup was awesomely delicious. We moved on to their panini. Goodness sake, A++. Finally, the desert was Sizzling Almond cake, no words, we were taken aback. Sadly, we wish this Cafe is located in KL, so that we can dine in regularly whener we can. Cheers to the team for the excellent service. We will recommend this place to everyone we know!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza055466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoorDeans2013, Manager at Noor & Dean’s Kafe, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Valued Customer. Firstly, thanks for dining in Noor & Dean's Cafe - Espresso Bar & Asian Fusion. Your comment and review, is very precious to us since we are only 2 months old. We will keep on striving to serve the best food, service and ambiance. Hope to see you again in your next visit to Georgetown Heritage City ,Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great little eatery, well worth a visit.”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten hawker food for a few nights, we were keen to sit in, enjoy a beer and taste what Noor and Dean's had to offer. Wow, what a treat. We both agree that it was the best meal we've had since arriving in Malaysia. The sate sauce alone is worth the visit. Top service, excellent food and in a charmingly decorated venue. You can pay more if you want extra fancy and less if you want yo ear the delicious street food, but for a great alternative, this is the place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drewmqSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoorDeans2013, Manager at Noor & Dean’s Kafe, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Valued Customer. Firstly, thanks for dining in Noor & Dean's Cafe - Espresso Bar & Asian Fusion. Your comment and review, is very precious to us since we are only 2 months old. We will keep on striving to serve the best food, service and ambiance. Hope to see you again in your next visit to Georgetown Heritage City ,Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad.”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I had room service for my 3d2n stay there. I think the most value for money is their breakfast set. Food presentation is good. Food taste good too. Waiter/ waitress service is good too. Personally, I feel that the fruits are not freshly cut and serve. It feels like it has been cut and kept in the refrigerator. Not sure if the prawns are not fresh or overcooked. It is a little too soft and slimy. The room service menu got more variety compared to Noordin Mews, but I found that all the food are very heavy and oily. Would be better if they have congee or clear soup noodle.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frozencherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoorDeans2013, Manager at Noor & Dean’s Kafe, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Valued Customer. Firstly, thanks for dining in Noor & Dean's Cafe. We duly note the comments. For your info, our prawns are ordered daily, fresh from the market. Whereas for the fruits were cut, prepared and stored in the refrigerator first thing in the morning. Maybe way too early, I suppose. We also took note on the suggestion for the congee and soup. Hopefully, in your next visit to Penang, we will cater as requested. Apologies from our side. Merry X'mas and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Cafe in Penang.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our family came to this cafe on numerous occasions and we will still be back for more. Magical food and their asian fusion e.g Pasta with shish kebab is out of the world. Lots of research done on food and the ambience is just great. Nice place for family and friends.Hat's off to the chefs Asry and Nevin.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mohandas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoorDeans2013, Manager at Noor & Dean’s Kafe, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Valued Customer. Firstly, thanks for dining in Noor & Dean's Cafe - Espresso Bar & Asian Fusion. Your comment and review, is very precious to us since we are only 2 months old. We will keep on striving to serve the best food, service and ambiance. Hope to see you again in your next visit to Georgetown Heritage City ,Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noor & Dean’s Kafe also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing