We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel with the best beds”
Review of Super K Hostel

Super K Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Super K Hostel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hostel with the best beds”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

After 11 weeks I arrived in Malaysia and since it was my last week I booked some places in advance. One of them was Super K.

There is not even a single part inside me that regrets I booked Super K. First of all awesome staff! Nice to hang out with or talk with! Second of all the place is very clean. And the most important one of all: the matresses. These are so good that you wont get out of bed. Checkout at 12.00 will be difficult. Best matress I had in 11 weeks traveling. I stayed in a resort and hotels as well. But for RM25 this is a place worth your money!

As I will return to malaysia I will return to superK!!

Keep up the good job guys!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rtessels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kampong Kedah, Kedah, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have traveled to 5 continents and stayed at countless hostels, but I have been most pleased by this hostel. The service is friendly, the beds are VERY comfortable, the AC is great, the wifi works well, the areas are clean, it's in a great location, and all of these features come at a low price. I am amazed that this place actually is all it says it is (and more, with such hospitable workers who genuinely care about how your stay is, a piano, a hair dryer, a wall map, a 24hr convenient store right below, etc). If I'm in the area again I will definitely be back at the same place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

super k is a fantastic hostel. From the friendly, kind staff to the chiropractic mattresses and clean rooms. I had a great stay. Loved the small touches like the paintings, the books and piano. The bathrooms and toilets were always clean. Each bed had curtains for privacy. I highly recommend this hostel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank megan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I am not writing this review out of politeness, I am writing it because this hostel is pretty much a travels heaven.

We were walking round George Town looking for reasonable hostels and nothing was taking our fancy, it was then that one of the members of staff from Super K noticed how lost we looked, he offered to show us his hostel and if we didn't want to stay he would point us in the right direction.

This has to be one of (if not the) best hostels we have stayed at: the beds are the comfiest, the area is clean (and the staff proactive about it), the people are friendly, it is fantastically placed so you are central to almost everthing, the washroom facilities are fantastic and there is a piano and guitar there (what more do you want)!?

But you want to know what the best part is? The fact that the staff talk to you about how they can improve it, we only had a short visit to the area and I am already planning my return, well when I go back to the area I know where I am staying at.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Why am I writing this?....well because Lloyd and Alex told me that once I left I probably wouldn't, and reverse psychology seems to be up there with gullible in my personal dictionary. But more importantly...because it's a place worth reviewing.

One of the consistent features you'll find in all of these reviews is how comfortable the mattresses are. The sign out the front says they're orthopaedic....I don't know about that, but I do know that last nights hangover won't be the only thing keeping you in bed until all hours of the afternoon.

And if it's a party you're looking for, this is the latest and greatest place to be, especially with the grand opening of the Super K cocktail bar just downstairs and next door! Besides serving up some of the best drinks and burgers in town, it's convenient location takes the mystery out of remembering where you live after a big night out...all you have to do...is navigate the stairs.

For those of you not looking for a party, do not distress. Super K offers multiple dorm rooms and individual, private rooms as well. You'll find something there to suit all needs. If it's culture and creativity you seek, you don't get more cultured than having a piano available in the main hall for those able to play it.

This place is urban warehouse meets city chic. Created by a group of friends from various artistic backgrounds, the people you will meet while you are here are as fascinating and quirky as the art they create and share....surpassed by none in their humility, generosity and sense of humour.

Expats of Penang, this is not just their work, this is their home and a very personal project....you'll walk away truly grateful for them having shared it with you; for being able to have shared it with them.

Super K! Super Kooooool!!!

Thanks guys!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank FromUtoMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi District, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Staff are the funniest and most humble people we've met, located right in town so everything is round the corner. Cheap rates and the beds are so comfy. Also the shop below has loads of helpful stuff for travellers.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jwynne8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

A fun place to stay with helpful people who care about their guests. The rooms are new and clean including very comfy beds. It felt like staying at a friends place! I can recommend this place to all travellers who are looking for a nice, clean and uncomplicated hostel with a warm atmosphere!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
TIDO @ Penang
TIDO @ Penang
#21 of 112 in George Town
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roommates Penang
Roommates Penang
#14 of 112 in George Town
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chulia Court The Tavern
Chulia Court The Tavern
#32 of 170 in George Town
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
100 Cintra Street
100 Cintra Street
#57 of 112 in George Town
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#5 of 112 in George Town
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
House of Journey
House of Journey
#7 of 112 in George Town
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super K Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super K Hostel

Property: Super K Hostel
Address: 324 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 112 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our fully air-conditioned rooms and dorms are fully equipped with all the weary traveler needs, with free wifi, chiropractic beds and much more. Reception is also 24 h with a abundance of hawker stalls lining the street at night to offer all of Penang's famous foods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Super K Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super K Hostel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing