We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so impressed :/”

Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$4.75*
and up
Cheong Fatt Tze George Town Penang: The Blue Mansion Guided Tour
Ranked #7 of 125 things to do in George Town
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the official "attraction" listing for the Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion on TripAdvisor. There is also a listing for the hotel - please search for the same name under "Hotels" on Tripadvisor. Come Home to Historic Splendour 'ONE OF 10 GREATEST MANSIONS IN THE WORLD' LONELY PLANET 2011 A Grand Mansion conceived and constructed by a Grand Man; an eminent edifice which History calls Home; a peerless representation of the Paradigm Chinese Courtyard House – the Cheong Fatt Tze “Blue” Mansion has been perfectly poised for over a century on firm foundations of architectural, cultural and historic superlatives. Essentially an ‘heirloom with rooms’, today, the Mansion readily bequeaths its charms to visitors who are able to indulge in Exclusive Heritage Homestays; **Guided Tours; and Tailored Functions on its premises. Reputedly the favourite home of the “Last Mandarin and First Capitalist of China”, the Mansion is undoubtedly the favourite home of George Town.
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so impressed :/”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I was in Malaysia for 10 days and we just happened to stumble across this mansion right before a tour was about to start. An hour long tour doesn't sound very long to get around a whole mansion, unfortunately, we stayed in the foyer for 20 minutes while our tour guide talked about Cheong Fatt Tze in broken English which was only made more difficult when her microphone stopped working, then when visitors began getting restless and peeking into the central courtyard behind her she told them off and said they will see it when she wants to show them. All in all, we saw 3-4 scarcely furnished rooms and spent the majority of the time being lectured. It would probably be lovely if you stayed here and had the opportunity to wander and take it all in slowly but we were literally moved as a group from one room to the next where we were told to sit for story time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    642
    282
    114
    85
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing tour guide”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The mansion itself is great but the inside lacks content. There is really not so much to see apart from some photographs and great art at the balcony. That being said, the tour guide was amazing so even though the content was lacking she tried to make us use our imagination and it kinda worked. I would still go there again although I have to admit that the Penang Peranakan Mansion is better in terms of the content available (lacks great tour guides though). Overall, worth a trip for sure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pioneeringventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Well worth the RM12”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Apart from being a cool place to visit, it is cool whilst you are there.
The guide was great with the facts not only of the life and times of Cheong Fatt Tze but a lighter look at Chinese life and beliefs. A change from the fascinating temples that abound in George Town. Also just up the road from the Red Garden Food Paradise & night market.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank y2mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“History without content”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a fine building and from the outside it looked as though we were in or a treat. The wonderful blue facade made famous by the Catherine Deneuve film Indochine promises so much but apart from the photographs of the owner and his family there is very little to see.
Our wonderful guide worked very hard to generate some feeling to the house but with so little content it was a difficult task.
If you want to see how a house of this type would have looked please go to the Penang Peranakan Mansion which is much better presented.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edgar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good knowledgeable tour guides”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion also called the Blue Mansion has been meticulously restored at a cost of $8 million. There are 3 fully guided English speaking tours and the guides are good. They rattle off facts figures and anecdotes without notes and a visitor would come away with lots of information and trivia on the period, the architecture and the people. I've been on this guided tour a few times (going with different groups of friends) and all the guides are excellent. My suggestion would be for the Mansion to offer a fully-guided Chinese tour on selected days as the China tourists on my tour were clearly bored as they did not understand and were chatting loudly among themselves instead.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melvin_Neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing