We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and very clean hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SIOK Hostel, Penang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with two friends in the Female A dorm. The rooms were very clean, and the beds were comfy. The hostel was modern and nicely decorated, which gave it a homey feel. The location on Chulia St was great. We were able to reach everywhere in Georgetown by foot, and there are some great food stalls on Chulia St at nighttime. The hostel felt very safe, and the staff were very kind and couldn't have been more helpful!

Room Tip: Brings earplugs as the street noise is quite loud at night, and prayers at the mosque begin at 5.30a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alyssajt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at SIOK Hostel, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Alyssajt,

Thank you for the positive review. Our team is always happy to see that our guests enjoyed our hostel.
Regarding the noise from the mosque, we can't change that very much but we do provide ear plugs to anyone to needs them. We are located in the central area and it tends to be quite animated during the evenings, nevertheless it's a details that creates the charm of Syok.
We do hope to see you in Syok again and please do not hesitate to ask for ear plugs !

Wishing you a great Merdeka Day!

Kati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 302 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

this i think is new place, each bed even in dorm has privacy which is very good. they have mix dorm, boys only and girls only. easy to meet new friends. simple food in top floor with big tv, wall can write message and games. place is clean. bathroom is small but ok. convenient and easy to find even when take bus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at SIOK Hostel, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Martin G,

It is so nice to receive your positive feedback, greatly appreciated and very motivating to all of us here in Syok Hostel.

We look forward to welcome you back and in meantime wish you a fantastic day ahead.
Very sincerely,

Kati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in the (very compact) double room.

It is a modern and stylish hostel. You can tell it is fairly new. The prices are slightly above average, but none of the alternatives seem to able to offer the same consistency of quality as Syok. This place is probably a safe bet.

The location is right on the corner of the busiest street in Georgetown. All major sites in Georgetown are easily reached on foot and the bus stop (for visiting the Kek Lok Si temple or Penang Hill) are just a minute's walk away. At night, the street fills up with food stalls, aside from the already generous selection of restaurants. The location also has its downsides however, since it can be quite noisy on the street at night, without even mentioning the blaring Mosque which starts prayers at 5.30am. This seems to be common to all places in Georgetown, though.

The facilities in the hostel are great, with clean bathrooms and an excellent terrace and bar (where a simple breakfast is provided). Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Do note you have to pay a 25RM deposit upon arrival, which you will get back once you leave.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at SIOK Hostel, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear NMEY,

Thank you for taking the time and write such a nice review about our place and services.
We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us.
Indeed Syok is located in the heart of Heritage Zone and it tends to be quite animated in the evening but it also makes the charm of Georgetown. We do require a deposit upon check-in for the items we are giving to guests but its totally refundable at check-out.

We do hope to have you again with us in the near future.
Don't hesitate to drop by anytime.

Until then, have a great time ahead,

Yours sincerely,

Kati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at Syok@Chulia for two nights in the female dorm on 1st floor.

What I liked:

1. Cool and spacious lounge upstairs - check out the Before I Die board :)
2. Artwork on toilet doors and floor - cute
3. Hot and cold water dispenser at the corridor
4. Security key - great if you're out at odd hours. The reception is always manned anyway.
5. Location. Chulia is at the edge of the core zone of Old Georgetown. Perfect base for walks and to explore the area.
6. Clean comfortable bed.
7. Clean, colourful, spacious, airy, well-equipped female bathroom. They even provide those little baskets for your toiletries.

It is also close to Chowrasta and other 'famous' Penang food stalls/shops along Jalan Penang.

Down Chulia Street there are also various outlets serving local food.

Hip coffee outlets are also within walking distance. (I recommend The Mugshot! Yummy bagels and great coffee)

The only thing I did not quite like was the ladder for the top bunk, the bars are round and it hurts if you step on it even for a while. And the free wifi was a bit slow that weekend. Anyway, that was my experience.

For light sleepers, make sure you bring your ear plugs. Traffic can be noisy at night.

Service was friendly, always ready to help and offer assistance - Tim and Michael, thanks! I cannot remember the two girls - both were also very helpful ! ;)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audraeadella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at SIOK Hostel, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear audmraz,

What a pleasure for us to see that our guests are enjoying our facilities !

I surely pass your generous comments to all our Syok Team which will come as a fantastic boost of moral to all of them to perform even better in future.
We are sorry you had trouble with the bunk bed. Our beds are custom made to fill all necessary needs: height, size, sturdiness but maybe the ladder bar is too sensitive. Again , we are sorry.
We do hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Until then, have a fantastic time ahead.
Sincerely,

Kati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in Syok at Chulia's female dorm, which has its own shower & toilet and access door to the rooftop garden. Upon checking in, the hostel gives you a complimentary towel & blanket, both of good quality (fluffy thick towel, knit blanket). Check-in was fast & easy.

Beds in the dorm have very good headroom and legroom, which is great because I've stayed in hostels where I'd bump my head against the ceiling or the bunk above. Each bed has a reading light & another plug point for your devices. Lockers are also provided - bring your own padlock or buy one from the reception. Storage space is good - enough space for my backpack, overnight bag & a rail to hang up clothes. Another plus point: really high ceilings!

Breakfast is served in the lounge on the top floor & there's all-day coffee, tea & biscuits. However, if you feel like having breakfast outside (and you should), there's plenty of places to go, e.g. roti canai on Argyll Road & Transfer Road, Rainforest Bakery & Cafe.

The hostel's design concept is youthful with bright colours and modern appliances but they management have also retained heritage features: wooden floorings, terracotta tiles & original wooden doors & window shutters. Management & staff are friendly and down-to-earth - from the owner, Mr. Teh to the manager, Kati, to reception staff Tim & Theva. They make time to talk to guests, which I really appreciated.

Since Syok is located at the junction of 2 busy roads, traffic noise might be a nuisance. However, I found sleep possible despite the noise.

Note to guests: please walk gently on the wooden floors because the noise can disturb other guests who are sleeping or resting.

I would come back to Syok because it's like staying with friends.

Room Tip: The female dorm nearest the shower & toilets is the larger of the two. It faces a side street (L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SNuraishah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at SIOK Hostel, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear SNuraishah,

Thank you for taking the time and write such a nice review about our hostel.
We are really grateful!
We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay and the facilities that our property has to offer.
We are sorry if you had problems sleeping. We are situated in the heart of the Heritage Zone and it tends to be quite animated at night. We do provide ear plugs at the reception ( a small tip for the next time).

I am glad to see that you appreciated the heritage and modern look of Syok.

We are looking forward to have you with us again.
Until then, best of luck and keep in touch.

Yours sincerely ,

Kati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I booked this hostel after seeing that it had received great reviews on Tripadvisor, and I could see why. I was greeted by the ever cheerful staff the moment I stepped into the hostel, despite me perspiring profusely looking for the place.

I booked a bed at the 8 bed dorm room. The bed was clean, comfortable and they provide me with a towel as well! The shared toilets and bathrooms were conveniently located at the first level, just outside my room plus the lounge at the 2nd level was a great place to hang out after a long day of exploring Georgetown.

For a first timer in Penang, the hostel is conveniently located to attractions like Masjid Kapitan Keling as well as the St George's Church. Famous Nasi Kandar stall, Line Clear is just a 3 mins walk away and if you are really hungry, Subway's just next door!

I highly recommend this place for individuals who are looking for an affordable yet comfortable place to stay in. I will be back definitely.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the first floor, it's nearer to the shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at SIOK Hostel, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Adam K,

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing us such a nice review. I can't thank you enough for your kind and very generous feedback about our hostel and services, greatly appreciated!

I surely pass your generous comments to all my Team which will come as a fantastic boost of moral to all of them to perform even better in future.
Have a fantastic time ahead.

Sincerely,

Kati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked a twin sharing room for RM171 for 2 nights.

The location of the hostel is ideal, Chulia street is filled with eateries and nearby to many cafes. Our room was small but it was clean. The only downside is that we were staying on the 2nd floor but the shared bathroom facilities are on the first floor. Other than that we liked the place!

I love the cozy lounge they have too. Their staffs are always smiley and special mention to Tim who is ready to give advice on where to eat and help us out when he can. Thanks for making our stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurposefulTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syok_at_Chulia, Manager at SIOK Hostel, Penang, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear XDD,

Thank you for writing us such a nice review.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Since our building is part of the Heritage Zone, it's difficult ti change the layout , therefore the washrooms are at the 1st floor .
We had to leave the place for the rooftop terrace and Lounge and the 2nd floor.
I will personally mention to Tim what a great job he is doing.

Hoping to have you with us again in the near future.
Until then , have a great day ahead !

Sincerely,
Kati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#37 of 87 in George Town
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 87 in George Town
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 123 in George Town
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#3 of 123 in George Town
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
#1 of 123 in George Town
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#4 of 123 in George Town
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIOK Hostel, Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIOK Hostel, Penang

Address: 458 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia (Formerly Syok at Chulia)
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 123 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range: $11 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SIOK Hostel, Penang 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SIOK HOSTEL has a capacity of 64 persons including separate dorm for females. Rates are inclusive of tax and breakfast, free wifi. They are air-conditioned, come with personal secured lockers,personal sockets and personal reading lights, super single size bunk beds with spring mattresses and bathrooms with rain head hot showers and all bathroom amenities. SIOK HOSTEL provides a Lounge area where guests can enjoy complimentary coffee/tea all day, watch TV, enjoy the collection of DVD's, magazines, dart board, foosball table, board games, free WiFi. Located at the heart of the city Georgetown, UNESCO heritage area, 458 Chulia Street, 10200 Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia. SIOK HOSTEL is located at the junction of Leith street and Chulia Street. There are a number of restaurants nearby. Right on Penang street, which is just across SIOK HOSTEL, there are many shops selling cloths, souvenirs. trishaws, taxis and busses are easy available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your SIOK Hostel, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SIOK Hostel, Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing