We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SIOK Hostel, Penang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Syok is located at the start of Lorong Chulia, at the junction with Jalan penang. After i arrived at the airport and take bus 401 and stop at the other end of lorong chulia, it took me 10mins to get here. usually i will look around for more choices, but i fell in love straight away.

People:
The people in this place is wonderful. Boon, checked me in, took me to my bed, showed me around, told me to get some rest, and when i am ready, he gave me a 30mins brief of penang and things to see, food to eat. its like a mini history class. Karen, the owner, me to this great burger place 'marshalls' and i ended up having 2 burgers one shot. Tim whom i met the day before i left, told me to grab some meat at sky hotel.

Location:
Jalan penang have the best chendol and assam laksa in penang, 5mins walk
red garden have a huge variety of choices of food, 3mins walk
mugshot, a place to check out, 5mins walk
Chinahouse, MUST check out place, 15mins walk
bus stop that serves most buses along jalan penang, 4mins walk

Place:
Clean, very clean, so clean i didn't realised i am in a hostel.
comfy beds, huge space, nice aircon, great shower area with rainshower, and wifi is working all around the hostel.


my 2 other roommates, one russian-german lady and one guy from the states agree that this is one of the best hostels we have stayed in. we even commented that it felt more like a hotel and we were quite worried to be dressed poorly.

i will stay back in this place everytime i visit penang!

Room Tip: Just stay in the mixed dorm and hope to meet nice people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tancheetong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenSLT, Owner at SIOK Hostel, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Tancheetong,

Thank you for taking time to write us on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and most of all enjoyed what Penang has to offer. We hope that we will see you again soon and safe journey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 302 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hostel is actually at the junction of Lorong Chulia and Jalan Penang. It took me a while to find it as I started from the other end. Lorong Chulia is quite long. The Rapid Penang airport bus no. 401 does not pass near it. You can actually change bus at Komtar and get another bus that pass in front of the hostel. Or you get a taxi from Komtar to the hostel if you have a lot of luggage. Lorong Chulia is right in the middle of everything, the sights, the eating place, etc.

The Rapid Penang buses are new and can use it to get to the sights but be prepared to wait a bit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanSYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My partner and I stayed in the 2nd floor private room for two nights in March. The hostel was surprisingly quiet (in the sense of not being busy), and while we saw others coming in asking after the booked private room, there was plenty of space in the dorms.

Most of the key features have been described well by other recent reviewers. The service is friendly and the place is clean, including the mixed, shared showers and loos. Our in-room wifi was fairly reliable, though we struggled to connect to the downstairs hotspot in reception.

The location is great, at the west end of Chulia Street within easy walking distance of Komtar, Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion and the bars on Penang Street. The downside of this is the street noise, which while likely unavoidable in this type of accommodation means that light sleepers may find earplugs necessary for a restful night.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IJGrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Went to Penang with some mates and the booking process was fairly easy. Staff was very friendly too. Location is near the murals and food is abundant nearby. The place also has an artsy feel to it other then it's already clean and neat setting. Recommend anyone from traveller to locals to stay here . Definitely value for money .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

As a first experience in a guesthouse, I was pleasantly surprised as how great it could be. The rooms were really spacious for a 8-bedroom, with large lockers. The bathrooms were shared with ladies and gents, which was an interesting experience, but for ladies who would feel uncomfortable, they have a ladies only section. I met few people who were fun to talk to, which made the experience even better. The price is great to, and the staff can speak good english and very helpful. Recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaiNYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hostel is located in the main street, so it was easy to find especially since I arrived really late at night. The cleanest hostel I ever been. I enjoyed the paintings on the walls and the projects which the hostel creates such as confession wall and before I die..

I booked a bed in mix dorm room. On my first night I ended up on 3rd floor because of misunderstanding between the staff about my room. The 3rd floor is supposed to be group floor. At that day the hostel was full and there were around 40 students staying. I slept with 6-7 students. The problems are they were kind of noisy in the morning since they woke up almost at the same time and moved around which I could feel since the floor is made from wood. It was the only minor I encountered though. The staff was really sorry about the room mistake and moved me to 2nd floor the next day.

I appreciated how attentive the staff were. They helped me to book my ticket, gave recommendation for places to eat, etc. I won't hesitate to stay at syok again if I ever come back to Penang. Overall, it is a very nice hostel.

Just a suggestion, maybe for a big group guests (>10 people), the staff can inform the guests not to be too noisy in the morning since some people are still sleeping :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siscawiguno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenSLT, Owner at SIOK Hostel, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Siscawiguno,

Thank you for the lovely comments and my apologies for the oversight on the first night. You have been such a wonderful guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

clean, neat, amazing hostel to live in. the common room is relaxing place to hang out and the "before i die wall" is a cute addition, great staff and met some great fellow travellers. i would definetly recommend a stay here if you are in penang, :D

Room Tip: the noise from the street is a little disturbing if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank girl_on_the_go_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#36 of 87 in George Town
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 87 in George Town
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 123 in George Town
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#3 of 123 in George Town
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
#1 of 123 in George Town
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#5 of 123 in George Town
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIOK Hostel, Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIOK Hostel, Penang

Address: 458 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia (Formerly Syok at Chulia)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 123 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range: $12 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SIOK Hostel, Penang 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SIOK HOSTEL has a capacity of 64 persons including separate dorm for females. Rates are inclusive of tax and breakfast, free wifi. They are air-conditioned, come with personal secured lockers,personal sockets and personal reading lights, super single size bunk beds with spring mattresses and bathrooms with rain head hot showers and all bathroom amenities. SIOK HOSTEL provides a Lounge area where guests can enjoy complimentary coffee/tea all day, watch TV, enjoy the collection of DVD's, magazines, dart board, foosball table, board games, free WiFi. Located at the heart of the city Georgetown, UNESCO heritage area, 458 Chulia Street, 10200 Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia. SIOK HOSTEL is located at the junction of Leith street and Chulia Street. There are a number of restaurants nearby. Right on Penang street, which is just across SIOK HOSTEL, there are many shops selling cloths, souvenirs. trishaws, taxis and busses are easy available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your SIOK Hostel, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SIOK Hostel, Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing