We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor maintenance and services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed in Bayview hotel for two nights on 14-16th December on the 15th floor premier floor which allows access to the premier lounge (something similiar to a club floor). Unfortunately our stay is nothing like what some of the reviews suggested. Room rate per night was RM345.

On the day, we checked in, there were no one to help with the luggages. The lobby was empty, so it can't be that everyone is too busy. A bellboy only offered to help when we were at the lift. No big deal since I saved on tips. Room is fairly spacious has been renovated but it looks like being done on a tight budget. Unfortunately the towels were old and look way past their shelf date. Half of the window view of the office block next door! Merely twenty feet away.

The first evening at the premier lounge was good as there were not many people around but the second evening was horrible. There were a bunch of guests which resulted not having cups and glasses for drinks or cutleries for finger food. It took some time for food to arrive and the quality was poor. The staff looked overworked but when we arrived the crowd had already thinned. A lot of the dirty cutleries and glasses were in the sink unwashed. We had to ask for cups and cutleries before the staff who by then were talking amongst themselves before realised they still have to serve us!

The biggest disappointment came when we went to pool. We asked for four towels. The guy at the pool said to come back at 11am since no towels were available. When we went back at 11am, we were given only two and a half towels (half being a much smaller towel) with a sheepish comments that there are no enough towels. I did a mental calculations and there could not be more than 15 people using the pool at that time.

The doors at the changing room for the pool was spoilt whilst the plumbing is not working. You can even still see leftover of the previous use of the toilet!!

The biggest disappointment for me was how unsmiling most of the staff were. Each time you exit the car park, you need to get the parking ticket vouched. I have yet to see a smiling staff returning my ticket to me with a "have a good day".

Would not recommend unless you get a good deal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeewah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We sincerely sorry for the poor service you received during your recent stay with us and we promise that we will look into the matters raised and prompt action will be taken to ensure the level of service will be improved. Your comment is highly appreciated as this allows us to improve our services to meet guest satisfaction.Thank you again for your honest feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

A stumble at the beginning when the hotel's pre-booked, pre-paid car failed to turn up at the airport, requiring a taxi after a long wait with declining expectations. The hotel credited the fee, but no explanation was ever given for non-appearance.

Room was huge and breadfasts good with efficient staff in the Premier Lounge and the staff were friendly and efficient.

The location was great, with night food market (Red Garden) about 50m away and numerous cafes, bars and restaurants close by.

All points of interest in the heritage listed old town were only a short walk away.

Room Tip: Premier floor (16/F) best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterAccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, the buffet breakfast, our staff and services are most appreciated. We regret that the pre-booked, pre-paid car failed to turn up at the airport and that there was no explanation given for the non-appearance. We would like to apologize for the hiccup & inconveniences caused. Necessary action will be taken to address the matter. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I were looking to get away for 2 nights. Since we were looking to stay during the peak December period, all of the higher-end hotels were quite expensive for our budget (most were RM400 and upwards per night).

After having a look on TripAdvisor and on the net, we had decided to get to Penang and then pick a hotel. I walked into Bayview and found the price was RM244 (all-inclusive) per night and thought that it was very reasonable. We made a walk-in booking at Bayview. The receptionists were very helpful and friendly. The booking was made fairly quickly and we were allowed to check in really early (11:30am whereas the usual check-in time is 3pm).

We booked a Superior room and the room was very spacious and clean. All of the windows are body-length windows and cover the entire one side of the room, making for a fantastic view! The bathroom was clean, very spacious and had modern fittings.

The hotel had plenty of parking and most of the places we were interested in were very close-by (few minutes drive by car): Gurney drive, Gurney plaza, Fort Cornwallis and Little India.

The 4th floor had a average-sized swimming pool, as well as an outdoor jacuzzi.

The hotel also has a Thai Spa. I went for an aromatherapy massage for 1 hour, which cost RM96. It was well worth it, but beware: if you have sensitive muscles or if your muscles spasm easily, then the massages given at this spa are not for you. The massage is really thorough and really works your muscles.

The only downside to this hotel is the limited amount of tv channels. There were many of the local channels, which are all in Malay without English subtitles. Then there was BBC, the Asian Food Channel and Vision Four. If you plan to relax and watch tv for most of your stay (as we were planning to do), look for another hotel with a larger assortment of satellite channels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila_Jansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

We would like to extend our sincere thanks for your positive comments. We are delighted to hear that our hotel facilities met your satisfactions as well as the service from our staff. Once again, thank you for your feedbacks on TripAdvisor. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent for many of the sites of Georgetown (Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion is just across the road). The hotel has nice staff and the rooms are large and clean. The breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newfie013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

No exaggeration this place is terrible - its only redeeming feature is its proximity to the E&O where we sought refuge.

They would not let us check in 20 mins early. The room was tiny and smelt of smoke and nicotine, as did the bedding. The walls were paper thin and we could not sleep due to the noise from the corridor and room either side of us. The whole place feels dated and dirty.

We didn't bother with breakfast as we just wanted to leave ASAP.

Avoid!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intrepid_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. We regret that the hotel was not up to your expectation. From your description, I believe that the room that you booked for was our Standard room, which is the lowest room category and the size of the room is also the smallest. We do have better room categories which are larger in size and offers a contemporary design. I would like to apologize for the lack of communication from my front office team where they should have checked your preference of smoking or non-smoking room prior to check in.

We hope that you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Reception has been friendly and efficient. The room has good view of penang city flanking both ends of the windows are some parts of the sea. However, the air-conditioning in the room was exceptionally cold on Day 1 until we tune it to about 27deg C. However, there are strange flying insects that bit my boy on his whole left face and right hand. So request for a change in room. The second room air-con is very hot though we tune it to 20 deg C. The pillows are lousy. It will flatten after about 15 mins...
The Premier Lounge service is good and the view is fantastic to have a quiet breakfast and nice afternoon tea. Overall, hotel is OK if you want good access to Pulau Pinang Rd where the local markets and food are.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and face the sea. We were told both old and new wing renovated. But we are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62Magpie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Your positive review on the hotel, our staff and services are most appreciated. We have taken note of your comments over the air-con problem, flat pillow and insects in the room and we apologize for the inconvenience caused. We would appreciate if you could kindly advise us on the room number in order for us to look into the problems. Once again, thank you and we certainly look forward to be of service to you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stay with officemate after a long driving from k.l..we was arrived early..around 1.30pm..and the friendly front desk staff arrange us a room eventhough the check in time is 3pm..he has upgraded us to deluxe room since standard room didnt have separate two single bed..free of charge and served us with a big smile..thanks bro..

At 10.30pm..we heard a wonderfull voices..yes!! It was a 3 piece band from Philipines called MUSICA SONATA..They sang malays, indonesia, tagalog, english and the surprised ones..hindi..you rock guys..MARICHU, ROSMARIE & ANDRY..thanks for the voices..MABUHAI!!!!

Breakfast was great..lots of choice..but the 'sambal' really spiced up my morning..less chilli please..

However, we quite dissapointed with the price for food and beverages..very expensive..can't imagine that a cup of hot Milo cost me RM 18..ermmm..the management must look into this issue..

However, its quite a pleasant stay..Sayonara..,..

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saifulasra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post the comments on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, the buffet breakfast, our staff and services are most appreciated. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed Music Sonata’s performances. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#21 of 87 in George Town
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#16 of 87 in George Town
727 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,771 reviews
1.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#29 of 87 in George Town
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 25A Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $49 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Penang Island’s vibrant capital, the Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang combines contemporary style with an enviable central setting. You can relax in one of 340 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, and host distinguished events in sophisticated boardrooms and an elegant ballroom. The open-air Sky Bar is the perfect place to sip a cocktail as you take in panoramic rooftop views from one of the best nightspots in Penang. The hotel is ideally set for business or leisure. Our extensive meeting and events facilities are complemented by high-tech equipment and free WiFi throughout. The Lobby Lounge serves drinks and snacks by day, while in the evening it’s the place to enjoy live music over crafted cocktails or a chilled glass of wine. Airy Kopitiam serves local specialities. In the rooftop Three Sixty Revolving Restaurant , you can savour an international buffet every evening while enjoying views across Georgetown and the Straits of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing