We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Queen's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queen's Hostel
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

All girls hostel, except for private rooms where males can stay if accompanying lady.

Very clean, modern and friendly. Great central location. Even provide shampoo and conditional and Time Out magazine! Great stay - would recommend fully.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 86 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We travelled for 7 weeks in South East Asia and Queen's Hostel was by far the best place we stayed. Ideal for girls travelling alone due to the female only dorm, but nice private rooms too. It is really well done throughout, with the girls who run it thinking about what you really want in everything. The mattresses are amazing, giving me the best nights sleeps of the trip, and there is even a selection of nail varnish to use... The girls who run the hostel are lovely and were always on hand to give us excellent food and activity recommendations. The hostel is on a nice road in Little India with great street food right outside. It's also close to the hub of the backpacker area (Chulia Street and Love Lane) but without the noise and dangers. Would go back to Georgetown purely to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beccalauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

By the time my friends and I arrived at Queens hostel it was a very pleasant sight for sore eyes. We had been staying mostly in Batu Ferrenghi prior, but had not slept in a single place for days which was clean or comfortable. Granted, we came to Penang at the end of Ramadan, so most of the nicer places had booked up. We were so exhausted when we arrived and we received the kindest assistance by the owner(s). The women who work at the hostel are fantastic! The place is spotless. It's adorable actually! So cozy and so clean. I could have stayed there forever. It looks like newly renovated. Polished concrete floors, freshly painted wood, brand new Ikea furniture. I highly recommend this hostel! If I return to Georgetown I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mallarky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a family gathering here. It was lovely! The colorful canopy beds were fun where everyone got to choose their favourite colour. We also got to browse around the area on bicycles which were borrowed from the hostel. In general it was a very rewarding experience - most important of all, we felt extra safe with its multiple security installation.

Room Tip: For couples, you may choose the Queen+1 private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kow Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A hostel that specially designed by ladies and for ladies... Queen's Hostel is meant to be colourful like ladies wardrobe... Ladies now no longer needed to bring their hair dryer and nail polish along their holiday... Queen's do provide saloon type of hair dryer and OPI nail polish in their make up areas... Other facilities such as spacious lounge and common areas with free wifi, pantry and laundry drying area are also provided... Their modern cement design bathroom would amaze you even more... Come and experience yourself, you will love it :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sien Yang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A rather new hostel in town here in Penang.
It has all the little things that you may just need.
Entering the lobby, you will see a great living space, where everyone can just come together and shares stories to each other!
At the back you can see a hot and sexy chili red SMEG fridge!
Imagine that in a hostel!

Love the electronic door system!
say goodbye to old fashion key and lock!

Walking distance to few hot spot in Penang, not to mention just walks away from Esplanade

The rain shower is fabulous!!!
Love the bed, the bean bags, top notch!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Willy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It's a new place. Just months old. My friend and I really enjoyed our stay here. You won't miss the place. It's colourful inside out and very inviting. The hostel is secure. No one can walk in without an electronic key.

We were greeted with warm smiles and shown around the place before we settled into our room ~ there's a salon grade hair dryer, a full length mirror, weighing scale, a refrigerator and a small pantry where we can boil our own water. They also provide OPI nail polish!

Two shared baths and toilets vs four private rooms (ground floor) - more than enough not to cause a queue!

For a small fee, you can help yourself to instant noodles, mineral water and snacks which they have neatly placed in baskets in the lobby area. Convenient for late night munching when all the shops have closed.

The lobby is furnished with colourful bean bags and comfy cushions where you can hang out and access the internet. They will provide you with the password.

Our room (Queen+1) has all the basic necessities for a backpacker and more - air-con, hanger hooks, a large white wooden crate that can be padlocked, a double bed on the floor with a comfortable mattress and clean sheets. Enough for good sleep.

They provided us with travel guides to nearby locations and gave us plenty of tips. Can't fault their service. They are so helpful!

Queen's Hostel also provide bicycles if you're keen to cycle sight-see.

With all these amenities, the price we paid for the room is incredibly cheap!

Great location, walking distance to many nearby attractions such as Fort Cornwallis, Little India, the Clan Jetties, Khoo Kongsi, Armenian Street (Street Art, Old Buildings). The CAT bus plies this route (Hop on free). We prefer walking because we enjoy strolling pass quaint buildings and checking out old shops for souvenirs.

There's no shortage of local food to try here. There are restaurants and stalls everywhere. The famed Nasi Kandar Beratur is located just around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 123 in George Town
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#4 of 123 in George Town
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
SIOK Hostel, Penang
SIOK Hostel, Penang
#3 of 123 in George Town
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
House of Journey
House of Journey
#7 of 123 in George Town
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
#1 of 123 in George Town
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Penang Guesthouse
Old Penang Guesthouse
#14 of 123 in George Town
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hostel

Address: 20 & 22 Lebuh Queen, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 123 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range: $23 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A protected retreat of tranquility just for girls, in the heart of Georgetown. This entire hostel is female only and it comes with lots of extra little luxuries, including fluffy duvets, OPI nail lacquers and those extra finishing touches that make any break away from home a bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Queen's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen's Hostel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing