We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Camera Museum - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Worth going is you are photography enthusiast

I agreed with the comment and title of the earlier writer... if you love camera and photography... read more

Reviewed November 18, 2019
Molly K
,
Penang Island, Malaysia
Worth visit if you are photography enthusiast

➨ The Camera Museum 相機博物館 *Worth visit if you are photography enthusiast... read more

Reviewed August 30, 2018
herwanderlustlens
,
Singapore, Singapore
Read all 637 reviews
  
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveler rating
251
254
108
17
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
251
254
108
17
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 637 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

Discovered this nice little camera museum while hanging out at Muntri Street. A good collection of various antique camera to be seen there. Like the way they maximaze the place and the way they showcase the cemeras.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank KC N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 30, 2015

Nothing much worth visiting, need to pay to visit level 2 of the museum. Walking distance from bayview hotel

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank kelv78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 29, 2015

Excellent history on the development of cameras. Very informed staff. Well designed exhibitions and cute place to have a coffee after.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 23, 2015

I went to an exhibition held there in Maj 2015 about Cameron Highlands. It was a very interesting exhibition. So I never went in to the museum. However, I can say that the staff was very friendly and not pushy about having to "go in" to the museum. The place looked cool and there is some nice streetart on the street where the museum is located.

Date of experience: May 2015
3  Thank feeedyourmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 22, 2015

Situated along Muntri Street, the Camera Museum is a must attraction to see for a camera enthusiast like me. Entrance fee is RM20 that comes with discount vouchers you can use at their shop and cafe; also for Escape Room and the Chocolate Museum nearby.

The collection is not that extensive, the actual museum is on the 2nd level. It's a series of glass shelves with vintage cameras on display. Saw a handful of cameras that my family used to have with those 110mm and 35mm films. They had a FED5, Diana, and Holga which is just like mine.

Sample photos taken from the cameras are also on display. I was particularly curious with the photographs of children in the old days. Their parents would hold their children on their lap to keep them still. But what is a bit haunting is that their (the parents) faces and bodies would be shrouded in cloths or curtains.

In the late 1800’s, a photograph required about 30 seconds of exposure time to take. So anyone sitting for a portrait had to be able to sit still for at least a minute or so.

While the existence of the pictures proves that these parents accomplished their goal of getting their kids to sit for a portrait, it also proves that a grown-up holding a baby while under a dark shroud is really creepy…

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank kayesimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews