We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see in Georgetown”
Review of Khoo Kongsi

Khoo Kongsi
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Private Half-Day History of George Town City Tour
Ranked #5 of 125 things to do in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vienna
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must see in Georgetown”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Beautifull renovated, with a nice museum that explains about the clan history in georgetown. Worth the entrance fee!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuliettaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    576
    187
    27
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
El Paso County, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning clan temple”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a beautifully restored clan temple which is worth seeing for its richly ornate decorations. It's almost overwhelming, there is so much detail. There is a museum area in the bottom. It's been nicely restored, and would recommend an early morning visit when it is not too hot. The whole complex is interesting, with the housing and the stage that is used for performances. If you are visiting Georgetown, check and see if there is anything going on here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hotanditchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing building”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

There is not a plain wall in sight. Everything is carved, painted or decorated in some way. You pay a low entrance fee, and are free to wander around at your leisure. We nearly missed some parts as there doesn't appear to be a route to follow- you just go where you please. I would have liked the option of a guided tour or audio guide as there was so much to look at that I'm sure we missed some quite significant parts to it. The guardian lions (shi) for instance. If you didn't know what they stood for, you would pass by them none the wiser.

The Clan house is well worth a visit, but as stated, would be better with a guide of some sort.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very ornate”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just lovely and fascinating to see where the family has ended up around the world. Would be improved with as guide.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank clubjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Leong San Tong Khoo Kongsi, Penang”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Penang is a melting pot of cultures with east-west influences. Apart from its exotic food, what piques me the most would be their heritage.

The Leong San Tong Khoo Kongsi (龙山堂邱公司), or simply, Khoo Kongsi for short, is a clan association in Penang that was built by the immigrants from Sin Kang village in the Hokkien province of China for the purpose of looking after the welfare of their fellow clansmen.

Before my visit, I wonder why many have commented on the elusiveness of its location? It was only when I was there in person that I truly understood what they meant.

The main entrance at Cannon Street bears no clue as to what might be inside as it looked just like any of its neighbors along the entire row of pre-war building.

It was only after going through a winding alley beyond the main entrance that the Temple, which is built in the middle of a courtyard, appeared right before my eyes.

The temple was hidden behind a labyrinth of walls thus it actually cannot be seen from the outside. In fact, the temple was surrounded by a cluster of shophouses pretty much like a fortress.

At first glance, I was captivated by the splendour of the architectural design of the temple which was built according to the principles of fengshui. Did you know that there is a meaning behind every intricate carving and decoration that could be found on the walls, windows, beams and roof?

Consisting of two levels, the top level is where the main altar and ancestral hall are while the lower level is a museum detailing the history of the Khoo clan.

On the extreme left-hand side of the temple is a defunct kitchen featuring some traditional food cabinets, pit stoves that runs on firewood and a couple of wax people having a meal at the table.

I shall not bore you further with the history of Khoo Kongsi but you can read up more here from their website should you be interested.

Read more here: http://thedeadcockroach.blogspot.sg/2012/10/leong-san-tong-khoo-kongsi-penang.html#more

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank William Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khoo Kongsi also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Khoo Kongsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing