We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL EVER”
Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Museum Hotel
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

1. The service. The front-desk crew is unbelievably helpful and friendly. One example of many: we asked for a food hawker (the awesome cheap food all over Georgetown) recommendation...they typed out four pages of personal opinions and directions.

2. The veranda. Malaysia is hot hot hot. This hotel has a cool, open-to-the-outside-breeze, koi-pond-and-fountained, gorgeously decorated with antiques escape from the heat and noise. It was the perfect place to siesta every afternoon after a morning of exploring.

3. The room. Air-conditioned and decorated with unique antiques. Shuttered windows, nice big shower, super comfortable and beautiful.

4. The location. This hotel is right on the edge of the outer Heritage circle. It's just a 5-10 minute walk away from the areas of Georgetown you're going to be exploring --- and it's super quiet as it's off the main roads and bustling areas.

5. The breakfast -- free -- is delicious.

If I ever go back to Georgetown, I'll be staying here. It's cheap right now since they're new...book it before it gets better known because it's definitely going to cost more. Definitely WORTH more!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 500 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

A new boutique hotel. Excellent service from hotel staff, especially Tiffany. Located just outside UNESCO Heritage Buffer Zone. Peaceful and quiet for a good night's sleep. Nice decor (not over the top) and spacious room. Nicely packaged toiletries. Lovely breakfast. A lap or wading pool would have been perfect! There's a museum in the hotel (hence the name) but we totally forgot to visit! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darkcrystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for about 4 nights during our 3 week honeymoon in Malaysia & Borneo. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff was beyond friendly, going to the point of buying non-fat milk for me when I requested it the night before even though they didn't usually serve it (we were there in early May 2013 during their 'soft opening'). Every night a member of the staff would personally bring us a sweet dish (not sure if this was because it was our honeymoon or not?) with a personal note. The first nigh we were there we came into our room and found towels in a heart shape of kissing geese and red heart balloons.

The hotel itself is beautiful You really feel like you step back in time as you wander the halls filled with museum quality artifacts. The lobby on the first floor has a very traditional/colonial feel - we commented that we want our own deck to look like that! The room was not large, but we certainly did not feel cramped and there was still plenty of room for a comfortable reading chair and table even with our 2 large duffel bags, day packs, laundry drying etc....

The location was great - really centrally located and either a short walk or taxi ride to most of the main attractions and areas. The fact that the hotel was new wasn't an issue for the taxi drivers because the hotel provides you with a business card that has a map of the area with directions to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dba9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I am afraid that this will be one of the lowest reviews I have written. Though it is not expensive per se, I still believe that this hotel is bad value for your money. I paid three times this price for a deluxe room at the Shangri-La in KL.

The room was tiny, barely fitting around a queen sized bed. The A/C hardly worked. With the setting on 16C I was still sweating. There was the constant noise of water drops from A/C units dropping on corrugated roofs just outside my window. I was surprised I could sleep. Had I not been busy with business until after dinner, I would have asked for another room. The hallway was not air conditioned so you sweat right outside your room door.

The one bright spot was the breakfast. Their poached eggs on toast was very innovative and good. It would have been better had it been a buffet but they don't particularly work well for smaller hotels. The public areas were roomy and showecased the heritage structure well. There is an elevator. The hotel being newer taxi drivers may not know it so it was good that I had the address ready. About three blocks away there are plenty of eateries. The service at the reception was good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We we greeted with great service the moment we stepped into the hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our time there. Very cute hotel, has been restored really nicely. Great location if you are looking to stay in central Georgetown, we could walk/tuk tuk around the streets and found lots of street food and interesting little buildings to look at.

We had a friend with us who stayed in a single room, we (a couple) were in a family room. Would have preferred to stay in a single room, was big enough for a couple and a lot cosier than the family room. Family room was across two levels. Would be good for a family, not a couple. Bathrooms were a bit strange, with toilet and shower cubicles built in, did not like this feature. Breakfast in the morning was nice too.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for one night last weekend at the Museum Hotel. it would not have been our first choice in Penang, however due to the Haze in KL and Singapore, the entire city seemed booked out.

We did enjoy our stay however, within this hotel which is also a private museum. Due to the high level of occupancy we did have to stay in a Family Room, which was split over two levels (with living on the Ground floor and Four beds on the top floor). This would be great for a family, however it was only the two of us.

The bathroom in the family room was rather odd, and configured like a communal shower block, with two separate enclosed showers and two separated enclosed toilets. Again, great for a family, but for the two of us - we would have preferred a larger more well appointed normal bathroom.

Breakfast was good, and so was the service. We would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fmnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Glad that I have selected this hotel. It's a different experience. The staff has made the stay perfect.. Love those antique looking displays & switches..Only thing which I didn't quite like is the breakfast. Limited choice..
We didn't get a chance to visit the museum as there's special opening hrs. Management shd consider flexible hrs for in-house guest.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mspiggykek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 88 in George Town
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#14 of 88 in George Town
844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#24 of 88 in George Town
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.6 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 88 in George Town
876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Address: No. 76 Jalan A.S Mansoor, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#5 Family Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $44 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and savour the opulence of a bygone era at the Museum Hotel. Located in a restored historic building in the heart of George Town, this gem of a boutique hotel offers a unique glimpse into the golden past of this world heritage listed city. Each spacious, luxuriously appointed themed suite is one-of-a-kind, and a guests-only museum within the hotel features a remarkable private antique collection. Immerse yourself in the rich history and culture of Penang while you indulge your senses in luxury at the Museum Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing