We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best youth hostel I've ever stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SIOK Hostel, Penang
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best youth hostel I've ever stayed at!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is definitely the best youth hostel I've ever stayed at. It has an excellent location, spotlessly clean facilities and great staff who are most helpful and friendly. The rooftop lounge is pretty nice, with TV, Radio, PC and some game facilities. And their buffet breakfast (milk, coffee, tea, toast, cereal) is pretty nice too. I bought my bus ticket at the hostel at very reasonable price, much cheaper than the agency nearby charged.

However, as some of the rooms are by the street, it can get a little noisy sometimes, which might be an issue to people with sleeping problems. But to me, it's totally OK.

I will definitely recommend this hostel to my friends and will stay there again if I go back to Penang.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredreeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    76
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
32
122
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hostel is very easy to find and surrounded by good eateries. The malls and tourist spots are all within walking distance. Plus, I love the staffs!! They're very friendly and helpful, makes you feel at home. I will certainly come back and bring along my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Haziqm0hamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

It might be a little more expensive than other hostels, but it really is incredible. Super comfy, super clean rooms, private lockers, clean showers with hair dryers etc, a common room and kitchen, outdoor rooftop. The best option in Georgetown by far!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingsolo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hostel is excellent. Loved air conditioning in all rooms, beds were very comfortable, the rooms and bathroom were very clean. Breakfast was toast and cereal - enough to get you through till lunch or dinner with the heat. It's in a great location to explore the old town and very close to excellent hawker food. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to George Town.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMac1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodgau, Germany
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very nice and stylish hostel, extremly clean especially the toilets and the showers, staff very friendly and helpfull, rooms are directed towards the street and due to that it is a bit noisy so don't forget your earplugs

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kloehri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great location. Easy to go anyway. Stuff very nice. Room very clean.

Just no lock pad for locker....no door for room? We'll is ok for me cz I'm staying female dorms.
Just a bit noisy when other guest is walking up stair ... Well I don't mind too cz I'm deep sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sherence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. It was our first time to backpack. My husband and I usually stay in hotels whenever we travel. The rooms were excellent and the beds comfortable. The toilets and showers were also really good. They have the best reception and hostess. I chat with them quite a lot. They gave me lots of tips too as to where to eat and where to find places in the map. Excellent Staff. Bravo.

After the first night in the mixed dorm, my husband and i switched to a private room. We're just not used to sharing a room. I did not get to sleep well coz i wake up with the slightest noise.

The game room is awesome. Really felt like home.

Room Tip: 1st floor is near toilets and showers. 2nd floor is near the game room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenSLT, Owner at SIOK Hostel, Penang, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Kristine K,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We at Syok look forward to pleasing our guests. We hope to see you with us soon!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 84 in George Town
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#35 of 84 in George Town
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 116 in George Town
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#6 of 116 in George Town
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
#1 of 116 in George Town
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#4 of 116 in George Town
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIOK Hostel, Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIOK Hostel, Penang

Property: SIOK Hostel, Penang
Address: 458 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia (Formerly Syok at Chulia)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 116 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — SIOK Hostel, Penang 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SIOK HOSTEL has a capacity of 64 persons including separate dorm for females. Rates are inclusive of tax and breakfast, free wifi. They are air-conditioned, come with personal secured lockers,personal sockets and personal reading lights, super single size bunk beds with spring mattresses and bathrooms with rain head hot showers and all bathroom amenities. SIOK HOSTEL provides a Lounge area where guests can enjoy complimentary coffee/tea all day, watch TV, enjoy the collection of DVD's, magazines, dart board, foosball table, board games, free WiFi. Located at the heart of the city Georgetown, UNESCO heritage area, 458 Chulia Street, 10200 Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia. SIOK HOSTEL is located at the junction of Leith street and Chulia Street. There are a number of restaurants nearby. Right on Penang street, which is just across SIOK HOSTEL, there are many shops selling cloths, souvenirs. trishaws, taxis and busses are easy available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your SIOK Hostel, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SIOK Hostel, Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing