We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget hotel ”
Review of Heliconia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heliconia Hotel
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good budget hotel ”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Requested for high floor upon booking but got a room on the same level with the lobby. So couldn't even open the window curtain because people in lobby can see. Room is a bit small but it's okay. The bed and pillows are very comfortable and soft. Lights in the room and toilet is bright enough and LCD TV with good channels. The staff In the hotels are very attentive,polite and helpful as they helped us arrange taxi when we told them we need one to some place. We went back hotel quite late at night and the guard downstairs hotel which good location. Walk about 5 mins you get good foods. Overall, for the price I paid it's a very comfortable hotel to stay and sleep in if you're out for sightseeing the whole day till night. Definitely will stay again when I visit Penang the next time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    138
    32
    8
    1
See reviews for
27
99
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Heliconia Hotel is the best choice in Georgetown, Penang for those on a budget. Prices are extremely affordable and the value you get in terms of the amenities in the room & service is excellent.

Being a new hotel, the room is clean, with the bedding & toilet in excellent condition. Me & my friend chose a room with 2 single bed that comes with a small cabinet between both beds, a desk, flat screen TV & some hangers & a safe. The toilet comes with very basic amenities but a suggestion could be to add a shower curtain or slide door at the bath area as water will splash out when one is taking a shower. Do note that only a few rooms comes with windows. Personally for me it doesn't matter as I only get back in the night to crash.

The hotel has extremely good security, with a room card needed to access the rooms and there are security personnel on site 24 hours. The personnel were even helpful to provide us with useful tip on those cab drivers that are notorious to charge tourists extra.

WIFI is available throughout the hotel but the connection might be weak at times. It could be recommended that desktop computers be provided at the lobby to maximise the space. Also, a local land line could be provided as we were not allowed to make local land lines from the reception which did cause a bit of an inconvenience.

There are many good places to eat nearby the hotel from hawker food to bars to restaurants without walking too far.

Overall, the experience is good and I would book this hotel in the future if I ever come back to Georgetown, Penang.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melvinbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed at the Heliconia for 3 nights. They gave me a room that perfectly matched a couple of personal requests I had. Unfortunately, that meant I was given the first room next to the lift lobby and having noisy people walk past my door and speaking loudly with each other from room to room across the corridor wasn't pleasant. Perhaps the room door could have been a bit more sound-proof.

Apart from that single negative, everything else about my stay was positive:
1. The queen bed and pillows were very comfortable,
2. The sheets were very clean and soft (possibly 1000 thread count),
3. The high ceilings made the small room appear larger (I felt I got more than what I paid for),
4. The staff were polite and communicated very well in English,
5. Bathroom very clean and modern,
6. Security personnel appeared to be doing their job all the time,
7. Perhaps best of all, the Heliconia is located just 100m away from the great street food at the corner of Macalister Road/New Lane.

Will definitely stay here again. Thanks Heliconia for the hospitality!

Room Tip: Definitely book a room with a window. Ask for a room away from the lift lobby, towards the rear of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TADoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last December and it was outstanding, hotel staff, rooms and amenities. Would recommend it anytime and stay once more for sure. Our friends also booked a room here and they're pretty satisfied.

Room Tip: Any room will do the trick
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Penang because of the beautiful sights and especially we stayed in this hotel. This hotel is very new, you can see exterior and interior of the hotel. They have security which i think, 24 hours security. So you are safe. The security people are very nice, approachable and informative. The staffs are friendly and nice. We liked the service. Bedroom was very clean, smells goods and new. Flat screen tv with some English Channels. Bathroom was perfect! Clean and nice. Wifi was very fast. They clean the room everyday. Closer to malls and eateries. All in all, we liked this hotel and we will comeback in Penang and will stay in this hotel again. Highly recommended!! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallaceA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

After my horrible stay at Tune Hotel Georgetown the last time I visited Penang, I managed to find this newly opened hotel a stone's throw away from Tune Hotel that offers rooms at the same rate as Tune Hotel but with all the amenities that you expect from a hotel.

Toiletries (shampoo, soap, toothbrush), towels, air-cond, 2 bottles of mineral water are all provided at the same rate as Tune.

Parking, although limited, was not a problem for my 2 nights stay. The guards on duty try their best to shoehorn as many cars into the available space as possible and they guide cars in and out of the tight spaces left. Kudos to the guards :)

My room did not come with a window but it was all made clear upfront. Beds were comfortable and the lack of the window meant that there was no street noise. Another plus for me.

Wifi signal was very strong with access points on each floor.

Lovely flat-screen TV that I did not use so I cannot comment on the channel selection.

Keycards are required to access individual floors - security is tight for a good night's sleep.

It's food galore right outside the hotel. There's a well-known night court a minute's walk away and there's also a Teo Chew porridge restaurant nearby that operates from 10am till 3am every day.

Some negatives:
Facial tissue should have been provided but this is nitpicking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a new hotel and it shows. Bathroom lacked tissue, soap (but had a toothbrush.) Room is so small one could open the door from the far side of the bed. No refrigerator or minibar but asked for a security deposit up front. I guess you get what you pay for, but the hotel next door (Sentral) is a better bet.

Room Tip: I did not see a good room to chose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiaexpat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#34 of 84 in George Town
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#35 of 84 in George Town
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 84 in George Town
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#47 of 84 in George Town
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliconia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliconia Hotel

Property: Heliconia Hotel
Address: 18 Lorong Kinta, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heliconia Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new and trendy place to put your feet up for a few nights, Heliconia Hotel is the latest addition to the blooming hospitality industry in Penang. Our hotel boasts 47 modern guest rooms, all tastefully designed and furnished.For those who are technologically dependent, we provide 24 hours wireless service for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heliconia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliconia Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing