We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

All good except lots of mosquito at the lobby lounge. Our group of 3 was badly bitten by the mosquitos. Room is very big with living room and addtional toilet in the living room area. Great location. Walking distance to E&O Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XinlinHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Yvonnemsia

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. Your positive review of the hotel is very much appreciated. We have taken note of your comment over the mosquito problem at Lobby Lounge and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. Our Executive Housekeeper has been informed on this matter and necessary action will be taken to address the problem. Once again, thank you and we hope to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    605
    332
    95
    38
See reviews for
284
392
110
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

LOCATION
-----
Located conveniently in one of the best locations possible in Georgetown. Walking distance for most of the attractions and even if you want to grab a late night bite or a beer everything is few minutes away from the hotel and there are few nightclubs and pubs which will become more vibrant during weekends.

SERVICE
-----
Staff was friendly and very accommodating. We happened to arrive earlier than we planned and they gave us an early check in as early as 8:00AM and gave us late checkout up to 2:00PM.


ROOMS & CLEANLINESS
-----
Rooms are more or less what you expect from a hotel in the price range and from a country in the region. Bedlinen seemed to be clean, yet carpets didn't look (or smell) like regularly cleaned. Overall it's not bad unless you have allergies to muold or anything.


Overall: I guess one of the best locations around Georgetown for the price vs facilities/location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddhi_desilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Buddhi_desilva

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. Your positive comments of the hotel especially on our best location, our staff and services are most appreciated. We have taken note over the comment on the carpet and may we assure you that the carpets are regularly vacuumed when the maid are servicing the rooms and we also have a scheduled periodic carpet shampoo of our carpet in the hotel.

It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu Caves, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at new wing, the rooms was very clean and comfortable. The location is good, which you can walk to eateries and shopping mall in walking distance. However it has no specialties, and it is more suitable for business travelers than individuals. For individual travelers they might prefer a beach hotel instead.

Wi-fi was provided based on complimentary basis. The bathroom is clean and tidy.

Did not get a chance to try out their breakfast though.

Moderate hotel overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear NoelXY

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel and our room are very much appreciated. It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a lovely week's stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine too.
The location was excellent and it was easy to walk to many of the tourist attractions and restaurants in Georgetown.
We were staying on the 10th floor with a great sea-view. Room was fine and wifi was provided. The manager kindly offered to move us to the 15th floor when a room became available after a few days. This had newer furniture and was a slightly bigger room but we decided to stay put.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel and return here again.

Room Tip: For non-smokers. The 16th floor which is often mentioned in TA is in the premium deluxe category i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bert88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Beth88

Thank you for choosing Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang for your stay in Penang. We are glad to hear that our hotel facilities met your satisfaction as well as the service from our staff. We appreciate you taking the time to write your feedback on TripAdvisor and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
123 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Pros:
- Just next to George town
- Clean
- Reasonable price
- 5 mins from a food market.
- We try the spa in hotel, ralaxing and in reasonable price.
- 10-15mins walk from pier to Langkawi

Cons:
- a standard hotel, with no characteristics.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Anthony_Chow

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. Your positive rating of the hotel is very much appreciated. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel because of the location is nearby Esplanade, where the state government held "Penang Chap Goh Meh" open house.

The receptionist is friendly upon checked in. The room is worn out, especially the bathroom. The water seeping out from shower cubicle! I called housekeeping to inform them about this matter and requested extra towel and floor map. But i was told that i need to pay RM20 for one extra towel or floor map! The room does not provide extra towel.

Overall, we enjoyed our "Chap Goh Meh" trip to Penang.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingsley1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Kingsley1234

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services are most appreciated. We have taken note of your comments over the worn our room and water sipping out from the shower cubicle and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. We would appreciate if you could kindly advise us on the room number in order for us to look into the matter. We regret that our policy of charging for an extra towel if requested for was not pleasing to you. However, you may have been informed that towel exchange is complimentary. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at Family Room 1532 for two nights. My family consists of 3 adults and 2 kids (a 5 years old and 11 months baby). Had a very disturbing experience on our 2nd nite. Had emailed my complaint so would not comment any further on this :-)

ROOM
To what I know, this hotel has been around for more than 20 years and it seems like they had refurbished but am not sure how long ago. It still is a comfortable hotel although rooms could do with another round of refurbishing with more characters and souls. Rooms are quite spacious and well organized. Only problem that we experienced was that the wifi in our room was abit slow. No separate shower tho.

POOL
The pool is small but I guess adequate for a city hotel- nothing great even my kids found it a bit boring.

LOCATION
There's an abundance of eating options within a few hundred metres of the hotel (Line Clear Nasi Kandar, Sup Hammed Mamak Restaurant, some western food joints) so skipping the hotel's breakfast or restaurants was not a problem. Penang attractions just a walking distance so is great plus point if you are new in town.

PARKING
Covered multistorey parking building which is FOC when u validate it everytime when you wants to go out. There's a few public metered parking bays in front of the property but not covered. The real problem is finding the parking building - next right up to Esso with a small drivethru. Lift to the main building (lobby) is at Level 2 & Level 5 only so its better to park your vehicle here.

To sum up, staying at Bayview is quite a pleasant experience albeit the noisy hiccups :-P

Room Tip: Avoid level 15 rooms as it near the revolving restaurant where all the noise are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanyALGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear sanyALGER

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel especially our location is most appreciated. We have taken note of your comments over the noise hiccups on the 2nd day of your stay and we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. Necessary action has been taken to ensure that this noise issue will not repeat again. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#21 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#23 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing