We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nIce”

Kapitan Keling Mosque
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.00*
and up
Colors of George Town Walking Tour
Ranked #12 of 125 things to do in George Town
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
PL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nIce”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good to see it, of course during a walk around trip. Nice beautiful mosque, nice minaret.
no parking here, crowdy street, so watch out when passing the road.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RelaxiaPl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    220
    124
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Quiet place to pop and reflect”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

theyWe were planning on coming to Kapitan Keling Mosque already but happened to come across it when we were in the neighborhood checking out other sights. It's easy to spot because it's one of the few Muslim mosques in an area filled with Buddhist temples. I must have walked in unnoticed because later on, someone flagged me down to cover myself up (I was wearing shorts and a tank top). They have scarves for people to borrow. You also need to take your shoes off. The mosque is very nice and serene with some good photo ops if you're interested. We spent about 15 minutes walking around.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jing0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Nicely restored.....”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Good place for Muslim solemnization ceremony, the architecture is interesting and if you are visiting or perform prayers at this mosque at night do not miss the local hawkers food next to the mosque. it is called 'nasi kandar beratur' long queque, they only operate from 10pm onward and you will be suprise to see the queque..well if people are willing to queque that long it can only prove one thing...the food is awesome!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nisheee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice to see”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Interesting mosque. Right in the middle of the world heritage sites. If you are going bike which what my husband and I recommend, you will not miss this spot. Worth stopping and take some photos.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diesel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Well kept - interesting sight”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This mosque is well kept our guild was very informative in the history - a good visit for any guest to George Town !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GTR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapitan Keling Mosque also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Kapitan Keling Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing