We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has it owns attraction”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Komtar

Komtar
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Has it owns attraction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I think they are undergoing for some refurbishment activities. Although I do like the way it is right now, but I hope the bus terminal could improve further. It is congested and dusty because its situated in a basement. At night the area can be quite creepy, especially the parking lot, if are alone (female). Overall, Komtar has it own attraction (aging building), nonetheless, they could improve further on the facilities around the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank intan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    133
    252
    104
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not as I expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I thought I would have seen something spectacular here. It was just a common mall connected to bus stations.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MariaInten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“a Shopping place and Connecting centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

to my opinion, Komtar is a good place to look for things, tours-travel, centre of bus. Next to Prangin Mall.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Need a serious makeover!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Komtar is the tallest tower in Georgetown. Unfortunately, that's probably the only good thing about it. Looks ok from afar, but inside it's poorly maintained, dirty, and rundown. The government needs to put more effort into fixing the place if they want to keep promoting Komtar as a landmark.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HopeLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Empty and Dirty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just an old and empty building. But as a landmark of Penang Island, at least you should see up close. No need to go into it,just around there where many places to do shopping such as 1st avenue mall and Prangin mall

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BayoeJabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Komtar also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Komtar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing