We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place!”
Review of Seven Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seven Terraces
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We did not stay here, we had a evening meal and what a wonderful experience it was. It is pricey by Penang standards, but you can have a meal for two for the equivalent of UK£50. The service is superb, the cooking is excellent and the ambiance is wonderful. Anyone stay in George Town should have at least one meal here. You won't be disappointed, in fact you'll probably want to have a second and more. Fantastic place (do visit the loos!)

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 871 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful few days in Georgetown where we stayed at the excellent Seven Terraces. Not sure how to eloquently describe this beautiful, boutigue, hotel in the limited 200 characters here but suffice it to say Seven Terraces provides some of the most interesting and beautiful accommodation we've stayed in during our time in Asia. The staff are fabulous and can't do enough to help you. We will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: The Argus Suites cost a little more but have a roof top terrace and cool little 'outdoor' ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Iain_in_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The hotel is everything other reviewers claim. Its quiet charm, unique elegance and the quiet competence of its team are second to none. I could not recommend it more highly. Its restaurant is exceptional, not least in its client-orientation and the stylish dining-room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

At Seven Terraces, it was like going back in time.

In particular, I liked the high red doors.

Loved the toilet! Black & White 1" tiled floor, spacious, bright, airy with high ceiling & aromatic toiletries. High ceiling meant the rain shower was high up too.

Not only was the check in, fast & efficient but our room had already been 'cooled down' for us. We didn't have to wait for the AC to take effect.


Our welcome drink (hot tea) in a lovely tea set arrived shortly.

Other thoughtful gesture: they shut the windows in the toilet in the evening so that you can sleep in or else the morning sun will greet you early.

The Manager came round personally during breakfast to assist in planning your day.

Breakfast deserves a mention too. Although you choose breakfast from a menu, you may try the whole list if you can finish it all.

Along the street outside the hotels are shops where bicycles are available for hire.
Walk to the wharf for lovely sunrise & sunset.
Little India alongside Chinese Temples provide stark contrast.

If you are driving, "Waze" takes you to the front entrance but you'd have to get round the back to park your car. The staff happily guide you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7TManager, General Manager at Seven Terraces, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Travelfeet
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It means the world to us when guests write about their experience's at the Seven Terraces Hotel. I note you made mention of the high ceilings and in particular the rain shower, it is a popular feature and is over 12 ft high so the cascade of water is rather like a waterfall. The breakfast in the library lounge includes Malay, Indian , Chinese and Western items and I am delighted that you enjoyed the fact that you can eat your way through the menu.
I really hope we have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future.
Regards
Ewan Taylor
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great restoration of ruined Georgetown terraces. Room superb but in ours we needed to be able to climb quite steep stairs to mezzanine bedroom - worth the climb! Beautifully furnished with antique furniture and amazing attention to detail - a designers delight! Bed very comfortable, downstairs living area spacious and relaxing. Fantastic restaurant on site - dine here even if not staying. Breakfasts to suit taste - very nice indeed. Pool lovely and refreshing. Staff extremely helpful - easily organised a walking tour of Georgetown for us. Lovely little shop on site where we were able to purchase some quality mementos of the area.Staying in this hotel was definitely a highlight of our stay in Penang.

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful but inspect when you get there to make sure it suits you physically.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingWalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at Seven Terraces for seven nights recently and felt so welcome from the moment we arrived. Great is the word for this wonderful place, great position, great atmosphere, great service, great accommodation, nothing was to much trouble, we highly recommend Seven Terraces to anyone going to Georgetown, Penang.
We would like to thank Ewan(GM) Yunn, Faizel,Massi and all the other staff that made our stay an absolute pleasure.
Russ & Roni
Qld, Australia

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Veronica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in this wonderful hotel. Room (Stewart 1) was very good but what makes the Seven Terraces special is the service. Massi and all of the team were amazing from start to finish. Breakfast was excellent and dinner at Kebeya also worth a visit. Great location. Plenty of good things to see and do within a fifteen minute walk. Pay a visit you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,697 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 88 in George Town
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
7.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,769 reviews
2.3 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 88 in George Town
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Terraces

Address: 2-16 Lorong Stewart, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#1 Family Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $131 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven terraces Hotel is a grand row of seven C19th Anglo Chinese terraces. The hotel is situated in one of Penang’s finest and most intact heritage streets which is in the very heart of the World Heritage Site and next door to the 1810 Goddess of Mercy Temple with just a few minutes walk from all the major icons. It successfully captures and celebrates the spirit of this world heritage town and its unique Peranakan culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seven Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Terraces Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing