We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Architectural Jewel”
Review of Seven Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seven Terraces
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at the double-storey Steward Lane Suite of Seven Terraces for two nights. The experience was fantastic. The hotel has definitely achieved one of its objectives (as stated somewhere in a booklet) to make guests feel like they are staying in a rich friend's mansion, instead of a hotel.

Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Peranakan food at the Kebaya restaurant in the hotel was good. Some of the dishes, such as their Gula Melaka Mousse, came in a stunningly beautiful presentation. The Bababar is another cool (chic and air-con!) and pleasant spot to sit and relax on a handsome leather couch and sip a chilled fruit juice (or alcohol) in one of the hot afternoons.

Enough has been said about how beautifully decorated the hotel suites are. The rain shower and bathroom that took over the "enclosed balcony space" was cleverly planned and a nice touch. Motion sensors automatically switch the bathroom light on and off so that one does not need to look for a switch in darkness. All doors and windows in the suite come in an external layer of adjustable timber louvred door panels and an internal layer of air-tight door panels with half-frosted-half-clear glass (or probably acrylic) for air-conditioning - in my opinion a lovely feature for the guests to truely embrace and experience how the traditional locals built their houses with smart architectural features like these to really fine-tune the amount of daylight, ventilation and privacy one requires at different times of the day.

It is difficult to imagine a more pleasant experience staying in an architectural jewel like Seven Terraces located right in the middle of Georgetown I will be returning to Seven Terraces for my next trip in Penang. : )

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duriantea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 882 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were a group of three, and we stayed at the hotel for one night. We arrived early and upon our early arrival the hotel quickly accommodated to our needs and gave us an excellent room earlier than check in time. The location is excellent, it is not on a busy street, which creates a quiet and comfortable atmosphere. The hotel has a stunning collection of antique furniture used in the room, and the architecture of the place is so well crafted and beautifully displayed. The hotel also provides tea time everyday which was so pleasant and peaceful. Special thanks to Ewan the manager and the excellent staff Dinesh, Jenny, Siva who made it feel like home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LamiaAziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gentaylorPenang, General Manager at Seven Terraces, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Ms Aziz
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your children, I especially enjoyed our chat at daily tea time in the pool lounge. We host this every day and offer a Malaysian treat such as : Kuih , which are bite sized snacks made from glutinous rice or Apam Balik, which are pancakes with a South East Asian flair. I hope we get to see you and your family at the Seven Terraces again soon!
Warm regards
Ewan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I think everything that needs to be said has already been said. A beautiful hotel. Ewan and his staff are doing a wonderful job. Restaurant extremely good. Location ideal. We loved this place, stunning comfortable rooms. Hope to return.

Room Tip: We were in one of the Argus rooms. Really don't think it matters which type of room you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Seven Terraces is very different from other hotels... and the entrance is off a small alley. However once you arrived its like stepping back in time, or arriving into a rich man's private residence. Stunning oriental courtyard and oriental rooms with a touch of modern amenities. Bathroom is interesting and the loft bedroom can be a bit warm as well. However this is such a unique experience and you can walk out and explore the town on foot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QTSBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have visited Penang few times. This is the first time that we have stayed in seven Terraces hotel. The hotel is nicely decorated, with a strong oriental retro style. The rooms are absolutely stunning. Right in the middle of George Town, we can access to other cafes and restaurants easily. The services are good, the restaurant in the hotel serves high standard fusion Nonyang food. Everything is perfect

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harumi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our party of four stayed in several rooms at Seven Terraces, Georgetown last week, and were transported back to a more gracious, relaxed era. In some ways, time stood still the moment which strolled into the lobby which gave onto a narrow lane which the motorist or even pedestrian could be excused for overlooking.

The spacious lobby exuded understated elegance and taste, while its lofty, spacious dimensions were like a rush of fresh air in the lungs. The owner had spared no effort in decorating it with ancient masterpieces culled from Penang's architectural and decorative heritage. But everything was pared down to the quintessence of refinement. There were no signs of the exuberance colours so beloved of Peranakans, with their riot of pink, mauve, cobalt, celadon, yellow, crimson. What the visitor saw were old carved doors, screens, tables and chairs of aged wood, gilded motifs and marbled landscapes.

For a hotel with merely 16 bedrroms and suites, the public areas were generous to a fault. Yet, the owner was right to have resisted the temptation to carve out more rooms in favour of flowing space and generous proportions inundated by light and circulating air. No effort was spared in rendering every corner and perspective impeccable in proportion, line and elegance. The ultimate tribute I can pay the hotel is to say that I wished I lived in such a home.

As if to match the perfection of the appearance, the quiet staff, all dressed in black, like benevolent moving shadows from the past, provided smiling, unhurried service. Breakfast, served in an open sitting room, was excellent. But it was outdone by the dinner, where the delicious local Peranakan food was prepared using European culinary traditions.

If I had to find a fault, it was with the idiosyncratic bathroom downstairs ( almost all the rooms are double-storey suites ), with the rainforest shower ( not enclosed at all ) was inconveniently placed immediately upon entering the long bathroom, with the basin and the toilet at the two ends. The shower should have been located at one end of the room, to prevent wet feet or wet shoe soles.

Room Tip: Choose a room that also has a toilet on the upper floor where the bed is located, as otherwise the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5_starhotellover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had an Argus suite for four nights. Amazing hotel in the heart of Georgetown. We walked to most of the local attractions, and used the pool to cool down when we got back. Aircon in the room was 100% effective when you needed it and we spent many hours on our upstairs balcony. Main bathroom downstairs was huge. Friendly service from 1st enquiry by email to airport drop off. We booked our room direct with Seven Terraces. Staff throughout the hotel couldn't do enough for us and were always smiling. Our bed was very comfortable. The entire hotel has so much character and is always quiet.
This hotel deserves to be fully booked all the time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vitoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 87 in George Town
3,729 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 87 in George Town
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
7.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#7 of 87 in George Town
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Terraces

Address: 2-16 Lorong Stewart, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $134 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven terraces Hotel is a grand row of seven C19th Anglo Chinese terraces. The hotel is situated in one of Penang’s finest and most intact heritage streets which is in the very heart of the World Heritage Site and next door to the 1810 Goddess of Mercy Temple with just a few minutes walk from all the major icons. It successfully captures and celebrates the spirit of this world heritage town and its unique Peranakan culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seven Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Terraces Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing