We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Queen's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queen's Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great for a hostel”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

As a couple keen to avoid backpacker haunts we tended to avoid hostels during our 4 months travelling round southeast Asia, but struggled a bit to find decent budget hotels in Georgetown and this place got such great reviews we decided to give it a go. We stayed 5 nights during low season, the first 4 in the double rooms on ground level and the last night (an extra as we couldn't book onto the train to KL we wanted) upstairs in the dorm rooms (which were more expensive). Though not ideal for a couple, I can see how the dorm rooms would be fantastic for friends or singles travelling, as they are really well set up and unique. The private double room downstairs was clean and comfy if small - a couple of hooks or a shelf would make a massive difference! The shared bathrooms were clean and modern (love the rain showers), though ideally we would prefer not to have to duck across the communal area in our towels to our room to get changed! The two ladies who run the place were very laid back and friendly (they made us feel very uncool!). On the last night they invited us to their Diwali party, which was a lovely gesture, if a bit weird to have a party going on full of the staff and their friends while we tried to sleep for our early start the next day! Location is fantastic, Little India was buzzing and we could walk to all the old town sites and get a bus easy to Penang Hill and the ferry terminals (even with carrying our backpacks). I would say this place is good value for Malaysia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    27
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
21
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I am impress with the comfort of the bed which let me feel like I m sleeping at home. And, the best thing is that Queen's is so considerate for preparing the big full length mirror and high quality hair dryer that is a must for every lady.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cforchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I spent 3 nights at Queen Hostel and loved it. The Canopy bed gave you a sense of privacy even if there were others in the dorm. The bathroom was clean and well organised. The bed was comfy and the staff were very friendly. A good hostel for women traveling on their own. Thank you Queen's Hostel for making me fall in love with Penang (again).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AnuV74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I love this place sooo much..
Good location with a cute Cfe ( Chai Diam) opposite it
Clean and cozy room.
The bathroom are clean and amenities is well organized
definitely will come back to this hostel again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmileyK125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Friendly hostess, strategic location, clean room, comfy bed - all at a reasonable price. It is also relatively quiet, good for those who prefer not too much hurly-burly. Will definitely stay with Queen's again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here and it was a great find. We stayed in a private room with double bed. The rooms were clean and the a.c worked great. The bathrooms were also clean and had the modern glossy concrete. The owners were very helpful about suggestions on where to eat and they sent you to places they would go not a tourist trap. I would definitely stay here again. It was also centrally located and close to most bus stations.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dnfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Queen's Hostel was a great place to stay. Our hostesses were really friendly and helpful, and clearly kept the place very clean. Rooms were basic, but adequate and good air-conditioning (in the private rooms, not sure about the dorms). The location was really excellent (central - Right in UNESCO's Heritage area, but not noisy) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only thing I'd say is that if you're looking for a place where there are loads of people and lots of hostel-based activities, this is not it. But if you're looking for a nice, clean and affordable place, Queen's hostel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Ann_E_Kins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#33 of 84 in George Town
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 106 in George Town
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#7 of 106 in George Town
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
#1 of 106 in George Town
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
House of Journey
House of Journey
#8 of 106 in George Town
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
SIOK Hostel, Penang
SIOK Hostel, Penang
#3 of 106 in George Town
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hostel

Property: Queen's Hostel
Address: 20 & 22 Lebuh Queen, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 106 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A protected retreat of tranquility just for girls, in the heart of Georgetown. This entire hostel is female only and it comes with lots of extra little luxuries, including fluffy duvets, OPI nail lacquers and those extra finishing touches that make any break away from home a bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Queen's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen's Hostel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing