We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lil' antiquey place, excellent staff!”
Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Museum Hotel
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely lil' antiquey place, excellent staff!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My cab driver didn't know where the place was- but thank god it was on Waze and Google maps! Just tell the driver to go to Jalan Transfer, and look out for a bakery, it's down that lane.

I was greeted pleasantly by the reception, both young and very friendly people. They helped me bring my bag to my room, and I was served a welcome drink. When I called reception for anything, they'd call me by name- nice touch!

They serve complimentary breakfast, which they bring to your room. It was absolutely delicious. I loved the stay here, only reason I may not come back was cos I found the mattress a lil hard for me, I recommended this hotel anyway to a friend of mine who stayed there- she LOVED the pillows and bed though! I guess it's a matter of preference.

Another shortcoming is that the lobby is not airconditioned (which is great for the environment though!), so if you are checking out early, and have time to kill, you can't really hang out in the lobby. You can however head to the gym though, which is air-conditioned.

Must say again that the service in this hotel is excellent, wish I had taken down their names so I could acknowledge them individually!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karthini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    156
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
88
153
92
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel brings you to a different dimension of the world, like back in the 70's or maybe older. The owner collects various types of antiques which requires three shop-houses to put in! It is a Must see if you are here. Exclusively for hotel guests only. Available from 4pm to 5pm daily. Very new hotel with clean bedrooms, and toilets. Very unique in a way where old collections are collected and displayed in a very nice way. Quite comfortable. The receptionist are very helpful, esp Munir. We enjoyed our stay there, except that no TV in front of our bed.

The Family room - A very small TV area upon entering the room, like a small foyer. Only beds and toilets are upstairs. No spare powerpoints to charge handphones unless you take out the table lamp's switch. Not so suitable for old people who finds it difficult to climb staircase.

Room Tip: There are staircase in every family rooms, not suitable for old people, but for a group of friends a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meteorstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I'm an often traveler to Penang due to business commitment and had been to various hotels on this very island. But non has came close to Museum hotel. Service level made me felt home. Rooms were beautiful touched with antique/retro hints. Breakfast was to pretty to be eaten. Sadly, I only spent a night here. Overall good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hwphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed in the duplex room for 4 (4 adults) but space was not a problem: huge queen bed and 2 super single beds plus a 'communal' shower & toilet which we found amusing at first but quickly got used to. It certainly contributes to effective time management :)

Our room overlooks the fountain and the backs of neighbouring houses but noise was minimal. The hotel itself is tucked away in a quiet corner of the street.

The small gestures like an aromatherapy scent & snacks given in the afternoons by the staff were very pleasant. The staff are very friendly and can tell you about the history of the building before it became a hotel as well as tips on where to go and what to eat.

The decor is unique with mostly Straits Chinese antiques. You will pause every few steps to admire them. Do stay here if you want something different out of your stay in Georgetown.

Room Tip: If you book the duplex, be prepared to climb up some steps. This might not be suitable if you have v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SNuraishah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights while watching my son participate in an international school athletic competition - he stayed with his team in a more resort style hotel and I have been to those before and wanted to do something different. What sets these boutique hotels apart is their high level of service, attention to detail and desire to provide a cultural experience. How many places in the world can offer accommodation in a museum in a Unesco heritage city? That is what contributes to the uniqueness of this hotel. It is also set back from the main road - difficult for taxi drivers to find, but contributed to the peace and quiet. Fatima was very helpful in helping me sort out logistics for places to eat and to help arrange transportation. My room was very comfortable and quaint - colonial style with an antique telephone and original light fittings. I felt like I was a well looked after time traveler from the 1800's. The tour of the museum was fascinating - like being in a movie set. I truly enjoyed my experience in Penang and was able to relax and recharge the batteries due to the time I spent at this hotel. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IP D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

found about this hotel from this website and decided to give it a try though it was not officially open yet.

Was greeted warmly by friendly staffs at reception..Love the ambiance and feel of it..rustic and ancient yet the facility is brand new after extensive refurbishment of an old building. to find the location without GPS i think would be a nighmare..

though i took the single room, the space is OK for me..the toilet is fully equip n modern, just like a 5 star property.

they dont have dining facility but the ala carte breakfast can be send to your room, complimentary of the hotel. i dont really mine since when u in Penang u should eat out as the place is famous for its variety dishes.

There complimentary wifi is workable but my only reservation would be on the no additional lock inside the room..cant sleep whole night worrying someone might creeped in my room.. they paranoia in me.

overall, choose this place if you appreciate arts and culture and want to feel the old Penang charm and character.

i bet now the pool which is on level 2 outdoor area is ready by now..and the gym too

Room Tip: choose room near to lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nippy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

After a horror 7.5 hr bus trip from KL, it was a pleasure to receive a refreshing welcome drink of lemongrass tea on our check-in. Stayed 4 nts in the Ba Bao Room (superior double @ approx MYR302/nt - 2 single beds pushed together). Our room, on the first floor, fronted onto the street but noise was not a problem - so sleep quality was good. Our only hassle was the provision of a quilt - simply way too hot even with the a/c on. We ended up having to remove the quilt, which made for a better night's sleep. Had room to move; equipped with small fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, couple of armchairs, complimentary bottled water & a box of tissues (such a small thing but so necessary)! Wifi readily available in room & courtyard. The courtyard is a gem of a place - elected to have breakfast there every morning. You get a choice of eggs done 2 ways or muesli - standards include juice, fruit & a local tidbit - very filling. My husband & I also used the courtyard to relax in at the end of the day - we'd purchase beer to drink there - by the soothing pool although the neighbour's dogs also provided entertainment! At night, the reception staff would leave local tidbits in the room for us - nutmeg, coconut sweets. Only a short walk to the main drags of Penang Rd/Chulia Street. Also a short walk to the Chowrasta Market on Penang Rd to access the free shuttle bus (if you walk a little further, you will arrive at a fabulous kopitiam called Jooi Hooi Cafe serving some super delicious local food). Food courts also within walking distance.
You can book a tour of the in-house museum - filled with Baba-Nyonya antiques - impressive. The staff members were courteous & helpful. Could not have stayed at a more soothing haven after the frenetic pace of KL! Highly recommended.
One brickbat - the Museum's website advertises its room rates exclusive of taxes, so the cost of our room went from a base price of MYR260 to just over MYR300. Still terrific value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank atomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
814 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.4 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Property: Museum Hotel
Address: No. 74 Jalan A.S Mansoor, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#5 Family Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and savour the opulence of a bygone era at the Museum Hotel. Located in a restored historic building in the heart of George Town, this gem of a boutique hotel offers a unique glimpse into the golden past of this world heritage listed city. Each spacious, luxuriously appointed themed suite is one-of-a-kind, and a guests-only museum within the hotel features a remarkable private antique collection. Immerse yourself in the rich history and culture of Penang while you indulge your senses in luxury at the Museum Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing