We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Room, Confusing Parking & Nice view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here on weekend of public holiday for only 1 night, here is my review based on categories:

Location:
Very convenient, near to city center, food stalls & bank is just a walk away.

Check in:
I have booked a Superior room via backick.com, it was very convenient the reception didnt ask to pay any deposit fee. Check in time is 2pm and it just takes less than 5 minute, if it takes longer perhaps you can have a sit at their lobby lounge.

Room:
We have got a room on 9th floor, the lift was fast, no long wait what so ever, once we entered the room i was surprised by the size of it. It was large & spacious.The bathroom was big too, there were bathtub and all amenities.
The bed is 2 single bed, which i didn't prefer, but they only has 2 twin bed for superior room.

Amenities:
There was a safe, iron & ironing board. Cable TV, Coffee table & chair. Coffee making facilities & mineral water. There was also mini fridge, (empty).

Cons:
I had some trouble with the door access card. When ever i go out the card will not be readable when i open back. It was very annoying & he had to call the reception 2 times because of this. The receptionist said that i shouldnt put in my pocket with my phone, but i didnt & the problem still exist.

Cons:
PARKING! is very confusing, NOT convenient. The lift we only at 3rd Floor parking & 5th Floor, most of the time this 2 floor is packed due to limited space. On other floor you will have to take the stairs. up or down.

Breakfast:
Our rooms includes breakfast, somehow i liked the breakfast as they have a wide range of food to choose. There was malaysian. western , and bakeries. The cafe was clean & nice ambience.

Overall, i think that this hotel is worth the price paid for. Although we had some minor problem, i believe this is not a big issue at all. I enjoyed staying here, but hope they can improve on the cons i mentioned above.

Room Tip: Get higher Floors facing the Sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mk_steven_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the pros and cons of the hotel and its services. Your positive ratings of the hotel, its facilities and breakfast are most appreciated. We have taken note of the “negative” points raised and we apologize for the inconveniences caused. Once again, thank you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang in the not too distance future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at the Bayview for two nights and had a pleasant visit. The cost was very fair for the room and amenities included. The room was dated and the pool was less than desirable (shady for most the day and very cold). After reviewing others reviews and photos, we learned that there were nicer rooms and amenities in another tower (we think...) The location was excellent at the top end of Penang Rd (near the E&O) and the hotel lobby bar had great service and an entertaining house act - just be mindful of which tower your room is located.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Allie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services are most appreciated. We certainly look forward to your return visit and to be of service to you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Spent 2 nights in Bayview recently for the Penang Bridge run and had mixed impression of the hotel. Before going into specifics, for us Penang is such a great place to visit and we always go home with good memories which make us come back especially for the food. One down side though is that getting around can be an expensive affair as taxis do not use meters and charge flat rates but do try the public transport.

Pros:
1. great location at the end of penang road, which is heaven for foodies and also close to the attractions.
2. check in was fairly quick and fuss free, though we did not get the room we wanted
3. all round friendly staff who catered to our needs and queries.


Cons:
1. there was a certain musty smell to the hotel and it was prevalent even in the rooms. I guess it might be due to the age
2. during check in, we were treated with disdain by a senior staff when we asked to change to a room with double bed. He could have been polite and not act as if we were making his life difficult.
3. housekeeping looked overworked it always took them some time to 'meander' their way to our room, management might want to look into this.

we did not visit any of the restaurants and other facilities but overall we liked the place for the friendly staff and location. But it looks and smell its age and it's about time for renovation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumish93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Penang and thank you very much for highlighting the pros and cons of the hotel and it’s services. We will certainly look into the “negative” points raised and prompt & necessary action will be taken to address this. We would sincerely appreciate it if you could advise your room number so that we can identify the staff mentioned. Once again, thank you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang in the not too distance future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I've been to this hotel twice every year since 2007. Its always the same pleasant feelings wether I'm alone or with my small family. The location is highly a plus. Recently the bars surrounding the hotel block have been massively rennovated and ever since the town was declared as a world historic heritage, there are even more surprises awaits. The breakfast stayed generously aplenty with *** three stars. I highly recommend to foreign and local tourist.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachBoys_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had a pretty wonderful time in the hotel. Location was convenient, facilities are good and the room is nice too. If you're looking forward to a good swim, the pool is definitely to-die for (see my pictures). Try the sauna and steam bath as well, they are conveniently located next to the pool and enjoyable.

And the breakfast was delicious :)

Room Tip: Request for sea view, you'll love it. But mind you, there's a condominium opposite the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuii84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor and for the positive comments. However, we would like to highlight that the images that you have uploaded is not of Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Conveniently located in Georgetown, this is a good place to stay as it's near most of the heritage attractions. There's also a popular nightclub just behind the hotel for those who wish to check out the local clubbing scene. We got a free upgrade of our room upon arrival and it was really spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful during our stay except that the housekeeping staff didn't tidy our room on one of the days. The breakfast is a pretty standard one with the usual stuff that you'll find in most hotels. It would have been nicer had they had a bigger pool, but well, who goes to Georgetown for a swim? Overall, it's a good value for money hotel for those who wish to explore the heritage attractions and old world charm of Georgetown.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanMah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services are most appreciated. We have taken note of your comments over the unmade room on one of the days and we regret for the inconveniences caused. Once again, thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Its location suits my every need whenever visiting Georgetown especially on social visits. Being one of the earlier hotels in the city located within the heritage zone, it is close to several popular attractions, food centres, shopping complexes, government and commercial offices. Staffs are friendly and efficient, rooms are clean and amenities well maintained and in good working conditions. Our two-night stay was a pleasant one with our room upgraded without request. Had stayed here several times and will stay here again if rate is favourable.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services are most appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 88 in George Town
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#16 of 88 in George Town
725 reviews
1.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#28 of 88 in George Town
790 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $50 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing