We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Can't sleep, too noisy and theres no TV in the room!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cintra Heritage House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cintra Heritage House
Ranked #30 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Can't sleep, too noisy and theres no TV in the room!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed here last week and I found 3 things that made me wish I was at another hotel. One was the fact that our room was right next to the road and therefore we could hear every vehicle that passed by in the 2 nights that we were there. Secondly, there was not a TV in the room. For those who do not mind this, then maybe its ok, but for the price we paid, we expected at least a small tv to numb the noise from the motorbikes/cars/trucks passing by. Thirdly, breakfast starts at 8am which is late by our standards. One good thing is that the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Please don't choose Room 203 (twin room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rafcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    52
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
16
31
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Alert to all Tourist, Georgetown was not the safe place for traveling, there is Hindu and Malay Robber every way... they see police nothing,

for Tourist who taking photo of Street Wall Art, there is robbers are waiting behind, please take care of your camera, and ladies beg. especially little india street and Chulia Street.

it was just happen on 30 Nov 2012, few cases are report to police station for robbed by motor cyclist.

we hope Pulau Pinang government look into this matter and we wont enter Pulau Pinang Georgetown again until it safe.

for who would like to spend money on Pulau Pinang, pls take note of this.

Hotel was not a issue, service are good. price acceptable, food are great too.

Wish u all, all the best.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank JackeyHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you stay in Penang, you need to stay in a shop house – it’s a big part of the Georgetown experience, and one that is not to be missed. I’ve been to Penang five times, and this is perhaps the best option I have seen in Penang for travelers that aren’t going for complete luxury.

The owner definitely put some extra love making this a very comfortable place to stay while retaining the charm and atmosphere of the old architecture. Everything was very neat and tidy and the breakfast that was included was also a step up from what is typically offered at other places in Penang – decent coffee, bread, eggs, and fruit.

Even though the building is located near a fairly busy street, it is extremely quiet. However, one word of caution – in room 205 you may get woken up by the morning prayer from a nearby mosque. It only lasted 2 or 3 minutes – much shorter than in other parts of Malaysia and Indonesia. Other people in our group who were staying in other rooms didn’t hear it at all however.

The staff is also out of this world as well. They are all extremely friendly and helpful, and definitely go the extra distance to make sure your stay is perfect. But what did it for me was that when I left a nice pair of shoes behind, they shipped them to me internationally (without asking for the payment in advance).

I would recommend Cintra to anyone who is going to Penang for a few days. You won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

A great little renovated Chinese shop house. I stayed there on a quick overnight stopover in Penang. The room was nicely appointed and decorated. The location of the hotel was excellent, as it was right in the heart of Chinatown. The shower had excellent water pressure - a nice change in for South East Asia. The staff were nice and tried hard to please. There were lots of cheap and delicious eats nearby. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This recently renovated hotel, composed of 4 former townhouses right downtown historic Georgetown, is a true jewel. Get an authentic feeling of how living must have been once in this part of the world: shady, cool rooms downstairs, bright and light rooms upstairs, grouped around two courtyards, all nicely renovated and decorated with charm (not a guaranteed quality in Penang's numerous heritage hotels). I liked the small european style restaurant a lot, but the best was the friendly, attentive and very sociable staff, which made my stay a great experience of Malay hospitality. Probably not a first choice for families, this lovely place is definitely a romantic hide-away for singles or couples.

Room Tip: Don't get one of the two ground-floor rooms facing the street, if your very sensible to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giani33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

A great little B & B just a short walk from the Ferry in the old quarter.
Nice friendly little bar with great staff.
A comfortable double room "Elizabeth 102" 105RM.
Nicely furnished with vintage furniture.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I wonder if should call this a hotel or a home. The first thing that struck me when I arrived was the overall atmosphere. If you're looking for true Asian hospitality, then you can't go wrong with the Cintra Heritage House. Typical of a tropical malay home, the atmosphere is zen-like in its calmness. Dark wood, muted lights and greenery from the inner couryard to the bamboo chiks screening the windows of my room, it was perfect. Warm and friendly staff and the clean rooms, made this one of my best stays in Malaysia. The only thing that I think could be improved on is breakfast. Perhaps being relatively new, food is not this hotel's forte. It would have been better if the hotel could have offered simple Asian fare. Nasi lemak or even basic kaya/peanut butter toast with the excellent local Malaysian coffee would have been infinitely better than the weak continental/American coffee and lacklustre scrambled eggs/toast. Wi-fi connections could also be improved and staff could have provided the passwords to guests on check-in. The hotel is located centrally located and within walking distance to Chulia street - the Indian quarter, Masjid Kapitan Keling and Komtar. A pleasant stay overall but some improvements would make it great.

Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Walking distance to Masjid Kapitan Keling, the Mahamariamman temple and Chulia street - the Indian quarter. Pubs and watering holes are located on the opposite street, towards Yeng Keng hotel. For great indian food, head towards Chulia street and the jetty to simple coffee shops. A simple indian breakfast of thosai (rice-flour pancakes) and idlis (steamed rice-cakes) with a variety of curries, chutneys and masala tea cost less than 15 ringgit.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, try to ask for a room at the back. Street noise can be a problem if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shamu06_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Lang Hoose
Lang Hoose
#18 of 170 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carnarvon House
Carnarvon House
#4 of 170 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
B Street Hotel
B Street Hotel
#15 of 170 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Betel Nut Lodge
Betel Nut Lodge
#6 of 170 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reunion Heritage house
Reunion Heritage house
#14 of 170 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armenian Suite
Armenian Suite
#33 of 170 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cintra Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cintra Heritage House

Property: Cintra Heritage House
Address: no 1 Lebuh Cintra, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cintra Heritage House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CINTRA HERITAGE HOUSE- The building are shop houses featuring the Southern Chinese Eclectic style and which was built around 1840 -1900’s and once served as a Hair Dressing Saloon for the Japanese Officers and local administrators of Penang during the Post period from 1940’s – 1960's. Building style features Chinese influences on the carved Timber Doors, Air vents, Air wells, Gable end. European and Indian influence on the Louvered shutters, U or V –shaped terracotta tiles. The Cintra Heritage House occupies 4 link-shop houses that have been beautifully restored by master craftsmen mostly done by hand to what it looks like as of today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cintra Heritage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cintra Heritage House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing