We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis”
Review of Seven Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seven Terraces
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Pros
(1) Beautiful renovated hotel with pretty antique furniture.
(2) Food was very good. Room rate includes western breakfast which was good. There is a restuarant that serves peranakan food with a western interpretation. Very original and well done. Chef is obviously talented.
(3) Room was big. Good value considering size of room.
(4) Excellent hotel map with suggested walks and stalls/resturants to try.
(5) Cosy bar with nice cocktails.
(6) Small swimming pool for a refreshing afternoon swim.
(7) Free afternoon tea.

Cons
(1) Rooms at Stewart lane side can be nosiy. The piano from the downstairs restaurant can be heard at night, and in the morning, there is traffic noise in that there are motorbikes. It is quiet in the middle of the night as the road outside is just a one lane road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kallang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 863 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

The wonderful:
It's a beautifully restored property done in the classiest way possible. It was the perfect place to take pictures with my camera and lenses.
The toilet was impressive. What looked like a previous balcony was transformed into a gigantic toilet with a nice rain shower in the centre. No bathtubs here though.
The privacy was great. Small number of rooms ensured peace and tranquility.
Service was excellent and personal. However, not much of the other legendary stuff others wrote about. Eg no cut fruits at the pool, addressing us by name etc. They certainly needed to check our room number. But it was a very high standard nonetheless.

The nit-picking.
As in all boutique hotels, there were small details which made it less than perfect.
We arrived very late at night and didn't inform them of this. We went to the stated address on Stewart Lane but that entrance was closed at 10 pm. We had to call and be redirected to the main entrance on a small lane. Did not help that it rained. No shelter from the car to the entrance but they thoughtfully used umbrellas to shield us.
The aircon in the room was blowing directly at the bed. Needed some adjustments to it to prevent cool air from blowing right at our faces.
The hot water supply in the shower was on and off. By the time I took my turn, it was a bit cold. Not too great especially after getting caught in the rain.
It is a restored conservation house. There will be creaking of floor panels and sounds of door closing etc. We expected this and it was ok to us.

Overall I debated between 4 and 5 for the ratings but taking everything into consideration, including relative cost compared to the other hotels in Penang, I had to give it a 4 but almost 5 rating. The proof of the pudding is that we will still go back for another stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singap0reTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I'm convinced that Seven Terraces is utterly unique! There is no other boutique hotel in Asia quite like it and I don't think there ever will be.

Its owners (these guys were integral in its design, its finishing, its entire outlook) should stand tall and be counted, because this is an exceptional renovation that just keeps adding to the experience of staying, eating or drinking here.

That the entire hotel is filled with the most beautiful antiques is just another reason I love the place. That its central to everything in George Town, yet another, that it has an ubber cool swimming pool, yet another. I also love the fact that you can sit in its restaurant and watch the rain filling central courtyard, which is open to the elements, and then watch it slowly drain away, just as the original owners would have done over 100 years ago.

I actually love this hotel and there are so many aspects that keep me coming back. One last note, its bar. If you are looking for a 1930's bar experience, this is it. If you don't stay here, and you are doing yourself a disservice if you don't, go for a few drinks and soak up its atmosphere. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Its all good, have no fear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a pleasure to discover such a beautiful hotel, in the heart of of historic Georgetown. The renovation of this old Colonial mansion is astonishingly beautiful. Every little touch, every door, every mirror, every cornice has been thought through meticulously, and the result is an extraordinary small luxury hotel.

We stayed for 2 nights and only wish, in retrospect, we could have stayed longer. Our room was perfectly appointed, breakfast was delicious, the communal areas (including the pool) are exceptional, and the whole hotel oozes calm, and class.

It was a thrill to be there, and we would recommend the hotel wholeheartedly. When so much of our trip in Asia was spent in big 5* hotels swarming with people, it was such a treat to be one of the select few who were able to enjoy everything this perfect little hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GioBoccaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from three nights in Penang with my partner and her fairly demanding parents, who are unused to boutique hotels in heritage buildings. Overall, a delightful stay with a few unaccountable glitches smoothly resolved by superb management. Breakfast fabulous. I will be back.

Room Tip: If you require a bathtub, then you need to book one of the Grand Apartments. Note that the bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WalkJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with the most wonderful service, and you don't have to pay an arm and a leg for it. Here you are known by your name. When you call reception, you do not say your room no, you tell them your name. When we came back with our shopping, 4 people came to take it to our room. When you sit at the pool, a glass of water and cut oranges is automatically places next to you.
We stayed here for 3 nights. The first was in the duplex Stanley Suite. We found it a bit inconvenient and not so practical because the toilet was downstairs and the upstairs is wooden flooring which makes a lot of noise and shakes the bed when you walk, so you can disturb your friend. And no one really wants to walk down the steep stairs in the middle of the night to go to the toilet. So the next day we asked for the single storey Stanley Suite and it was given. We loved it.
The bathroom is huge...too big! Bed is very comfortable and I had the most wonderful sleep.The receptionist organised a trishaw that took us to the heritage areas. The trishaw guy has his own commentary which is not in the brochures. Absolutely loved it. So much that 2 days later we went for an even longer ride, and brought more friends!
Restaurant does not serve the best food, but the service was very good. Well, I am local so perhaps I am too fussy. For foreigners it should be ok. Waitress was very friendly and told us to order 3 sets for 4 people, and even that was too much! Because we had 3 sets, we could only order 3 desserts and couldn't decide which and she gave us the 4th for free. Thank you! Told you the service was good...
Have already recommended this place to many friends, and yes I will return!

Room Tip: Choose a single storey room. Some rooms face the pool and the quiet lane, but its not a big deal if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joycechoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a recent getaway from Singapore. This is an amazingly beautiful and romantic hotel. The service was first-rate! 5-star quality! The restaurant had an amazing dinner service. I have never rated a stay at a hotel before. This experience set an extremely high bar. You can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FussyFart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gentaylorPenang, General Manager at Seven Terraces, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear FF

Thank you so much for your review. For a new private boutique hotel with just 16 suites it means the world to us when guests enjoyed their stay so much that they take time out of their busy lives to write a review. I will pass on your kind words to our staff. We would love to see you again but hopefully for longer than just one night next time as Penang as so much to offer.

Best regards
Ewan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,660 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 87 in George Town
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#13 of 87 in George Town
472 reviews
7.2 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.3 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 87 in George Town
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Terraces

Address: 2-16 Lorong Stewart, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#1 Family Hotel in George Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $130 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven terraces Hotel is a grand row of seven C19th Anglo Chinese terraces. The hotel is situated in one of Penang’s finest and most intact heritage streets which is in the very heart of the World Heritage Site and next door to the 1810 Goddess of Mercy Temple with just a few minutes walk from all the major icons. It successfully captures and celebrates the spirit of this world heritage town and its unique Peranakan culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seven Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Terraces Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing