We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Highlight of our stay in Penang”
Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Museum Hotel
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Highlight of our stay in Penang”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a very new hotel still in its soft opening stage.
Its location was spot on for us.Close to the best parts of the old town but just far enough out to avoid the noise.
The decore is delightful .The rooms and public areas are filled with antiques.If you are invited,do not miss the opportunity to view the owners private antique collection-it is both facinating and educational.
The most memorable part of our stay was the management and staff.We have stayed at many places but without exception the people at the Museum Hotel had that magic combination of efficiency and warmth.We have not experienced better.
We were only there for two nights but were sad to leave.
Our breakfast was eaten in a lovely open area.The food was excellent with unexpected little extras which gave us great pleasure.
When we return to Penang we would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petermac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    152
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
84
147
90
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Museum Hotel in Georgetown whilst travelling in Malaysia with my boyfriend. Our first impressions were that the building, decor and rooms were beautiful and immaculately clean. Impressive facilities include free of charge WiFi with good access in rooms and an air conditioned gym with complementary bottled water (which my boyfriend used, I could not muster the energy in the stifling 38 degrees heat). We were given the option of
complimentary daily breakfast sourced from local cafes including juice, fruit, tea/coffee. The staff were friendly and beyond helpful, providing umbrellas to shade from the sun, researching bus timetables on the Internet and writing summary guides on local attractions. They even brought coconuts to our room when my boyfriend was unwell.

The reason I have given an overall score of 4 rather than 5 stars is because the hotel is new and still has some issues to work out. Our room had wooden shutters rather than glass windows. This let street noise (lots of barking dogs and motorcycles) in and air conditioning out affecting our quality of sleep. The management is aware of this and I believe are looking into fitting windows. They also mentioned future plans for on site kitchen and pool facilities.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, and would love to see how it progresses over the next year.


  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseuMhotelpenang, MuseuM Hotel Management at Museum Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Madam Kate ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at MuseuM Hotel. Our Hotel team and I are glad to able to serve you and Dr John during your stay with us.

Also, we would like to thank you for being understanding regarding to the issues that you pointed out. All our glass windows are being fixed.

All the staff from MuseuM Hotel are glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay in with us. Best wishes to you and Dr John and hope to see both of you in the future.

Warmest regards

Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Lovely 2 days stay at new boutique hotel a few minutes walk from the heart of historic Georgetown. It's in a heritage building with antique furniture, big rooms with authentic shutters, huge comfortable bed with luxury linens. It's in a soft opening stage, which means its not completely finished - the restaurant and bar aren't yet ready - but it didn't matter at all as there are plenty of amazing places to eat nearby. Staff incredibly helpful and friendly. A pool is planned on the roof at the end of the year. Am in two minds about posting, it's a secret gem, so get in there now and keep it to yourself!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseuMhotelpenang, Guest Relations Manager at Museum Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate it ! Hope you had a wonderful holiday in Malaysia !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Not yet had its hard opening, so new the obliging taxi driver from the airport went to considerable trouble to find it. Beautiful building, beautiful furnishings, right in the centre of Georgetown. Obliging staff. The restaurant and bar are not yet opened, but there is no shortage of places nearby. The antique furnishings, and peaceful sense of the past are a real pleasure. Not an 'active' family holiday hotel - plenty in Penang, but if you are looking for a historic, comfortable , boutique, experience, even allowing for it still being a work in progress, give this one a try. Staff could not have been more obliging

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseuMhotelpenang, Guest Relations Manager at Museum Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear David, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I was invited to stay there for a night just to try out the newly open museum hotel. It was a great experience. They have a varieties of great antiques collection and i was amaze that most of them were genuine. Well trained and very friendly stuff. Although its still new but over all was good. Great architecture, cozy atmosphere & great hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rihualoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseuMhotelpenang, Public Relations Manager at Museum Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
792 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.6 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Property: Museum Hotel
Address: No. 74 Jalan A.S Mansoor, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#5 Family Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and savour the opulence of a bygone era at the Museum Hotel. Located in a restored historic building in the heart of George Town, this gem of a boutique hotel offers a unique glimpse into the golden past of this world heritage listed city. Each spacious, luxuriously appointed themed suite is one-of-a-kind, and a guests-only museum within the hotel features a remarkable private antique collection. Immerse yourself in the rich history and culture of Penang while you indulge your senses in luxury at the Museum Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing