We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes a change! Steak please”
Review of Steak frites

Steak frites
Ranked #56 of 907 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Makes a change! Steak please”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you want a changed from Malaysian or Indian cuisine, then this is the perfect antidote.

The restaurant is easy to find at the start of Love Lane. The front of house guy is very friendly and welcoming. Very clean and well decorated.

Choosing what to eat is easy - do you wnat a medium steak or a big steak? It's as hard as that. The steak is served with fresh salad with vinaigrette, baguette and butter. Plus very good quality french fries. The steak has a fantastic sauce made from, so the waiter claims, 14 ingredients.

The steak and the fries are imported from Australia. Very high quality meat and perfectly cooked to your specifications. The house wine is not too bad as is the beer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank srbbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    45
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Not the food I expected to be eating in Malaysia, but so glad I did. Really delicious steak! Only thing on the menu is steak, so know that going in in case it's not what everyone's in the mood for.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank 3sarah_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhaka
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“exceptional steak.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

simple concept only steak and frites!
the steak is the best I had in Penang and the red house wine is good.
price is not RM 3 per glass as I read in another review.
prices are normal for the quality they serve.
surrounding is ok but not exceptional.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank jan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
380 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“All they serve is steak”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

And it was the best steak I've had in 9 months away from home. There isn't really a menu. You get a decent-sized fresh salad, followed by steak and chips. The steak is imported Australian sirloin and there's the choice of 2 sizes. My medium steak was perfectly cooked and the chips were nicely crispy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Judy12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Possibly the best steak we've had! (That's a lot coming from Aussies)”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We walked into Steak Frites very hungry and excited and were greeted by a man who was clearly very passionate about steak! You can choose between a 150g or 200g tenderloin steak, Angus and I both went for the 200g at RM60 each. However, this RM60 gets you a lot more than just a steak. To start with, our waiter brought out a beautiful garden salad each, topped with toasted almonds and a delicious honey mustard vinaigrette. Accompanying our salad, french baguette with butter. We both asked for our steak medium and they were cooked to absolute perfection. Drenched in an impeccable garlic herb butter and served with crispy french fries, we thought our meal was complete and couldn't get any better... That was until our waiter brought us a lovely plate of fresh fruit to finish and cleanse our palate. When complementing the chef on his efforts, he told us that it isn't easy to import this high quality Australian beef, it is a great expense for them. However, they want to share the superb meat with the people and visitors of Penang. So, RM60 (just over $20AUD) really isn't a lot to pay for the quality, quantity and service you receive.

Washed down with a glass of house white wine and a refreshing Carlsberg, our meal at Steak Frites was one to remember. If you have enough time in Penang and are craving something a little less eastern, give Steak Frites a go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank TaylorPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak frites also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Steak frites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing