We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic birthday dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dining Room - Macalister Mansion

Dining Room - Macalister Mansion
Ranked #84 of 870 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Dining Room offers contemporary French cuisine, with ala-carte and also Tasting menus that changes every few months. The restaurant has 2 private rooms (10-seater and 6-seater). Opens Tuesday to Sunday, from 7.00Pm - 11.00Pm (last order for Kitchen at 10.30Pm) Close on Monday
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Romantic birthday dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Went there with my husband to celebrate our birthday which fall on the same mth. It was a wonderful fine dining experience. We ordered the petit set. I remember there were like 7 courses coming in at our table. Hubby had pan fried miso cod while I had oven baked dover sole as mains. I prefer the miso cod though. Total damage about RM300 plus for two pax. A waitress came to ask would you want some tea after we had the amazing chocolate dessert and we did not remember tea wasn't included in the menu so we got charged for that...around RM12 for the tea and little did we knew we ordered two diff type of tea so that makes RM24...or sumtg like that I roughly remember

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shereenboey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MM_Penang, General Manager at Dining Room - Macalister Mansion, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We thank you for your kind compliments. It's always a great pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We strive to provide excellent service for our guests.
We hope to welcome you back to the Dining Room @ Macalister Mansion soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    28
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful evening out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I had the degustation here while visiting with my fiancée (who is from Penang). Excellent that they have a vegetarian degustation option, which is all too rare unfortunately. The decor is very different from most restaurants I've been to but I found it quite appealing, if very modern- it won't be to some tastes.

The courses were all well presented and delicious, and not too large so that we were both satisfied by the end without being full. I'm not a wine connoisseur but I enjoyed the pairings.


Service was attentive without being overpowering (they were not busy so perhaps that helped) and they promptly brought the bill and ordered a taxi when requested.

Overall great value and a fantastic night out. Would return next time I'm in Penang.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MM_Penang, General Manager at Dining Room - Macalister Mansion, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are very pleased that you had such a wonderful visit. A lot of time and effort goes into designing the experience and we’re delighted that you enjoyed it. It can be very difficult to find good vegetarian food in a restaurant these days- we’re glad you appreciated it. Thank you for taking your time to write this review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Style over substance”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

When you enter the foyer you are met by a rather sterile front desk, the reception staff are efficient but rather frosty, the frosty theme continue throughout, more of that later. The restaurant is dominated by white and hushed tones, the menus are presented in large books with lots of empty pages. My starter of prawns in batter with cauliflower florets had far more batter than prawn, the florets were minuscule and therefore tasteless. The Wagyu beef cheeks were cooked vey well, however the portion was a 200g piece of cheek rather than several smaller slices, this meant the fat content was overpowering and turned a potentially delicious main course into glue, the frosty theme continued in the restaurant with over powering A/C and stark whiteness leaving you wondering if you are sat in an over sized fridge. I will not be returning here again.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MM_Penang, General Manager at Dining Room - Macalister Mansion, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We regret that your experience was not to your liking. In regards to the décor, though we are highly recognized for the design of our establishment, it is not always to everyone’s taste, though we regularly receive positive feedback for our aesthetic quality. In regards to the food, we regret that some parts of the meal you had were not to your liking, however, again we receive a lot of positive feedback on the quality, caliber and unique aspects of our food.
In regards to the reception staff, we agree that your welcome into our establishment should be warm and positive. I will be passing your comments on to the relevant department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth an evening out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

My detailed review is on the hotel page which you are welcome to see. Overall quite a reasonable dining experience, especially the starters.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Westerner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Celebrated mum's birthday in style ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This must be one of the best fine dining venues in Malaysia. They have transformed a run-down heritage mansion into a swanky restaurant hotel and the pictures do do it justice. The dining room is a well executed extension at the back and what a dining room it is. We were a large party of 11 with kids and we're not sure if we would be welcomed but we were. We had the petit tasting menu but it was anything but small - 4 interesting starters /amuse bouche (all except the lemon grass sorbet were excellent), all the mains (eg. steak tender & succulent) were prepared with flair and attention to detail, the dessert was lovely but the petit fours were nothing special. The sommelier chose a perfect Australian red. The only thing I would say is that the staff were attentive but not particularly friendly - perhaps a smile or two and a few words would have made it even better.

Helpful?
Thank comfy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MM_Penang, General Manager at Dining Room - Macalister Mansion, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
The kind comments are very much appreciated. We welcome all clients, younger and older. In regards to the staff, we apologise that their manner was not to your satisfaction, our staff work very hard to provide you with the best service and occasionally small graces get missed, we will work hard to rectify this. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dining Room - Macalister Mansion also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Dining Room - Macalister Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing