We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muntri House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Muntri House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No.48,Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 169 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
“Value for money !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Decorated with Chinese traditional furniture. Nice staff, and excellent location. 10 minutes walk to Komtar where the airport bus 401 stops. Plenty if local food stalls within 5 mins walk and the major attractions are short walk as well.The area is quiet. The facilities includes drink machine, all-day coffee, iron, wifi, hairdryer and more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceySVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    41
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
5
35
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I got myself a single bedded room. I had trouble sleeping for the night as the on the floor air conditioning unit was really noisy, felt like i am sleeping in an aeroplane cabin. Everything else was fine, but there could be rooms for improvement.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The location is great part in the heritage trail and near to attractions so you can always come back and have a rest during the touring. The price is good , the staff is helpful, and they have tea and coffee for free and breakfast included. It's a nice place to stay.Nice atmosphere with chinese antiques and spacious common area to chill and relax .On top of the free WIFI,they also provide free usage of computer with internet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khatty Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The double room was small with a bed and nothing else. We had to ask for a blanket, and towels. We booked the room online and no one mentioned the free breakfast at check in so we missed it the first morning and weren't even offered coffee. The toilets were ok but bugs everywhere, and wifi wasn't great. But the worst part was the man at the desk who demanded we pay for our next night before we could have fresh towels and then knocked on our door at 11am the day after and said we had to leave because they were fully booked. We'd planned to stay an extra day but had no choice. Found a much friendlier place across the street.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thiftywheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Clean and comfy room, the vintage vibe interior upon entering the place makes you feel like going back in time. The room I stayed in was spacious, clean, and comfy as well. The toilets are clean and there's a free PC for you to use as well in the lounge area. The staff at the reception should have been more friendly. It's a nice place to stay and value for money as well. The place is also close to various attractions in Georgetown- there's Camera Museum next door as well!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ava E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Upon reaching the guesthouse, we were at once delighted with the interiors and the cozy vintage vibe that the reception area gave us. We booked for 2 connecting double bed rooms (with air-conditioners but no adjacent bathroom). There were five of us. And since there were no extra beds to be added to the rooms, the staff proposed that one of us might just stay in the dormitory, which i found was extremely comfortable and air-conditioned as well (and at a extremely affordable price!)All 5 of us agreed the next morning that we all had a good slumber. The drawback is that, though clean, there are only 2 sharing bathrooms, so will need to queue for a while. Oh well, we may hang around at the common area (Wifi Zone) next to the bathrooms while waiting for our turns. Iron and hair dryers available at the common area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ching Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Budget,clean and comfy rooms.I stayed at the double room, it was spacious has a window and full wardobe set and high ceilings! Really like the art and antiques decoration of this place , has a very heritage feel and a very unique local culture experience . The price is good and include free simple breakfast with toast breads and some bananas and free flow of coffee and tea . Location is perfect in the centre of town and near to attractions and bus stop yet not at the main road therefore is quite and good to sleep at night. Highly recommend this place to those who like to explore georgetown !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guo_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
#20 of 169 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
28 Bahari
28 Bahari
#22 of 169 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magpie Residence
Magpie Residence
#11 of 169 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Campbell Times Hotel
Campbell Times Hotel
#55 of 169 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#46 of 169 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cocoa Mews
Cocoa Mews
#41 of 169 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muntri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muntri House

Property: Muntri House
Address: No.48,Muntri Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Muntri House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
People tell us there’s no such thing as a budget boutique hotel and we know that superb service with heritage concepts rooms all come at a price but it doesn’t have to be at Muntri House. A stay at Muntri House is enhanced by the presence of fine art collections and antiques of the Chinese heritage along with modern comfort of air-conditioning, & Internet facilities. Located at the city centre and heritage trail with easy access to main attractions such as Penang Chinese Town Hall, Kuan Yin Teng Temple, St Georges Church, Prangin Mall shopping complex and many more impressive clan house and also night life entertainment within close reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Muntri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muntri House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing