We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cintra Heritage House
Ranked #32 of 169 George Town B&B and Inns
K_Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Short but very pleasant stay”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

A great little renovated Chinese shop house. I stayed there on a quick overnight stopover in Penang. The room was nicely appointed and decorated. The location of the hotel was excellent, as it was right in the heart of Chinatown. The shower had excellent water pressure - a nice change in for South East Asia. The staff were nice and tried hard to please. There were lots of cheap and delicious eats nearby. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    55
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
16
32
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This recently renovated hotel, composed of 4 former townhouses right downtown historic Georgetown, is a true jewel. Get an authentic feeling of how living must have been once in this part of the world: shady, cool rooms downstairs, bright and light rooms upstairs, grouped around two courtyards, all nicely renovated and decorated with charm (not a guaranteed quality in Penang's numerous heritage hotels). I liked the small european style restaurant a lot, but the best was the friendly, attentive and very sociable staff, which made my stay a great experience of Malay hospitality. Probably not a first choice for families, this lovely place is definitely a romantic hide-away for singles or couples.

Room Tip: Don't get one of the two ground-floor rooms facing the street, if your very sensible to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giani33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
518 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

A great little B & B just a short walk from the Ferry in the old quarter.
Nice friendly little bar with great staff.
A comfortable double room "Elizabeth 102" 105RM.
Nicely furnished with vintage furniture.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I wonder if should call this a hotel or a home. The first thing that struck me when I arrived was the overall atmosphere. If you're looking for true Asian hospitality, then you can't go wrong with the Cintra Heritage House. Typical of a tropical malay home, the atmosphere is zen-like in its calmness. Dark wood, muted lights and greenery from the inner couryard to the bamboo chiks screening the windows of my room, it was perfect. Warm and friendly staff and the clean rooms, made this one of my best stays in Malaysia. The only thing that I think could be improved on is breakfast. Perhaps being relatively new, food is not this hotel's forte. It would have been better if the hotel could have offered simple Asian fare. Nasi lemak or even basic kaya/peanut butter toast with the excellent local Malaysian coffee would have been infinitely better than the weak continental/American coffee and lacklustre scrambled eggs/toast. Wi-fi connections could also be improved and staff could have provided the passwords to guests on check-in. The hotel is located centrally located and within walking distance to Chulia street - the Indian quarter, Masjid Kapitan Keling and Komtar. A pleasant stay overall but some improvements would make it great.

Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Walking distance to Masjid Kapitan Keling, the Mahamariamman temple and Chulia street - the Indian quarter. Pubs and watering holes are located on the opposite street, towards Yeng Keng hotel. For great indian food, head towards Chulia street and the jetty to simple coffee shops. A simple indian breakfast of thosai (rice-flour pancakes) and idlis (steamed rice-cakes) with a variety of curries, chutneys and masala tea cost less than 15 ringgit.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, try to ask for a room at the back. Street noise can be a problem if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shamu06_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The first thing that strikes you about this place is how it fits in with the street. It's as if its been there forever. It's only a few months old. Very charming!!

The interior takes you back to a simpler time. The minute you set foot in it, time slows down and you really relax. The staff are all very warm, welcoming and friendly. Always up for a conversation.

I have received better and genuine attention here than I have received in 5 star hotels. The rooms are very simple but comfortable. They do not have tvs. I thought I was going to miss it but the ambience just takes over and you actually forget about it.

It is located a short walk away from everywhere. Armenian street is a definite must see. Very quaint and beautiful eateries. Do look out for China House. It's beautiful.

I'm missing the place already!! Cannot wait to go back to experience true Penang hospitality. Chintra House is a slice of magic from the past. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaljitSekhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Cintra Heritage House's location is very strategic especially for travellers who plan to visit the Unesco World Heritage areas of Georgetown in Penang. All the heritage sites are within walking distance, say within the radius of 1 to 1.5km from this new yet lovely guesthouse. I simply like the food choices around the guesthouse where I'm able to enjoy the authentic delicious Penang food (either the street food or the restaurant food)!

It's location off the main road (Chulia Street) also means less traffic noise. The guesthouse's staff always serve the guests with a smile. They even allow me to extend my check out time until 2pm since it's a weekday.... :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamTeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberjaya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a wonderful, memorable experience! Staying here feels like home. It's a home setting, maintaining the heritage - the design concept & theme, the decor and the whole ambiance. The staff are warm, very friendly and courteous - that adds to the homely experience. Plus no crowd - only 13 rooms. I highly recommend this tastefully designed, brand new hotel for those who prefer a cozy, homely feel. It's in the smack of the Georgetown heritage sites, shopping, food stalls and restaurants and bars, so it's within walking distance to most places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abelahing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Carnarvon House
Carnarvon House
#2 of 169 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lang Hoose
Lang Hoose
#17 of 169 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shanghai 1910 Heritage
Shanghai 1910 Heritage
#60 of 169 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
East Indies Mansion
East Indies Mansion
#7 of 169 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Betel Nut Lodge
Betel Nut Lodge
#6 of 169 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ren i Tang
Ren i Tang
#3 of 169 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cintra Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cintra Heritage House

Property: Cintra Heritage House
Address: no 1 Lebuh Cintra, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cintra Heritage House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CINTRA HERITAGE HOUSE- The building are shop houses featuring the Southern Chinese Eclectic style and which was built around 1840 -1900’s and once served as a Hair Dressing Saloon for the Japanese Officers and local administrators of Penang during the Post period from 1940’s – 1960's. Building style features Chinese influences on the carved Timber Doors, Air vents, Air wells, Gable end. European and Indian influence on the Louvered shutters, U or V –shaped terracotta tiles. The Cintra Heritage House occupies 4 link-shop houses that have been beautifully restored by master craftsmen mostly done by hand to what it looks like as of today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cintra Heritage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cintra Heritage House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing