We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good experience overall!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muntri House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Muntri House
Ranked #32 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good experience overall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Convenient location within walking distance to all major attractions and the famous penang wall mural .Bed is very comfortable and the double room i stayed with my husband is very spacious with full set of wardrobe and make up table.Shared bathroom is clean too.Overall good experience and totally worth for the price

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Careema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuntriHouse, Owner at Muntri House, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here! We hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    42
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
5
35
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Muntri house give me a pleasant experience to stay in. Good service, clean, very convenient to anyplace especially to night life spot, heritage environment was the main thing that I need to thumb up.. You feel like home.. Will stay in Muntri House when I come Penang.. Cheers

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilfred-988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in this guest house on 14 to 16 June. We reached Penang in the early morning and we brought our luggages to Muntri House and kept in near reception place. Then we went out and check in at 12++. They had good explanation to us on how to use the key and bring us to our room. We booked two Standard Double Room. It is located on the second floor.

Some good points of this guest house:
1. Towel provided.
2. There are public iron board, hair dryer.
3. There are breakfast provided to us.
4. Nice and antique design in the whole guest house.
5, There is aircond in the room.
6. The workers is kind and helpful.
7. It is very near to the bus station, and it is so convenient to move around the heritage places.

Some point which can be improved:
1. The sound proof of rooms can be improved, as we need to lower till very down of our voice in order not to disturb other.
2. The amount of toilet shall be increased at second floor. Two toilets are definitely not enough for everyone staying in second floor.
3. If possible, there shall be toilet without heater, then we no need to wait for other to bath finish then only can go into toilet.

Overall, it is quite a good place to stay in Penang if you are not driving. I am very satisfied with the guest house service!
However, to compare with some guest house I had stayed before, this is not the best. I had met very very friendly boss, which teach us how to go elsewhere to find good foods, and also bring us to find foods, To be honest, we have very lack of communication with this guest house, only the workers which clean up the table, wash dishes for us and the man who did check in for us.

I will recommend this to all the backpackers or friends travelling to Penang without driving a car. This guest house is so convenient. However, if you have car, this is not a suitable place for you to stay with. There are very limited parking lots in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChiuYeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This guesthouse bears the memories of the 70s or earlier. It preserves a lot of 'oldies' and mix with the present, it give the back to future feel to the stayers. The location of this guesthouse is rather convenient for most travelers. All the basic needs, food, beverage, alcohol, necessities and must-see areas, are reachable within 10 minutes walk. Bathroom facilities are well maintained. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious enough. This guesthouse is also rather quiet so it presents a peaceful ambiance for those that are looking for out-of-city type of guesthouse. Overall, I would rate this guesthouse a well worthy stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devilslayer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The building was beautiful, the staff friendly and the location was nice and central. The communal areas were especially nice and it was great that you could get free tea/coffee/cold drinking water througout the day plus a nice breakfast in the morning! We had a large double room which was very clean. Even though they obviously have tried to keep the room cool with both a loud portable airconditioning machine and a fan the room was still too warm to be comfortable. Due to the heritage windows which are open we also had quite a few mosquitoes but they did provide a plug in mosquito repellent. All in all we enjoyed our stay and you can tell the staff really tries their best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nicely refurbished shop house in a great location.
Lots of great food , bars and restaurants 5 minutes walk.
Lovely property that's been sympathetically refurbished. Shared bathroom facilities were clean and functional.Staff were friendly and helpful.
Rooms were spacious but let down by portable air con units that were not really up to the job. Would have possibly been better of with fans only as the air con units didn't seem that effective.
There's a lot of options at a similar price point in close proximity that maybe worth checking out.
I only stayed for one night not sure if I would have stayed for 2 though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waveboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuntriHouse, Owner at Muntri House, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We have recently upgraded all rooms with brand new wall air-conditioner .Therefore the hot air issue is solved permanently..We appreciate all feedback and will look into it seriously to continuously improve our service to serve our guests better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The converted heritage shop house is beautiul with the public/communal areas being extremely attractive. The staff are helpfull and friendly. The location is perfect for everything, food, sights, shopping and only a short walk from the pier. However, the rooms have paper thin walls and the portable aircon units are loud and not very effective. All rooms are shared bathrooms which are generally clean but provide little privacy. Also waste water draining from one shower accross the floor of the next isnt pleasant, especially when sat on the toilet with your trousers down. The breakfast was interesting. Delicious Malay fair comprising a mix of dishes, great if thats what you enjoy, no other option if not. Free tea, coffee and chilled drinking water day and night! Overall a nice enough place to stay, aimed more toward the back packer market with cheap dorms and basic doubles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
#21 of 170 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
28 Bahari
28 Bahari
#22 of 170 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magpie Residence
Magpie Residence
#12 of 170 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cocoa Mews
Cocoa Mews
#37 of 170 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#49 of 170 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Just Inn
Just Inn
#14 of 170 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muntri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muntri House

Property: Muntri House
Address: No. 48 Lebuh Muntri, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Muntri House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
People tell us there’s no such thing as a budget boutique hotel and we know that superb service with heritage concepts rooms all come at a price but it doesn’t have to be at Muntri House. A stay at Muntri House is enhanced by the presence of fine art collections and antiques of the Chinese heritage along with modern comfort of air-conditioning, & Internet facilities. Located at the city centre and heritage trail with easy access to main attractions such as Penang Chinese Town Hall, Kuan Yin Teng Temple, St Georges Church, Prangin Mall shopping complex and many more impressive clan house and also night life entertainment within close reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Muntri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muntri House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing