We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome & smiles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cintra Heritage House
Ranked #34 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Warm welcome & smiles”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A cosy warmth spreads through this small heritage house, from the moment you check in with the friendly reception to the woody furniture and homely atmosphere that pervades within the compound.

Located in the heart of Georgetown, it was easy to walk almost anywhere and good food not too far away with plenty of choices.

Our room on the 2nd floor was comfortable (not 5* but we were not expecting it for the price), and decorated with authentic pieces and warm tones to make it feel homely. The courtyard was nicely decorated and the dining area offers a sumptous breakfast with local and continental choices. It is not a buffet spread but adequate to suit most appetites.

For a local flavour and a touch of Penang, this is a value for money accomodation that is accessible and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    55
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
16
34
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Delta, BC, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We wanted to stay in a heritage house in the heart of Georgetown. Cintra Heritage House did not disappoint. Our first night we were in a double suite at the front of the building. The noise of vehicles, particularly motorcycles woke us up very early in the morning. A mention to the front desk and we were moved to a deluxe VIP suite at the back of the property at no extra charge. Be forewarned, you will be woken up by a nearby mosque's call to prayer. Very close to all attractions and places to eat. What we will bring back with us is the memory of the friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: As long as you don't mind being woken up by the morning prayers from the mosque close by, reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiLuvsToTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked into this hotel as it was offering a great price. It is next to Chulia Street and fairly convenient place to reach. Lots of good food places located close by. Quite close to bus stops and within walking distance to other locations (KOMTAR, Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion, Chowsrata).

The decor was traditional and the hotel presented as a less expensive heritage accomodation. That said, the furnishings were a simple stylishness. The hotel is still new (opened 1 July 2012).The bed was comfortable and there was 2 pillows per person. The rooms were clean and one had definetely more space than a budget hotel. Towels and basic toiletries were provided and the aircom worked wonderfully on hot Penang afternooons. What I would have liked in the room was a small bar fridge. It would have been helpful to store keep some water and foodstuff cold. It was generally quiet and had little noise from other guests. I could have sat for hours at the chair they had facing out the hotel's main entrance all day if food hadn't called. It was wonderful just watching the world go by. The hotel also runs a cafe/bar that you can have drinks and chill out while wating for the stalls to start business for dinner.

A note: the hotel is near a mosque and the morning calls to prayer are rather loud. After the first morning, I plugged in my headphones and that was that for the next half hour or so. The rest of the time, this did not affect me as I was out till late.

The hotel also runs tours (with car and driver) at reasonable rates. If it is not advertised, you can check with them. There is a minimum number of hours you have to book (4 hours) but it is still very reasonable. Mas and Imran were really helpful and made our stay feel homely.

Lebuh Cintra, where the hotel is located (and named after) is also the location where street walkers of the cross dressing variety used to gather. With the opening of the hotel, 'trade' is not so noticeable but it does still exist. They do not disturb men who are with women and usually do not just approach males passing by on their own. Don't show much interest in them and they'll take their cuse from you. Show them interest and they'll also pick their cues from your 'interested' looks. Otherwise this adds a little interest to the locale.

Given the price, heritage (and decor) and location, this place is hard to beat. While it may not have the same heritage value as the Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion, it is much cheaper (given the promotions), much more avaliable (than the Cheong Fatt Mansion) and definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Cintra Heritage House George Town 25 ringit by taxi from the bus station in Lebuh Cintra or catch a bus 104 ask which 1 goes to town when i arrived here i had no guide book & asked to be taken where the budget hotels were
The taxi driver spoke reasonable English i speak little Malay the Hotel is central to town staff friendly and the upstairs single room absolutely spotless
Built as a open plan plenty of space like a Malay house shutters and ratan roll up blinds sturdy teak furniture and a firm matress air con wi fi hot water & breakfast included
Staff very friendly with information the Guest House / hotel is best i have stayed in Malaysia and after 3 months travelling S.E.Asia in the top 4

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Enjoyable stay in the Cintra Heritage House, excellent location close to everything, friendly staff and good rooms although I do not recommend the downstairs ones as they only have windows to the inside courtyard and feel a bit claustrophobic. I asked to be moved upstairs and it was much better - if you are not too worried by the street noise. Clean facilities, good breakfast, no TV but excellent wifi, good aircond, overall a very pleasant stay. Staff could be a bit more informed to provide guests with shortcuts

Room Tip: I much preferred the room upstairs with windows on the street, the noise is part of the picture in G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewiston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I enjoyed a three-night stay in one of Cintra's standard rooms at the back of the guesthouse. Although there was little natural light, the room was spacious and furnished with lovely solid wood furniture. The room, the bathroom, and all the public area were very comfortable and clean. In the airy upstairs sitting room, there's a computer with free internet access.

Cintra's kitchen turns out some delicious food. I would encourage the guesthouse to always offer the "local breakfast"--nasi lemak--as one of the options for guests who have breakfast included in the price of their stay.

The staff did not provide much "tourist" information, but everyone was very friendly and I learned a lot about local issues from my conversations with them.

This is a thoroughly delightful place to stay with the ferry, shops, restaurants, art galleries, and so on within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lithophrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed at Cintra Heritage House for four nights during a visit to Penang in late December. I found out about this hotel from TripAdvisor, and though it is still pretty new, the reviews so far seemed to indicate that it's a good place to stay among many selections in Georgetown area.

We had six travelers. Initially I booked the room for only two travelers. When a third one was coming, we found out that the hotel did not have any more room available (given it's essentially a guest house/ B&B, they don't have that many rooms available in the first place). We were able to get an extra bed for the room, so three of us could stay there. The other three travelers who joined us very late before the trip ended up staying at a large hotel called Cititel nearby.

The location of the hotel is great as it is close to a major road called Lebuh Chulia w/ public buses passing through there. We used public buses and the CAT shuttle bus to travel around Georgetown and to some areas on the island, and KOMTAR bus station is within 10-15 minute walk from Cintra Heritage House. In the morning, there is a street market at nearby Lebuh Campbell that you can visit for authentic look on how the locals shop. At night, you can find many street food vendors within walking distance (at Lebuh Kimberley, Lebuh Chulia). Upper Penang Road where many of the western tourists go for nightlife (should you prefer that) is also within 15 minute walk.

Coming from Indonesia where we had experience with old Chinese 'Peranakan' style homes owned by our relatives, we could say that they had done great job restoring the building and converting it into a B&B. The architecture and decoration felt authentic, thought there were some quirky setups that may cause western visitors used to more modern lodging choices to be uncomfortable. The bathroom is quite small, and there is no clear separation between the shower area and the toilet area. We also stayed in a room that was facing the street, with wooden window and door that when opened literally would take you to the street. That might be a bit weird or uncomfortable for some people, though in our case it wasn't a problem since we only spent time in our room to rest and freshen up and spending most of our time out and about.

The room is equipped with air conditioner and also a ceiling fan. Much appreciated especially after long days out in the heat.

Breakfast was wonderful; you have a choice of either a traditional Chinese/Malaysian breakfast (we had rice porridge one day, and mee goreng on another) or western style breakfast (eggs cooked to order, toast, and fruits). The coffee was also great.

Staff was very courteous. One of my travel partners had some good chat w/ a staff member who was very friendly and helpful even though he didn't speak Malay and his English was so so.

Overall, I think it was great value for the money, and I would stay at Cintra Heritage House again if I were to visit Penang in the future. Just remember to book well in advance given the limited number of rooms available.

Room Tip: Book well in advance. You can do so online via Agoda, or by calling/emailing the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsetia67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Carnarvon House
Carnarvon House
#2 of 170 in George Town
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Court The Tavern
Chulia Court The Tavern
#33 of 170 in George Town
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armenian House
Armenian House
#30 of 170 in George Town
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ren i Tang
Ren i Tang
#4 of 170 in George Town
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Betel Nut Lodge
Betel Nut Lodge
#6 of 170 in George Town
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
East Indies Mansion
East Indies Mansion
#7 of 170 in George Town
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cintra Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cintra Heritage House

Property: Cintra Heritage House
Address: no 1 Lebuh Cintra, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cintra Heritage House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CINTRA HERITAGE HOUSE- The building are shop houses featuring the Southern Chinese Eclectic style and which was built around 1840 -1900’s and once served as a Hair Dressing Saloon for the Japanese Officers and local administrators of Penang during the Post period from 1940’s – 1960's. Building style features Chinese influences on the carved Timber Doors, Air vents, Air wells, Gable end. European and Indian influence on the Louvered shutters, U or V –shaped terracotta tiles. The Cintra Heritage House occupies 4 link-shop houses that have been beautifully restored by master craftsmen mostly done by hand to what it looks like as of today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cintra Heritage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cintra Heritage House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing