We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic luxury in Georgetown”
Review of Seven Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seven Terraces
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Seven Terraces is a recently renovated (perhaps rebuilt is a better term) row of Chinese houses. It's owners, who are happy to share their enthusiasm for Georgetown and its world heritage architectural gems, have recreated the feel of a wealthy Chinese traditional house with antique furniture and decor. The rooms are arranged around an open balcony and are quite unconventional. Downstairs is a large, high ceiling living room and the main bathroom. Upstairs in a generous sized bedroom, a small toilet and basin and a balcony upstairs. This arrangement created some challenges initially, but eventually we evolved a system which made the suite practical, although there were many unnecessary trips up and down the steep staircase in the first day or so.

The hotel has a small pool which was perfect for relaxing around with a book or for cooling off after walking around in the heat of Georgetown. Breakfast is served in the 'library', a room open to the fresh air and dinner is available at Kebaya Restaurant. All staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were spotless.

Room Tip: If you aren't happy climbing stairs to bed choose one of the rooms on one level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZephyrCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 879 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

The 7 Terraces Inn lies in the middle of the Georgetown section of Penang. Its entrance is down a narrow walled road (think alley) closed in by adjacent buildings. The first impression has one wondering whether this was a mistake to stay here for the next 3 nights. However, upon the door opening, it was clear we were about to capture a glimpse of an ancient Chinese court yard compound complete with antiques or replicated antiques, cool tiled floors and a stunning court yard that begs to be photographed.

We were shepherded into a small elevator to ride one floor up, then down the corridor, to a door secured by a bolt that had to be unlocked with a real key. The double doors opened, revealing a huge high ceiling room decorated more for style than function. Squarely opposite the TV screen were comfortable chairs to sit in while the AC blew cold air directly at the chairs. The small antique desk lacked a chair to make lap top computer usage quite an inconvenience.
After some major movement of furniture, the desk had a chair; the comfortable chairs in front of the blasting cold air were separated to be able to enjoy an indirect refreshing breeze. The bedroom was accessed by climbing a long and steep set of stairs, which made keeping suitcases in the bedroom problematic. Luggage was stored on the couch just below the TV and AC. We went to the bedroom only to sleep even though a nice balcony was off the bedroom.

The shower was a delight as the water fell right down from a height of 10 meters or so.
We completely destroyed the original appearance but we were able to create a solid functional living space for ourselves.

Outside our room was a small pool, a great bar and restaurant that required reservations even if you stayed at the inn. We found the food to be excellent as well as the drinks and wine. A live piano player provided just the right atmosphere for dining. We never considered eating outside the inn.

From a less than impressive first view of the 7 Terraces, we came to enjoy the place very much and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel since a couple of weeks and I must say that I have never stayed in a better hotel in my life - and I have stayed in many first class hotels.
The rooms are outstanding in design and furniture, there is a light filled bathroom, an elegant living room and a perfect sleeping room in the Argus suite. A small terrace gives view on the St. George's church. The whole inner court has a Zen like appearance and is peaceful. The staff is very courteous and always smiling and eager to help. Ewan, the hotel manager goes the extra mile to make the stay in the hotel and Penang a great pleasure and Prakkash and his staff looks after you in the restaurant.
The Peranakan antiques shown all over the hotel, a private collection of one of the owners, are outstanding.
And once you leave the quiet atmosphere of the hotel you are in the center of a lively Georgetown, with Buddhist temples, Little India just minutes away.
What a stylish place with a perfect design into the smallest details. All the hotel has e.g. universal plugs; the hunt for clumsy adaptors is over.
Would I have one wish or two, it would be a faster internet and a gym for work out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfsthurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Beautiful designs from the Straits Chinese era coupled with a nice courtyard makes this a pretty, private and cosy 16-suite hotel. Enjoyable piano bar with black and white tiles make it a good respite and a wonderful throwback of an age gone by. Service is generally very good and the staff are usually smiling. The hotel creates a fantastic first impression if one just glosses over it however, when one starts to look at details, the list will be a long one!

The Stewart Suite we stayed in felt "bare" although the space was wonderfully large. Split into two levels, the lounge is downstairs while the bedroom area is at upstairs in a loft style that overlooks into the lounge area. The problem is that the bathroom, dressing table and the mini wardrobe (coupled together with a minibar) are all located downstairs. That means that one has to climb down the very steep stairs to the toilet, dressing table and wardrobe. Imagine going to the toilet at night from bed!

At the same time, the pillows were awful without much support. Although the hotel only had one type of pillows, one of the staff by the name of Maxim suggested folded blankets to support the pillows instead. That helped our sleep tremendously for the rest of our stay. Strangely, the mattress was smaller (with a gap big enough to tuck a pillow between the mattress and headboard) than the bed frame it was in.

At the same time, the bathroom is a long one with the WC tucked in the left corner while the wash basin is in the right corner. Smack in the middle is the shower with a wonderful rain shower head however, it is very close to the bathroom door and that makes it a wet affair every time anyone steps into the bathroom. To cap it, the bathroom floor has an uneven incline to the floor trap.

While the staff service is very good, I am really hesitant to stay at the hotel again in the future. The final straw was that the hotel did not accept Amex cards for payment.

Overall, I feel that 7 Terraces has missed a great opportunity to be a great escape, no thanks to the impractical room layout, including the lackadaisical afterthought furniture arrangement. Perhaps, it would make much more sense to have the lounge upstairs and the bed downstairs instead for a start, so that the sleeping area is close to the bathroom, dressing table and wardrobe.

Oh yes, the address says Stewart Lane but that entrance is usually locked until 14:00hrs as that is when the bar opens. The main entrance is supposedly at Argus Lane but if one looks it up on the map, it points to another lane close by. This narrow main entrance lane has no road signs at all!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Boon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gentaylorPenang, General Manager at Seven Terraces, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Mr Boon

Thank you for taking the time in writing your review and for your positive comments regarding the beautiful design of the hotel , very good service and the smiling staff.
I would however like to address a few points of yours that might mislead other guests .

Our King Koil pillow covers are 300 thread count and our pillows are top quality and still new , I understand from your comment that you must be used to hard pillows and were expecting hard pillows and I am sorry that you found them soft , pillows are indeed a very personal requirement. Guests relaxation is of the utmost importance to us and as such we do now have slightly more firm pillows.
Our mattresses are King size and the Chinese bed frames are made to fit the original antique Indonesian Peranakan bed carvings that we are proud to have affixed onto every bed . Some frames might be larger than others due to the unique size that the carvings have.

The bathrooms have 3 sets of double doors, one leading into the shower area, another into the WC area and the last pair into the area where the wash basin is located. Opening these individual screens would have allowed you to walk into the different sections without getting your feet wet. Again, I wish you had brought this to our attention as we would have very happily assisted you to open the doors. The floor of the bathroom has a very gentle slope towards the shower area so that the shower water can escape to the drain, this is perfectly normal .
We are awaiting our Amex credit card machine to arrive and hope to have this up and running very soon. I m sorry it was not available for your use.
I understand that the small Georgetown lanes confused you, it is unfortunate that the council has still not put any road marking up and that local maps are not very accurate , this does cause some confusion which we are looking into , but I hope you understand that this is not not under our control . When booking confirmation is given by the hotel to those guests who book directly , we also send an informative driving map to show them how to drive to our hotel parking area as well as hotel information that refers to the fact that we have not in the past been able to accept Amex cards.
The Stewart Lane entrance, which is behind the Goddess of Mercy temple, ( Penang's oldest Chinese temple ) , is very well sign posted , we take up an entire block of nine houses which makes it very easy to identify our location. The Stewart Lane entrance is manned all day and our staff are on duty to open and close the doors for guests on both sides of the hotel.
I do wish you had come to us and allowed us to assist you with the issues you had during your stay with us as we would have been able to so easily help you and make your holiday a better one ,which is what our main aim is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked directly through the hotel and stayed for 3 nights in a two level stewart lane suite. The rooms were extremely spacious and the shower was an experience! We thought it was a balcony but then realised that the shower head was right at the ceiling. As the ceilings are 3 metres high, the downside is that the water can go everywhere.

Location was good. You tend to walk everywhere and the staff are happy to help you with places to go and ordering taxis.

Breakfast was good but we didn't really enjoy the dinner for the price we paid.

all in all, would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a very nice and charming hotel. Located centre in the Georgetown, near to many attractive places such as Khoo Kongsi, Goddess of Mercy Temple, Pinang Peranakan Mansion and Chong Fatt Tze Mansion. Hotel staffs are very friendly n helpful. We stayed in the Stewart Lane suite which is very spacious and clean. It made me felt very comfortable and just like staying at your own home. It is worth to stay in this hotel!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank TravelCatY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Arriving at a row of shophouses at Lebuh Steward, we were quite impressed by the facade of the shophouse rows where the hotel is located.
However, upon entering, my family and I (3 elderly, my husband and I) were awed by the inner courtyard. This is a glam shophouse hotel, restored with loving care to its Peranakan glory. A lot of details were given to this small yet homely and cosy place.
Ewan, the GM greeted us personally and his staff (Yunn and co) did all they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

We have booked 2 Steward Suites which are duplex rooms. The sleeping rooms are upstairs and you will need to climb a narrow stairs to get to your bed. Given the fact that my MIL could not walk without the aid of a walking stick, Ewan kindly upgraded my PILs plus my dad to a Steward apartment, which is a family suite with 2 bathrooms and 2 extra beds on one level which is just awesome!

My husband and I left our passports and documents in the safe and drove off to Trengganu (over 500km away East). Ewan and Yunn kindly arranged for the courier of our documents to our next destination and even did not charge us for the courier fee. This is such a lovely gesture from them, with a personal touch and I just want to thank you guys again for everything.

Seven Terraces is my first choice of accommodation when I come to Penang again, no doubt about it. The personal touch, Ewan and team, it feels like a big family and see you again!!! :-)

Cheers
Angie

Room Tip: Steward Suitess are split into 2 categories - first is a duplex room where the beds are upstairs. 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angietrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,725 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 87 in George Town
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
7.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#7 of 87 in George Town
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Terraces

Address: 2-16 Lorong Stewart, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#1 Family Hotel in George Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $135 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven terraces Hotel is a grand row of seven C19th Anglo Chinese terraces. The hotel is situated in one of Penang’s finest and most intact heritage streets which is in the very heart of the World Heritage Site and next door to the 1810 Goddess of Mercy Temple with just a few minutes walk from all the major icons. It successfully captures and celebrates the spirit of this world heritage town and its unique Peranakan culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seven Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Terraces Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing