We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lobby !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We started in room 616 which was supposedly a "superior" room. Would not like to see a standard room ! It was quite tatty with burns to the carpet and curtains. A puzzling feature was the access to the bathroom. You went up two steps onto a plinth then down two steps into the bathroom !! There was no complimentary water and the fridge was too noisy to switch on.
There was also a lot of noise coming up from the bar area and the basement club. Breakfast was, as always in big hotels, a mad, noisy scrum.

Day two and we have moved into a premium room on the 16th floor. At last, a decent sized room. Well worth the extra cost, and at least we now had access to the premium lounge where breakfast was a more relaxed affair. Plus in the early evening there is a small buffet with free drinks.
Soundproofing is not the best, and our room had interconnecting doors in both side walls which didn't help.
If you like loud music then this is the place for you. The bar played their only cd continuously until the live group came on at 10pm. The revolving restaurant also has live music and when my wife went in to see it the guy at the door couldn't hear her over the volume. Why do both restaurants close on Mondays ?

To cut a long story short, staff training and attitudes leave a lot to be desired, and I feel that management should be required (unannounced) to stay in the cheaper rooms to experience what the weary traveller gets for his money.

If you stay at this hotel and need a taxi, find a driver across the road called Tan. He is older, drives carefully and will take you anywhere on the island without complaint.

We agree with what Gnoskcoy has posted but we did eat in the bar at the E&O most nights.

This is not a 4* hotel once you get beyond the front of house desk.

Room Tip: Go for one of the premium rooms as they are much bigger and with benefits that offset the extra cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0rderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear b0rderer

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We would like to sincerely apologize for the few hiccups and inconveniences you encountered during your stay here. Necessary action will be taken to address the matters raised. We will also look into your comments of the restaurants being closed on Monday and try to adjust that at least one of them is open so that guest can at least have options on Monday.

Your constructive feedback is very much appreciated as this will certainly helps us in improving our services.

We hope that you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were slightly old.bath tub got choked after one use.but good thing that the maintenance team was prompt in repairing it.
Breakfast choices is not at all exciting. .only eat there if its complimentary.
The only plus is the location is central, directly opposite E&O hotel.so of u compare the 3-4times price difference with E&O, this becomes a steal

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gnoskcoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Gnoskcoy

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedbacks on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel especially its location and the promptness of service is very much appreciated. We value your comments and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown on your next visit to Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have booked for 1 Premium Deluxe room, 1 Family Room and 1 Deluxe Room at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang in Oct 2012. For me, My husband and my son was stayed in premium deluxe room which breakfast provided for 2 days in Premium Lounge.

When the first step in to Premium Lounge for breakfast, the place was looks good...but when we order for the 2 types of breakfast set which is sausage, egg, and bacon for set A and Porridge for Set B. Total we had ordered breakfast for 5 adult and 1 kid.

We been waited more than half n hour, ahead of us only one table occupied with 2 paxs. They served other table with 2 paxs who came later than us. Finally we complained because the barekfast was not served at all. After our complain, the breakfast was served within 3-5 mins which the breakfast was cold!!!

The waiter in Premium Lounge keep explaning they wanted to serve all dish at one time, that's why delay the breakfast. and mentioned that the breakfast is only for premium floor guest (which we are) but for my friends were not from premium floor. The waiter gave so many reasons of the delay instead of an apology.

All guest should be treated in same manner, not ONLY for premium floor guest as my friend had paid fot the breakfast too.

Before check-out, we actually feedback to the receptionist but was given a feedback form to fill in, we emailed to bayview hotel on this matter since 16 Oct 12 to Mar 2013, but was no update from them... What is the feedback form for? I really not understand!!! no action was taken till now!!!

I was so dissapointed on the services that provided by Premium Lounge and the hotel!!!
.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stellatan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Stellatan86

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We would like to sincerely apologize for the poor services you and your family encountered at our Premier Lounge. The team at Premier Lounge has been briefed on the matter raised and necessary action will been taken to improve the services. I also apologize on you not getting a reply on the e-mail you sent which I have checked with my team and regretfully, we did not get the e-mail that you sent.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback and we hope that you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We obtained a connecting room to another room. It was spacious with the newly renovated deluxe room. And, we have a good view of penang bridge afar, as well as the Komtar.
Our favourite Mamak Store selling the mutton soup was at walking distance. During the evening, we can enjoy the sea breeze by accessing the seaside via E & O hotel. The location is strategic for tourists since it is located in Georgetown. Those scenic trial with wall painting was within driving distance.

The pool was too small for more than 2 family.

Room Tip: higher floors with sea view facing Penang bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear ccpling

Thank you for your positive comments on TripAdvisor and for your compliment on our location. We are delighted to hear that you had and enjoyable stay here and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang in the not too distance future.

Kind regads
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the hotel. Reception was gracious enough to upgrade our room to a sea facing one.The room was large and had a great view of the sea. The amenities were par for a hotel of its class. The great benefit though is the location in Georgetown. Just a walk away from many of Georgetown' s attractions...

Room Tip: Try the sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prash71k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear prash71k

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel especially its location are very much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just in minutes walking to entire area of old buildings in world heritage city Georgetown, Penang. With 4 stars hotel provided by cafe, kopi tiam, restaurant and other amenities such as swimming pool, fitness, wifi and others.

Room Tip: Choose to bay view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendraoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Hendraoe

Thank you for posting your positive comments of the hotel on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

stayed 5 nights enjoyed the overall quality of hotel good breakfast cleaning staff spent more time chatting to each other than working maybe that is why they have 3 cleaners to one room and still had to come back twice as they had no clean towels with them

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carbrookman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear carbrookman

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here and that our breakfast is to your liking. We appreciate you highlighting to us on the cleaning staff that spent more time chatting than working. Our Executive Housekeeper has been informed on this matter and necessary action will be taken to ensure that consistent and caring services are always provided by the staff. Once again, thank you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 87 in George Town
1,071 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 87 in George Town
710 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 87 in George Town
1,098 reviews
1.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#29 of 87 in George Town
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $49 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing