We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homie~”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SIOK Hostel, Penang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Business trip just ended and decided to prolong my stays at the heart of Penang. It was a scavenger hunt for a comfy hostel due to conclude some workload. Went to a few hostel nearby but weren't the same as seen in the website lol. Syok was the final choice and was a great choice indeed. Greeted by friendly crew which was very helpful. Comfy thick bed with great amenities. Syok lounge kinda seal the deal as it was workspace friendly with steady wifi and 24/7 coffee! More over the environment of the place was really nice and the crowd was pleasant too. Extended my stay due to the hospitality. Will definitely come again! Highly recommended hostel.

Room Tip: Top bed kinda more comfy as people will go up and down the beds if you are on the bottom of the doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank KhairulIkhwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 303 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Great localization close to the good spot in Georgetown, nice helpful e friendly staff. Really clean and nice hostel. Was really nice to stay with them.
Free breakfast and a cute living room. They have a wall which you can write cool things.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigika27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenSLT, Owner at SIOK Hostel, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Gigika27

Thank you for your wonderful comment! We hope continue being innovative and provide all our guests with the best service that we can. We wish you all the best and hope to see you with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is definitely the best youth hostel I've ever stayed at. It has an excellent location, spotlessly clean facilities and great staff who are most helpful and friendly. The rooftop lounge is pretty nice, with TV, Radio, PC and some game facilities. And their buffet breakfast (milk, coffee, tea, toast, cereal) is pretty nice too. I bought my bus ticket at the hostel at very reasonable price, much cheaper than the agency nearby charged.

However, as some of the rooms are by the street, it can get a little noisy sometimes, which might be an issue to people with sleeping problems. But to me, it's totally OK.

I will definitely recommend this hostel to my friends and will stay there again if I go back to Penang.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredreeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hostel is very easy to find and surrounded by good eateries. The malls and tourist spots are all within walking distance. Plus, I love the staffs!! They're very friendly and helpful, makes you feel at home. I will certainly come back and bring along my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Haziqm0hamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

It might be a little more expensive than other hostels, but it really is incredible. Super comfy, super clean rooms, private lockers, clean showers with hair dryers etc, a common room and kitchen, outdoor rooftop. The best option in Georgetown by far!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingsolo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hostel is excellent. Loved air conditioning in all rooms, beds were very comfortable, the rooms and bathroom were very clean. Breakfast was toast and cereal - enough to get you through till lunch or dinner with the heat. It's in a great location to explore the old town and very close to excellent hawker food. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to George Town.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMac1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very nice and stylish hostel, extremly clean especially the toilets and the showers, staff very friendly and helpfull, rooms are directed towards the street and due to that it is a bit noisy so don't forget your earplugs

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kloehri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 87 in George Town
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#37 of 87 in George Town
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 125 in George Town
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#3 of 125 in George Town
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
#1 of 125 in George Town
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#4 of 125 in George Town
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIOK Hostel, Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIOK Hostel, Penang

Address: 458 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia (Formerly Syok at Chulia)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 125 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range: $221 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SIOK Hostel, Penang 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SIOK HOSTEL has a capacity of 64 persons including separate dorm for females. Rates are inclusive of tax and breakfast, free wifi. They are air-conditioned, come with personal secured lockers,personal sockets and personal reading lights, super single size bunk beds with spring mattresses and bathrooms with rain head hot showers and all bathroom amenities. SIOK HOSTEL provides a Lounge area where guests can enjoy complimentary coffee/tea all day, watch TV, enjoy the collection of DVD's, magazines, dart board, foosball table, board games, free WiFi. Located at the heart of the city Georgetown, UNESCO heritage area, 458 Chulia Street, 10200 Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia. SIOK HOSTEL is located at the junction of Leith street and Chulia Street. There are a number of restaurants nearby. Right on Penang street, which is just across SIOK HOSTEL, there are many shops selling cloths, souvenirs. trishaws, taxis and busses are easy available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your SIOK Hostel, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SIOK Hostel, Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing