We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Penang Hill
from $7.75
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
from $13.10
More Info
from $4.60
More Info
Reviews (7,376)
Filter reviews
7,376 results
Traveler rating
2,297
2,968
1,562
368
181
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,297
2,968
1,562
368
181
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train ride cable car fast lane nice view bukit bendera monkey cup hindu temple long queue night view food court walk up worth the trip fresh air botanical gardens habitat owl carriage
Filter
Updating list...
649 - 654 of 7,376 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2018

Well worth a visit. Our trip was in the morning and the mist hadn't quite cleared but was statting to as we headed down. On a clear day it must be simply magnificent to see the entire city below. We had a reasonable glimpse and enjoyed being up high and visiting the highest restaurant in Penang. The coffee shop could be better equipped and larger, as I think the tourist board is missing a trick by not capitalizing on the number of folk who'd like to spend more time close to the top. The funicular railway is quite amazing to see in operation. Loved it!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank fairlywelltravelled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

I took the cable car to go up. Nothing special about it if you have been on this type of vehicle before. Don't take the fast lane! It's not worth the extra money. Also there are people trying to take a picture of you by the entrance which they're probably going to sell at a horrendous price if you let them take it. Just walk on - even if they try to stand in your way (they did in my case - first time I experienced something like this in Malaysia so far). On the hill there are several tourist attractions which I skipped altogether to go on the hike back down. First part to the middle station: Horrible. Everything is under construction, rubbish everywhere. Lost my way once because of a turned sign and ended up being attacked (but not hurt) by some dogs because I accidentally set foot on private property... Second part: middle station downwards is really nice. Not comparable though to a "real hike" like for example in a national park. One last thing: the last bit is around 2000 steps down (or up, depending on your direction) which makes that part quite tricky. Bring good shoes and enough water.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

You take the cable car to go up and enjoy an amazing view over penang island ! That's part of the visit is ok, ticket 35rm / pax, no wait for the cable car .
But then, as nature lowers, we decided to do one of the walking tour to discover more about the parc. We choose the longest one 1 hour and half .. such a mistake. Some part of the park are collapsing et are covered with a blue tarpaulin to avoid the fall of rocks on the strollers .. very dangerous . We didn't feel safe and do not recommend this walking tour . Better do another one but we didn't test it so mabby they are similar and not very practicable. That's a shame not to maintain this wealth of nature .. and of course no monkeys, no animals..

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank judpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

A perfect getaway from hectic city.
Fresh air, and the morning view is beyond expectation, it feels like we’re above the sky.
After few moments of appreciating the view, we started to get lost. The road sign is sooo limited! We don’t know where to go and what to do until someone offer us a trip to dwarf village, path of love and stuff, which is a total rip off.. Rm 10 for the entrance fee and there’re barely anything to see.. it’s a 15mins walk and there’s a honey gift shop on the end of the pathway.

Anyway the best part of our trip here is the char KoayTeow? At the pathway of hutton hotel. And it cost u less than the weird dwarf village entrance fee

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank 92vivih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018 via mobile

The funicular is a unique and exciting experience. The track has been maintained exceptionally well. We got there late (16:00) and there was no queue. However guessing my the long and winding queue path it may be busy earlier or else the owners are hopelessly optimistic.

Once we arrived at the top, the view was impressive and the air nice and cool. However the top of the hill is littered with tacky and unwanted tourist ‘attractions’. Love locks, sone weird tunnel of hearts, butterfly enclosures and more.

However there is also and old colonial cafe if you head right out of the top station, that looks interesting but we didn’t have time to check it out.

Not sure I would place this in the Penang must do bracket - a stroll around Georgetown and it’s various museums is far more rewarding.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Y6668XHcharliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews