We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as I expected”
Review of Komtar

Komtar
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not as I expected”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I thought I would have seen something spectacular here. It was just a common mall connected to bus stations.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MariaInten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    147
    260
    105
    57
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“a Shopping place and Connecting centre”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

to my opinion, Komtar is a good place to look for things, tours-travel, centre of bus. Next to Prangin Mall.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Need a serious makeover!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Komtar is the tallest tower in Georgetown. Unfortunately, that's probably the only good thing about it. Looks ok from afar, but inside it's poorly maintained, dirty, and rundown. The government needs to put more effort into fixing the place if they want to keep promoting Komtar as a landmark.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HopeLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Empty and Dirty”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just an old and empty building. But as a landmark of Penang Island, at least you should see up close. No need to go into it,just around there where many places to do shopping such as 1st avenue mall and Prangin mall

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BayoeJabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Megan Sydney”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Handy locations.
Variety of food.
Very good for shopping.
Money exchange provides fare rate.

The only thing I don't like is not much fruit selection hereby.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wateryu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Komtar also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Komtar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing