We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Service”
Review of Seven Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seven Terraces
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Service”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Had a lovely stay in Seven Terraces. Everything is just polished and well considered, without being stuffy. The staff are amazing at what they do - everything is just top notch.

The pool is a bit small but no doubt lovely to use in the hot weather. Afternoon tea is a great way to catch up with other guests and seek their recommendations.

The in-house restaurant is lovely as well, if you want a polished version of local Penang food.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwimBikeRunGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    89
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
178
396
59
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I had a great 5-night stay here. They are very proud of restoring a group of typical Penang terrace houses to a building that looks and feels delightful. The staff are friendly and helpful well above and beyond the usual. The restaurant is very good, Asian-fusion style, with a slightly quirky wine list (the South African white wine seemed to go best with lively Asian flavours). At the other end of the dining scale, it is a short walk to good hawker stalls on Lebuh Chuliah. Note that, while the hotel address is Lorong Stewart, the actual entrance is in a parallel laneway, something not all taxi drivers are aware of. All of the George Town historic area is easily walkable from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Where to begin with Seven Terraces? The building itself is a restored Chinese mansion and is really amazing; all of the original architectural features that make these kinds of places so unique have been kept and are a highlight. The attention to detail and the cleanliness of the place cannot be faulted.

The location is directly behind St George's Church and is convenient to most of the attractions in Georgetown. Nothing seemed more than a short walk away and we were surprised the number of times we found ourselves literally around the corner from Seven Terraces after a day of sightseeing.

We stayed in a two storey (mezzanine) Stewart Lane Suite which was spacious and decorated with period pieces. The terrace doors and shuttered windows have been retained throughout which was nice and a small complimentary minibar and tea and coffee making facilities were also provided. The air conditioning was brutally efficient (just the way I like it) and Wi-Fi and breakfast were included in the room charge which is always welcome. Breakfast is a la carte and includes fresh juice and a fruit salad as standard. Everything on the menu was delicious so you can't really go wrong.

The antiques and objects placed in the room were very nice but the choice of decor did make the room feel a bit sparse and this was particularly evident in the bedroom. For a luxury boutique hotel I guess I expected a bit more of a feeling of plushness. Also be aware that the beds are quite firm so if you prefer a softer mattress ask at reception for an additional pillow top for the bed.

The bathroom was nuts and is a single long tiled room with a vanity at one end, the toilet at the other and a rainfall shower in the middle. Might be a little awkward for a twin share but we loved it!

If you are planning a trip to Penang give Seven Terraces a go, it is well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed 3 nights at 7 Terraces and we really enjoyed our stay there. The team was very helpful in giving us recommendations on the places to see. When my fiancé was down with food poisoning, they not only called to find a clinic which was open on a Sunday, they even drove us there & waited while he sought treatment. They also cooked porridge for both of us later that evening even though that's not on the menu and it was way past their room service hours. Thank you to the attentive team who made our stay a very memorable one! We look forward to returning to 7 terraces for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cy_t2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

A property thoroughly a class of its own in terms of overall ambiance & exceptional service. Checked in was quick and breezy & I was assigned to the spacious Argos suite. What I liked about the room was the super firm mattress & the viewing balcony which could be accessed directly from the bedroom. Service was quick and attentive.

What they could improve on is on the soft furnishings in the living area which I found rather spartan and unfurnished. I feel that the rooms lacked warmth 1st due to the height of the ceiling and the empty white walls which could have been easily camouflaged if they had some from of drapes. Then the rooms will have more sense of warmth and intimacy. For the price they are charging I had expected at least a sound-dock to connect my i-pod for some pipe in music within the vicinity of the room. And the position of the TV right smack on the wall above the wooden chaise was totally unexpected and a nuisance as I manage to smack my head every time I sit there.

What they lacked in the rooms, the front liners made up for it by being genuinely warmth and caring. I like the way they treat all the guests. Complimentary breakfast is great and nutritous and the Kebaya restaurant serves an elegant nyoya-thai dinner which was truly delicious. I liked how the antique gift shop was curated & displayed and the selection is truly magnificent esp for collectors in antique straits porcelain-ware. All in all I enjoyed my stay at the terraces & thumbs up to the staff for ensuring that!

Room Tip: The Argus Lane Suits will have a picturesque balcony with views of the church and other historical b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel is a stunningly beautiful oasis in the centre of the UNESCO World Heritage Site. The rooms are spotless, wonderfully furnished and equipped with everything a traveller needs. And the food in the Kebaya Restaurant is some of the best you will find in Asia or indeed anywhere. Service is unobtrusive but exemplary and a stay at the Seven Terraces is an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: There was no fitness centre or spa in this hotel although there is a small pool. This does not in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed with family over Christmas week

++++
Beautiful hotel.. wonderful renovation job
Spacious and well appointed rooms
Relaxed and intimate ambience in the courtyard and common areas
Homely feel to the place.. great for families
Excellent breakfast menu
Delicious restaurant to indulge in
Most historic sites are at walking distance from hotel
Very friendly and efficient staff. Ewan took great care of the guests.

Can't think of anything to complain about...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milou V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,578 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#11 of 84 in George Town
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#6 of 84 in George Town
885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#7 of 84 in George Town
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Terraces

Property: Seven Terraces
Address: 2-16 Lorong Stewart, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#1 Family Hotel in George Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven terraces Hotel is a grand row of seven C19th Anglo Chinese terraces. The hotel is situated in one of Penang’s finest and most intact heritage streets which is in the very heart of the World Heritage Site and next door to the 1810 Goddess of Mercy Temple with just a few minutes walk from all the major icons. It successfully captures and celebrates the spirit of this world heritage town and its unique Peranakan culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seven Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Terraces Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing