We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool vibe, good food”
Review of Chulia Court

Chulia Court
Ranked #81 of 965 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Chulia Court The Tavern, one of the best adaptations of a heritage shop-house for a restaurant, music bar and boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of Unesco World Heritage City of Georgetown. We serve lunch and dinner with a full bar that opens daily from 12noon. Our 8 guest rooms with ensuite bathrooms are tastefully furnished and affordable. Enjoy a drink and dance to the swaying beats of the ground floor bar with our resident DJ spinning up-to-date and retro hits nightly on weekends, or live-band performances on Tuesdays, Wednesdays & Thursdays, or savour of a meal at the ground-floor cafe/restaurant in a heritage setting adorned by rare Peranakan embroidery, ancestral portraits, period furniture, and vibrant colours of the Baba Nyonya culture mixed with an eclectic European influence that will leave you spellbound. Our theme is dedicated to the love of Peranakan Heritage, Chinoiserie and an eclectic mix of European influences. We celebrate with whimsical contrasts of colours on our walls and decor, characterized by the use of fanciful imagery of fantastical China mixed in with our simple passion for bits of retro. While we distract you with movement and lively colours like turquoise, pink, magenta, orange and yellow, let it not take you away from our equally welcoming offers of our menu. Hailing from the Netherlands, Chef Mathijs Nanne specialises in European cuisine, using a wide array of local herbs and spices that create a unique blend of flavours. We are 22,000 square feet, one of the very few properties on Lebuh Chulia with a private car park for house guests and diners. You may be in the mood for a coffee, cold beer, cocktail or wine but whatever it is drop by for a visit and get to know us better. You may not know this but Penangites believe music was born on our streets. We offer a Jazz Bar dishing out Jazz, Blues, Broadway and Retro favourites. We also have a resident DJ on weekends who spins dance tunes that will make you tap your feet or dance the night away, let DJ Shan take you away. If you prefer to chillax in the Peranakan Lounge or watch the world go by on the street side al fresco we will let you. Whatever the mood you are in, Chulia Court will make it a unique experience for you, your family or friends.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Ate dinner on a Saturday night. Yes it is pricier than other Georgetown restaurants but in reality its still very cheap. We shared the lamb burger and the appetizer platter - both were very tasty. The atmosphere was great and we had a great Saturday night.

1  Thank DT425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 185 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Staff was very attentive and smiling. Bruschetta as a starter was boring and nothing interesting. I chose the most expensive main course, but the beef was disappointing. The garniture (mashed potato, asparagus etc. was delicious though)
Overall a nice experience, but as prices are much above average food in Georgetown I expected something extra..

Thank hranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We visited here after reading some good reviews on TA.

The staff were attentive, up to the point when I was asked how the food was, which I replied 'not good' because the fish fillet I ordered had been pan fried flesh side down rather than skin side down like all professional chefs do, this made it dry and crispy in the wrong places.

The waiter is obviously used to hearing 'yes' to this question as he just smiled a walked away.

The food wasn't inedible, but had been cooked incorrectly and the complaint handled very badly.

I questioned this when the bill arrived and was told that the manager and chef couldn't do anything about poorly cooked food or bad handling of complaints, so I suggested they needed some refresher training, especially the chef who should never have sent the dish from his kitchen.

There are lots of great reviews on TA which why we went, so make your own mind up if you want to try it, just avoid the fish fillet until the chef learns how to cook it properly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChipFondue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascal109, Chef Gordon at Chulia Court, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

dear Cheap Fondue,
We are sorry that you did not enjoy the sea bass. It was cooked as per the recipe, skin side down and finished with butter in the oven which would have crisped the edges as it is a fresh and unfrozen product.

It is difficult to remedy a complaint if the meal has been finished aso we would urge you to in the future to alert the service staff (in any food service operation anywhere in the world) of your displeasure before finishing it so there is opportunity for the restaurant to fix the problem.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My oxtail soup set was ok. Tataki was great. Overall Decor and posters are great! Their own parking space is charged at RM 3 per entry, and can be redeem upon RM 30 order within the restaurant. Reasonable!

1  Thank Sun_Lunkya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Came here with my wife from a tripadvisor review and was pleasantly surprised.great band and jazz singer,ambience was per et,after 9.30pm it started to really pump which was nice.the food was fresh but pricey ,but altogether a great place for a 40+ aged crowd,really enjoyed it.beautiful decor and great night.

Thank mojay_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chulia Court also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Chulia Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing