We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand mansion in the heart of Georgetown”

Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
Book In Advance
More Info
$4.75*
and up
Cheong Fatt Tze George Town Penang: The Blue Mansion Guided Tour
Ranked #7 of 125 things to do in George Town
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the official "attraction" listing for the Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion on TripAdvisor. There is also a listing for the hotel - please search for the same name under "Hotels" on Tripadvisor. Come Home to Historic Splendour 'ONE OF 10 GREATEST MANSIONS IN THE WORLD' LONELY PLANET 2011 A Grand Mansion conceived and constructed by a Grand Man; an eminent edifice which History calls Home; a peerless representation of the Paradigm Chinese Courtyard House – the Cheong Fatt Tze “Blue” Mansion has been perfectly poised for over a century on firm foundations of architectural, cultural and historic superlatives. Essentially an ‘heirloom with rooms’, today, the Mansion readily bequeaths its charms to visitors who are able to indulge in Exclusive Heritage Homestays; **Guided Tours; and Tailored Functions on its premises. Reputedly the favourite home of the “Last Mandarin and First Capitalist of China”, the Mansion is undoubtedly the favourite home of George Town.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
651 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“A grand mansion in the heart of Georgetown”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

A nice building, I am still 50/50 on whether it was worth to visit the inside. Looking from outside is grand enough.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kangelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    642
    282
    114
    85
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Tour guide was great”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very interesting history and beautiful home. Architectural details were fascinating. Worth the visit and do not miss!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ETALPMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you like culture and architecture, this is a great tour”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Enjoyable time if you're interested in history, architecture, east meets west with Chinese and Dutch influences among the mix. Lots to see and soak in. The wood carvings and ceramic plate mosaic pieces are quite intricate.


Picturesque with some local wedding couples having their pre-wedding photo shoots there.

While non hotel guests can't access all of it, there's enough to see.

The guide is passionate though a bit strict about noisy children! Also wished we had more time to spend in the main house rather than a large part of the guide's introduction being in the receiving area of the home. Would have been nice to spend more time examining the details of the architecture.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank chicalocaPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheong Fatt Tze - the Sam Walton of Asia”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very interesting house of the mega-rich Chinese from the early 1900s. From humble beginnings to build an empire across Asia "if my customers need it we will have It" the man Cheong Fat Tze was the Sam Walton (think Walmart) of his day. The tour guide was interesting, cute, and knew her facts. This mansion is one reason why Georgetown is a World Hertiage site. There are three times the mansion offers guided tours.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A moment in time”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

It is truly remarkable that Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion exists at all. Left in a run down state, the Blue Mansion was close to demolition until she was saved by the current owners. Located next door to a colourful night market the Blue Mansion is magnificent in its blue livery. Pelmets, roof ridges and almost every external crevice is adorned in the beautiful porcelain tiles. Symbols of luck and good fortune dominate in the forms, dragons and fish being the most popular. It's a casual feel upon arrival, nothing to formal despite her grand internal dimensions. On the day I arrived there was an afternoon tea party in progress within the grand hall. The hall opens out into an open air courtyard with balconies surround it to the third floor. Whilst some in the party were chatting in the natural sunlight other sought refuge in the cool of the hallways that intersect there.
Our room key, made of an old style brass with an attached bell, rang as we climbed the spiral staircase to our level. Perhaps the bell ringing warned the spirits of this once generational home of our approach. Our room was in two large seperate wings at the end of a long balcony walk. Simple, though tastefully furnished we took in the old world ambience. Dark timber floors and colonial shutters. Four poster beds with mosquito nets and a large bathroom completed the look.
Close to town we walked down to the city centre past the shop fronts that have looked the same for over a hundred years. Past markets serving any number of local and more exotic types of food. The aromas were intoxicating. Many were preparing for the Indian festival. Mounds of coconut husks in the street, to later be burnt for the gods. Modern shopping malls lay amongst these shops and open air markets, thankfully the malls are few.
The next morning we had breakfast down in the dining room that meets at the same atrium that we saw the tea party the day before. Cool air and the chatter of local birds greeted us. Breakfast was hearty and I played it safe with a traditional English style meal of eggs, sausage toast and grilled tomato.
Before departing the staff gave me a few handy hints on how to negotiate the drive to Kota Baru. We also picked up a copy of the Blue Mansions history.
I highly recommend anyone travelling to Georgetown/Penang to take the time to stay at The Blue Mansion. Enjoy the laid back hospitality from a bygone era. Located centrally to everything that makes Georgetown what it is for the adventurer in all of us.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank markrule69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing