We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home...”
Review of Heritage Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heritage Lodge
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Feels like home...”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very warm and welcoming place...located in the streets of Georgetown among all the other heritage houses...was good to see that the place had all the amenities and was well renovated, i expected that the heritage lodge would also have a heritage look and amenities :), but was wrong. We loved the place and Sherry was very helpful in providing us with directions and maps for getting around. She had almost everything on the breakfast table. Breakfast foods from around the world...the day we arrived we were quite early to check in, however she still accommodated us and was very hospitable.
She treated us like her friends...I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Georgetown and would like to live at a place that feels like home...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConchitaR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't have asked for more. Having travelled all morning, we hadn't had breakfast. We were welcomed with Sherry's warm hospitality. She offered us some breakfast and some of her cake she baked that morning. Every morning she baked some goodies for the guests. We were spoiled!

The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The shared bathrooms were always kept clean and had hot water. Since the lodge is a few blocks away from the old town, it was quiet. We slept very well here. And the wifi signal was pretty good.

Sherry helped us with information and even got up at 5am the morning we left just in case the mini-bus didn't turn up. She really cares about her guests and the maintenance of the lodge. I highly recommend staying at the Heritage Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJI1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and really did not want to leave as we enjoyed our stay so much with Sherry at the Heritage Lodge.

She really has an eye for customer service and is so welcoming. It started by her sending a nice email the day before we arrived thanking us for our custom and asking what time we would arrive, so the room could be ready.

We had a lovely double room with A/C which was so clean and fairly quiet. Sherry fed us some lovely homemade cakes on arrival and also breakfast as we arrived at 10am. There are 5 shared bathrooms, and again, they are so clean and cleaned daily.

The hostel is an old restored building that is about a 10 minute walk away from Jalan Penang - the main central street and very easy walking distance to all the major attractions and eateries.

Sherry also helped us with booking onward bus tickets to the Pehentian's and woke up at 5am to make sure that the bus turned up and that we got on it!!!

We really wish her luck with her new business and with service like hers, she will go a long way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiraz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Sherry is amazing, in your stay you will always get something fresh baking out of the oven, and she will take care of you like a mom. The place is super clean, quiet and comfortable best hostel ever!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luciaferrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

we stayed for 3 nights in a double room with A/C. very comfortable and clean but as the window (which was internal and looked out over the kitchen area) wouldn't seal it could be noisy at times.. plenty of bathrooms which had nice hot showers. wifi wasn't great but worked in spurts now and again.. breakfast consisted of bread/toast and tea/coffee plus the added bonus of home made cakes in the afternoon! the owner (sherry) was very friendly and helpful.. would quite happily stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottyross86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Located just on the outskirts of the old town this newly renovated guesthouse which is under new ownership is definitely worth staying in when visiting Georgetown.

The owner Sherry is very friendly and helpful. She gave us a lot of good advice not only on what to see and do in Georgetown but also on how to organize our onward travels. She booked a taxi for us to the bus station as well and told us exactly how much to pay so we wouldn't get conned,

We stayed in a double room with a/c which was very clean and spacious and had the most comfortable bed ever. The window was looking out inside of the building, down on the kitchen area providing enough daylight during the day. Even though our room was located beside the dorm, it was very quiet.

Wifi was ok, it dropped occasionally.

Breakfast, coffee and tea were available during the day. Sherry even baked some cakes and cookies for the guests that were staying at the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank combatgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We are a mature couple doing a 'grey gap year' and staying at Heritage Lodge for two nights. We were met by, Sherry who has an infectious warm smile and, the smell of cakes baking in the oven, which taste delicious. The lodge is clean, comfortable and welcoming being just a few streets from the main attractions but far enough to be quiet. Affordable to keep within budget and certainly better value than other places we have stayed in Malaysia. With additional comforts like free tea/coffee/cold drinking water on offer it is clear that Sherry wants her guests to enjoy their stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 84 in George Town
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 112 in George Town
260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Penang Guesthouse
Old Penang Guesthouse
#13 of 112 in George Town
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Armenian Suite
Armenian Suite
#37 of 170 in George Town
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#5 of 112 in George Town
217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Couzi couji
Couzi couji
#9 of 112 in George Town
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Lodge

Property: Heritage Lodge
Address: 39 Lorong Ceylon, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 112 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Lodge Bed and Breakfast If you want a home away from home, come and stay at Heritage Lodge.Comfortable, budget friendly accommodations for tourists, individuals, groups and families.Heritage Lodge is a converted landmark colonial building built before World War I and retains the feeling of a family run bed and breakfast catering to people who want an affordable home-away-from-home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Heritage Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Lodge Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing