We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and Friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Museum Hotel
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small and Friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Museum Hotel and it was a wonderful experience. All the staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Each night there was a little "treat" awaiting us. We felt like one of the family by the time we left. We stayed in the Art Deco room which was very roomy and pleasant. I would recommend this hotel for a unique experience and its location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    151
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
83
146
90
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We like this hotel and highly recommend to others! The style of this hotel is super classy! We were thrilled when walking into the lobby. The antique furniture and hand scripts on wall made it truely exceptional! The staff were super friendly and helpful (Especially Kelvin was super friendly and helpful!) The room were spacious, clean, new and classy. It was a duplex apartment, classic oak wooden windows, 50s style ceiling fans and wall switches! Very classic 50s like furniture and wall printings too! Although the style of the room was filled with 50s, the room were equipped with full air conditioning, double glazing windows, WiFi and fridge! The hotel is located near to the city centre and restaurants (5 to 10 minutes walking distance), so it was convenience to us during our stay. Another good point to mention was the breakfast, it was very good in taste and the way we have been served! The hospitality was super! And this is the hotel we will come back revisit.

Room Tip: Family-friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxwellChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, Brazil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

It's like travel in time, in a midle of the historical center an old buildind completely adaptated to make you fell as in old times, but with some facilities as a ar condicioning and good bathrooms. A short walk will lead you to the chinatown, and litlle India.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

A fantastic hotel. Set in a period building with wonderful antique furnishings, wood and marble floors.

The quality of staff service was amazing. We received complementary drinks when returning from our day excursions, a hand-written message accompanying some treats, and even a "get well soon" note for my girlfriend along with some tea. I've never experienced such attentive, detailed and thoughtful service.

Room Tip: At the moment the hotel is in "soft launch" so only rooms facing the street are available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreykw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I just want to write a note to thank the staff at Museum Hotel - Tiffany, Nick, Manur ( spelling ?) Kelly and all the others for making our stay at Museum Hotel a lovely experience. The hotel is cozy and the rooms and clean and comfortable. The location is in the heart of Georgetown, so it is a short walk or taxi ride to many places. But the staff at Museum Hotel is simply outstanding. They are not just polite and friendly, they really took care of us and made my parents, in particular, felt really at home.

So thank you very much and I would highly recommend anyone visiting Georgetown, Penang to stay at this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M-wonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our stay at Museum Hotel was a highlight of our trip to Penang. The hotel is located in a recently renovated beautiful historical building in George Town. Museum Hotel is in a perfect location providing easy access, (on most cases an interesting walk), to the sights and popular food spots in George Town. Our room was lovely, breakfast perfect and the staff were outstanding in their service and friendliness. We would highly recommend Museum Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diamond191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I walked in and luckily get a single room! At first I was rather hesitate to stay in old building converted hotel again but to my surprise, it was really really good!

The room is new with very clean & comfy beds, big TV. the breakfast place is really nice with great relaxing ambient!
he staffs are very friendly, helpful, hands-on, and professional! I have no complaints about the location as it's just a short walk from main tourist area.

Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Tell the taxi you are going to the "Hutton lane" (more recognizable) , whereas the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernicetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#21 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#5 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Property: Museum Hotel
Address: No. 74 Jalan A.S Mansoor, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#5 Family Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and savour the opulence of a bygone era at the Museum Hotel. Located in a restored historic building in the heart of George Town, this gem of a boutique hotel offers a unique glimpse into the golden past of this world heritage listed city. Each spacious, luxuriously appointed themed suite is one-of-a-kind, and a guests-only museum within the hotel features a remarkable private antique collection. Immerse yourself in the rich history and culture of Penang while you indulge your senses in luxury at the Museum Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing