We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice if you want a better and bigger hotel with facilities like bathtub and swimming pool which is ideal for family wit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A good choice if you want a better and bigger hotel with facilities like bathtub and swimming pool which is ideal for family wit”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My child had a pleasant time soaking in pool after a hot day out. Good service from staff. We received warm and friendly service from counter staff Mr. Izham upon arrival. That was a delightful welcome which made us feel safe and at home since it was first time for five of us. He continued to help us whenever we needed throughout the stay.
If you are okay with long walk, it is actually of walking distances to heritage.Just prepare your caps and umbrella for shade. It is 5min away from Bus stop and we took local bus and CAT Free shuttle bus that goes to heritage area. Can be confusing though.
We had a nice taxi driver who charged us much lower rate than the "norm". We used him throughout the four days. That saved us a lot
Penang taxi is expensive considering the short distance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ling_Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Ling_Sg

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your great review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services. I am happy to note that the services extended by my Duty Manager, Mr Izham made you and your family feel safe and at home. I will certainly convey your message to him.

Once again, thank you for your time and we hope to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown on your next visit to Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    610
    331
    95
    38
See reviews for
285
394
111
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Walking distance to the heritage area. The city also provides a free "hop-on hop-off" bus which takes you to most of the sights. Hotel generally clean and friendly staff. Special mention goes to Izham at Front desk; very patient, great attitude and helpful. Rooms in the new wing are spacious especially the bathrooms with separate shower and good seaview. The lobby lounge was perpetually empty most nights. Personally, I feel the singers should perhaps sing more up-beat current hits rather than stick to the old favourites. Also each session was too short to get into the mood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diam2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear CKLSingapore

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your great review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services. I am happy to note that the services extended by my Duty Manager, Mr Izham was admirable and I will certainly convey your message to him.

I have taken note of your comment over the band performance at Lobby Lounge and will highlight it to the band members.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My family was staying on Level 15. The rooms were spacious and nicely furbished. The spread of breakfast was good. Check-out was swift but check-in took a while. A couple of shortcomings include: (i) room amenities - only one toothbrush was provided per room, (ii) part of the ceiling wooden slabs outside the toilet in room 1505 was missing. Overall stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alangjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Alangjw

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our room and breakfast are most appreciated. We have taken note of your comments over the shortcomings and will certainly look into the matters raised.

We are delighted to hear that your overall stay here was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the not too distance future.

Kind regards
Lawerence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Everything worked as expected except the wifi, which was decidedly patchy. Sometimes decided I'd logged in with two machines (which I hadn't) and had to be reset downstairs. Sometimes didn't want to play at all.
Decor a bit faded but still clean and functional. Staff helpful. Can't comment on Spa or Breakfast as didn't use them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcj_cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear jcj_cam

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We have taken note of your comment over the wifi connection and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered. We will look into the matter.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown on your next visit to Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Large hotel with good facilities.close to heritage area and 20 mins walk from ferry jetty.concierge will arrange travel but if you are on a budget might be cheaper to arrange directly!!taxis are annoying as they wont use meters and some will overcharge particularly when raining.rooftop bar/restaurant worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisetrav_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Wisetravel_13

Thank you for your endorsement of our large room, good facilities and the rooftop bar/restaurant. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
143 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had booked this hotel as we were late in after a long day travelling. We took an Executive room which gave us fantastic views and access to the Premier Lounge near the top of the building. We had a great breakfast and excellent evening snacks in the lounge which was very much "colonial" in style; outstanding service, excellent fare with another fantastic view across the bay.

What a great surprise this was as I had booked the Executive room for the sea view more than access to the Premier Lounge which really was wonderful!

Our stay was only a couple of nights but we totally enjoyed ourselves. The staff were friendly and spoke to us at every opportunity. We also had a drink in the lounge bar and a light lunch in the restaurant beside it. Both were great value for money with attentive staff. We will be back!

Room Tip: Book an Executive Room from their own web site & have an incredible view, large bathroom with ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanW-QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear IanW-QLD

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our Premier Lounge, the staff and services are very much appreciated. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang in the not too distance future.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I visited Penang last October and stayed in a deluxe room in this hotel. The location is pretty good and the price is reasonable. The breakfast is pretty good. Rooms not very well appointed and furniture is old.

Considering the price, about one third of what u will pay to stay at Eastern and Oriental Hotel opposite this hotel, it is a decent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InvestorTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear InvestorTiger

Thank you very much for posting your review about your recent stay at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel especially its location is very much appreciated.

We wish to inform you that the hotel offers few categories of rooms ranging from Standard Room with basic amenities to Premier Room that features a different look with a complete host of room amenities.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang in the not too distance future.


Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#21 of 84 in George Town
1,047 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,039 reviews
1.0 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 84 in George Town
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing