We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don t judge a book by its cover ! Good stay and value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Noble Villa Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Noble Villa Apartment
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
584 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
“Don t judge a book by its cover ! Good stay and value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

All the reviews written below are fair and accurate. Given I m a prolific traveller whom stayed in no star to 5 stars you can expect me to write it "as it is". Here goes:

1. outside appearance does not appeal esp the estastics of the condo. There is a residential and only a few units are leased out by investors whom don t live in the condo. The condo is managed by a property management company whom will attend to your check in and check out. There is thus no concierge or before or after work hours service.

2, The unit is fully air-conditioned with furnishings and amenties but note Penang is a food haven and there is little need to eat in when there is so much delicious Penang hawker food to fancy cuisine.

3. The apartment is clean enough for my wife, whom cannot stand having dirty linens or floor. Here the floor is clean and smooth and you don t need to wear shoes or socks.

4. Toilets/Showers in 2 rooms (one en-suite) and water pressure is good (has hot water too).

5. Lounge has a good couch with box cable tv with chinese, indian, malay and news channels. Dinning table and crockery provided.

6. 3 rooms fit 5 well. Quite roomy !

Any minuses ?

1. some common areas outside apartment are unkempt with unwanted furniture. Beyond the control of management co,

2. may not be easy to find a cab outside the apartment !

3. not that near to shops as far as our eyes can see, you may need to walk out further... there is no sidewalk so beware of traffic (one way). However a church and a hospital a few doors away.

4. may cost you RM20- 30 to take a cab to Gurney drive or Straits shopping centre. Taxis don t go by meters in Penang. The roads in Penang are "one way only" in many parts of town around here eg Burmah Road, Macquarie, if you are from out of town you are better off with a GPS - those without esp foreigners will find it hard to navigate the roads in Penang. If you are here over the super long weekend it ll be horrific driving.

5, there is no pretty sea or mountain views outside your windows so don t expect much other than tacky looking neigboring apartments. However you don t really need views as badly as decent beds and a central staging point to travel around.

6. management co don t accept credit card for payment only cash so be forewarned despite Booking,com taking your credit card details

I paid RM370 per nite for 3 rooms for my group of 5 and I m satisfied overall. If you are in a group/ family of 5, this place is ideal (but don t expect luxurious décor) and if you drive (taxis can fit 5 btw).

Trust you don t have a bad stay...let the rest TA travellers know if you do !!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Easily accessible to all the attractions and very near to town centre provided you have your own transport. Most importantly, not only the unit we stayed but the whole apartment is very clean & well maintained. It’s a furnished and spacious unit with fully functional kitchen, WIFI, swimming pool, gym, shaded car park and guarded. Other facilities such as, washing machine, hair dryer, iron & ironing board also available in the unit.

Need to settle the whole payment for the duration of the stay during Check-In and extra RM200 will be charged as Security Deposit. The Security Deposit will be refunded upon Check-Out.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for family or group travellers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrangeGerbera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Superb price/performance for large family. Spacious 3 room apartment with enormous sitting room and kitchen, functioning fridge, washing machine and balcony for hang drying. I did not try the stove, though; but there is no need to cook because of sooo many good and cheap places to eat nearby. Right in the middle of Georgetown and very convenient (a Malaysian friend stayed with us and drove us everywhere. It will be a bit difficult to drive yourself or take public transport).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lai Luk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

At first, I was a bit not sure about the condition of apartment before we check in. After Jensy show us around, we are super satisfy with the unit we stay, we are staying at 3A-3A.

It is great value, clean, every utensil we need is right there, even a washing machine.

The apartment is near to Georgetown and so convenient for us to visit around murals in Georgetown.

Besides, Jensy is very detail and friendly, she even brought me a extra hair dryer when I requested 1-2 weeks in advance, I was so impress that she still remember.

I will highly recommend this apartment for family trip who would like to have a great value, low budget, clean apartment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliaWoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in 3 BR condo for 7 pax (fifth floor). We booked by contacting Linda from www.haisoonprop.com.

Check In
This is an apartment. So dont expect lobby or receptionist in this place. In arrival, I contacted Ms Teoh that also lived in that apartment to take us the room. All payment must be paid in front + refundable RM 200 for security deposit. For late check in (after 6 PM) you must pay additional RM 50 :( Late check out up to 6 PM you must pay 50% of room rates.

Room
Overall, cleanliness is great and room is spacious. But you must pay additional charge RM 35 for housekeeping service (if you want). There are 3 BR in this condo :
1. Main BR with queen bed & ensuite bathtub & shower bathroom with heater (the room spacious enough but the bed is so hard)
2. 2nd BR with twin comfy single bed
3. 3rb BR with one comfy single bed
4. Additional two single bed in living room. They used 2 single bed as sofa in living room. So you can convert into bed room in night.
5. Share bathroom with shower & heater

All room incl living room equipped with enough air con to make you comfy in hot weather of Penang. Main BR aircon quite old & noisy.

Facility
1. Dining table complete for 4 pax complete with essential dining needs.
2. Microwave
3. Refrigerator
4. Washing Machine
5. Kitchen sink with hold & cold water
6. LCD TV in living room with limited cable channel
7. WiFi with acceptable speed
8. Private car park
9. Standard swimming pool

Location
Strategically in Jalan Macalister, just beside Ghee Hiang store, 5 minutes walk to Sin Kim Sun Coffee Shop & various hawker food in Macalister. 15-30 minutes walk to Komtar.

Baby needs
We traveled with our 8 months baby. With additional RM 30 / night. They provide baby chair, baby cot, baby tub and baby pot. Its really helped us a lot.

Note : Penang pedestrian, street and hawker food place is not a baby stroller friendly. Some restaurant provide high chair.

Overall, we satisfy with this condo and recommended for big group family travelling with baby.

Room Tip: There is only 1 unit that suit for 7 pax (3 BR condo).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryaNinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jazzer4
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed (4 adults) in a three bedroomed apartment at Noble Villa, and though it wasn't the best standard we've had in this part of the world (see my review of 'The Silk' in Bangkok), it was generally nice and well maintained. Good wifi, TV, gated security, swimming pool etc. Kitchen is decently if not spectacularly equipped, nice living room with lots of natural light.

There were some problems, the biggest being that there were no reading lights in any of the bedrooms, which is a first for me. When we said it to the lady who runs the apartment she got a standard lamp for one of the rooms, which alleviated the problem in that room but none of the others. There are very few plugs in the rooms, so nowhere to plug in extra lights either.

The other irritating thing was that on arrival we were told that if we paid by credit card there was an extra 3% charge because we were using an 'international' credit card. This was never mentioned on the booking site (Asiarooms), though that may have been rectified. We also were asked for a 200 Ringgit deposit against breakages - no problem in itself, but again not mentioned in advance. Not a good way to start the vacation. The people were nice though, and did give us a refund on something they'd overcharged us for - something they spotted, not us. So I don't mean to imply any kind of scam, maybe they're just more used to dealing with the domestic market.

Georgetown is an interesting place, but has by far the worst traffic I've ever seen in Asia - and that's saying something! It's the biggest problem about staying there - getting around. There are buses, but they're given no priority, so they're stuck in the endless traffic jams along with everyone else. As are taxis. We hired a car for the duration, and I do believe this is the only decent option for staying there - yes you get stuck in traffic, but at least you're not dependent on taxis, you have AC, and you can get out of town easily enough and see Penang island.

Georgetown has great food, interesting history and buildings, great shopping, but appalling traffic.

Room Tip: Rooms themselves are fine, just no reading or bed lights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jazzer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
One Pacific Hotel & Serviced Apartment
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.8 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macalister Mansion
Macalister Mansion
#32 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#21 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.3 mi away
Luxfort 118 Service Suites
Luxfort 118 Service Suites
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Tokong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noble Villa Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noble Villa Apartment

Property: Noble Villa Apartment
Address: 220 Jalan Macalister, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 104 Specialty Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Noble Villa Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noble Villa Apartment Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing