We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could of been so much better:(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hotel has potential to be better with some attention to the small things......
First off location is great, view from top of hotel bar is fantastic, and price reasonable. Hotel is nice apron entry etc. down side that was just overall disappointing was the over all service.... Staff just seemed bothered and unhappy compared to other hotels we stayed at on this trip. Breakfast was good, not amazing, large selection etc. when booking hotel said free wifi, which we never could connect to either from our room or breakfast area. Whenever we asked about it they just said they would talk to their IT department but it never got fixed...... The rooms were very nice with modern furniture but the black hair all over the floors was nasty, could have been great if not for this. And the hair dryer didn't work that was mounted on wall...... Beds were clean and comfy, great air conditioning.
Overall, not horrible with a bit of work on small details.
Next trip to Penang would probably opt for one of the smaller unique guest houses in The heart of George Town rather then a big hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Mfetter,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

First and foremost, please allow me to sincerely apologize over the poor experience and the few "hiccups" that occurred during your stay with us. I fully agree with you that attention to details counts very much and I have taken to task my Executive Housekeeper to ensure that his team double checks on the small details & cleanliness of the room at all times.

I am not sure why you had difficulties in connecting to the Wi-Fi service as we did not get any other negative feedback from our other guests.

As for the "not working hair dryer, I would appreciate it if you could send me a message on your room number so that I can get my maintenance team to rectify the faulty hair dryer.

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback and I hope to hear from you soon for us to improve our services so that we may be able to serve you better.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,299)
There are newer reviews for Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

we stayed in the superior room and its spacious and clean. Staff at the front desk and housekeeping are helpful. Location is good as walking distant to everythings like food and entertainment. The only setback is that there is no hand towel in the bathroom and the shower rail need to change often.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyLeedu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear dontri,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your constructive review and personal comments of your recent stay with us. I am not sure what room type category that you book for and I regret that your room was not to your liking. We do have better categories of rooms ( from Deluxe to Premier room categories) that have been renovated & refurbished with new & modern furniture and the whole works. We will be starting works on our Standard & Superior rooms soon and I believe that you will be pleased with this "new" rooms once its ready.

Thank you very much for staying with us and hopefully, the next time you stay with us, you will see the improvements that we have made.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for two nights while visiting Georgetown but was not too particularly impressed with this hotel. The only thing that was really good about it is its location. It is literally across the street from one of the best sights in Georgetown, the Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion / Blue Mansion (which I highly recommend visiting!) and around the corner from the street "Jalan Penang" which leads you into the city. Also from our room on the 10th floor, there was a view of bay through a big window which was particularly pleasant in the evening. (On a side note, it did seem like most of the building was setup to have a view. So your chances of that are good.)
However, as far as the hotel itself goes, the whole place gave me an impression which I can best describe as "pretentious". It all started with the smug look of the overweight man behind the check-in counter that seemed to say "This place is too nice for the likes of you", but when you get to the room, you will quickly realize that the place isn't THAT nice and is as actually in need of renovation very soon. Everything about it - the furniture, carpeting, bathroom, etc. - just had a tired look and smell about it that seemed to tell of its many years of service. It's not one thing in particular that gave me that impression just pretty much all of it. I am certain that the hotel could regain some of its former glory with a good renovation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dontri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear dontri,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your constructive review and personal comments of your recent stay with us. I am not sure what room type category that you book for and I regret that your room was not to your liking. We do have better categories of rooms ( from Deluxe to Premier room categories) that have been renovated & refurbished with new & modern furniture and the whole works. We will be starting works on our Standard & Superior rooms soon and I believe that you will be pleased with this "new" rooms once its ready.

Thank you very much for staying with us and hopefully, the next time you stay with us, you will see the improvements that we have made.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in a Premier Suite for two nights, which consisted of a bedroom and adjoining "lounge room" which consisted of another room minus the bed, but with a dining table, couches, tv and separate toilet. This configuration worked well for us and enabled us to watch TV etc whilst our son slept in the other room.

Both rooms were reasonably large, with a view over the bay (unfortunately this consisted mostly of a building site, so not the most pleasant of vistas. The view from my parent's room over the city was far more interesting.)

The bathroom was large, with a separate shower, and the bed was firm but not uncomfortable. The decor in the bedroom was fairly a standard non-descript, but in the lounge, it was noticeably darker and older. Our bathroom sink didn't drain well, but aside from that, everything else was fine.

As we were staying on a Premier floor, we had access to the Premier Lounge which included free pre-dinner drinks and snacks - this included a small range of hot food cooked on demand which was great! If you're not overly hungry, you could easily eat here for dinner. Breakfast was also served here - the choice small, but plentiful, and eggs cooked on request. At times, we were the only ones in the lounge, so it was a nice place to sit back and have a drink and read the paper.

The pool is smallish, with a separate spa which was great. The hotel is big, and was quite busy when we were there with weddings, which meant at times there was a bit of a wait for the elevator. The staff were nice and helpful.

The location is right next to the Eastern & Oriental Hotel, and at the top of Penang Road. It was a great location to explore the city from - all the great heritage sites and areas within walking distance. Keep an eye out for the great street art around the Armenian Street area!

For the price, I would consider staying at the Bayview Hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazzy1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear mazzy1611,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us and found that our Premier Suite together with all the facilities was to your satisfaction. I have taken note of the bathroom sink and will get it rectified immediately.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again to Bayview Georgetown Penang.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Bayview Hotel for 3 nights. I think it's more a business Hotel. For business people, the hotel is fine. For holiday, I think it's not worth the money to go there and definitely don't book the premier floor, it's not worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCoret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear MCoret,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

I am sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. Although we are located in the city and perceived as a business class hotel, the strategic location of Bayview Georgetown offers guest the convenience to explore the many wonders of Heritage Penang with it's beautiful historical sights.

Thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have just stayed 3 nights in a premier room and it was a true 5 star experience.The staff in the lounge were very friendly and nothing was a problem.The rooms were clean and spacious,housekeeping was excellent and when checking out we explained that a late checkout was needed due to a late flight and reception staff were more than accommodating.Overall a truly wonderful experience 5 star quality for 4 star pricing.Well done Bayview

Room Tip: The premier rooms might seem a little more expensive however the lounge access with free drinks all...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjpmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear cjpmelbourne,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for this welcoming wonderful review and for giving us a 5/5 score.

I am happy that our clean & spacious Premier rooms, the services from the Premier Lounge staff, housekeeping as well as reception provided you with excellent services and you will go home with fond memories of your stay at Bayview Georgetown & the island of Penang.

It was certainly a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back soon with the very best of Bayview.

Thank you.

Kind regards,
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel for what it charges is ok. The location and view from 360 bar is great, but good location. Staff are very accommodating which is nice but the lounge and restaurant is very tired and needs a good refurbishment!

Price wise..... value for money but if you expect 4 star as a minimum not the choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Breakfast is cheap but so is the menu offering...however nothing is open around the hotel at breakfa...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozeroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear ozeroma,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you found the hotel acceptable with it's great location and views and accommodating staff.

I have taken note on your comments of the lounge & restaurant. We are currently in the midst of refurbishing our rooms and once this is completed, we will have a look at the 2 areas that you have mentioned.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 85 in George Town
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 85 in George Town
704 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 85 in George Town
1,084 reviews
1.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#27 of 85 in George Town
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $49 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing