We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Architectural Building” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khoo Kongsi

Khoo Kongsi
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Half-Day History of George Town City Tour
Ranked #5 of 123 things to do in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Architectural Building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This building is well-known in Penang for being the one of the most majestic clan houses in Malaysia. It is located along Cannon Street and the entrance is through a pre-war building. Entrance fee is RM 10 and it is open every day from 9 am to 5 pm. You can spend about two hours walking slowly to admire and learn about the history of this clan. There are elaborate carvings and murals on the pillars and walls. Besides, you can also watch a short video on the history of the clan and the clan house at in the building. If you are lucky, you might meet one of the Khoo trustees who could give you a more detailed history of the clan house.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank seladang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    563
    185
    27
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing detailing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The attention to detail in this temple is mind blowing. The decorations are very intricate and the history is quite interesting as well. Well worth the 10RM entrance fee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dompogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgerous Clanhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I am from Penang. Been here is because taking my friends from oversea to have a glance. The clanhouse's architecture is very nice because all of them are very details. I think it is hard to see it from other places. However, I think they need a tour guide to explain its features. I bought a virtual tour cd for my friend. She told that indeed we have missed a lot of things there. And the CD has explained many things, even you can zoom in to see the rooftop features, which we hardly see it there. So, with the purchase of the CD we actually know many history thing about this clan house.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bebee_Koay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Georgetown has many of the clan houses scattered around but Khoo Kongsi is the most beautiful one. Ornaments, architecture and restoration quality is very high indeed. Make sure to go to the bottom floor mini museum first get some history about the place, makes the difference between admiring it for pretty sights and as a relic of historical value.

Unfortunately you cannot visit it at night to see something out of the main photo used in tripadvisor except once every month.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
240 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Perhaps the most famous of the Georgetown clan houses. Beautiful architecture and a great restoration job.Definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BKK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khoo Kongsi also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Khoo Kongsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing