We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting place with plenty to do”
Review of China House

China House
Ranked #2 of 29 Dessert in George Town
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Batu Ferringhi, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“interesting place with plenty to do”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

definitely a place to spend some time, there is a library, a computer for internet, cakes, lots of them, and unusual ones too!
There are a lot of different rooms dicivded over I think it was 3 buildings.
All have a different theme. THere are art expo's, you can read books, use the computer, pick some food or coffee and cake from any of the coffee places/restaurants and have it at the poolside. It was raining, but the website you can dip in the pool if you want to :D
THe prices are high for Malaysian standards, not sure whehter the quality is really worth the higher price, however, the layout, the atmosphere, is definitely worth to do every once in a while.
Also this place being in the heart of the heritage centre is a good starting or ending point of a day exploring George Town

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GypsyMalay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    561
    208
    98
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sukhothai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Artsy place for a slow meal, or two”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I've been here twice, once just to browse the architecture and the art gallery, and once to eat. China House is a space where several different restaurants reside, which can be confusing. Reading past reviews, I have to emphasize that different eateries have different quality food, service, and prices.

My husband and I wanted to try the Courtyard Cafe and Burger Bar, but they seemed to be closed. We sat in the courtyard anyway, and ordered from the Canteen & Bar. Maybe we were too preoccupied enjoying the scenery, but service didn't seem noticeably slow until we wanted another bottle of water. Then I went inside and asked for it myself. You can't be too picky about service in Asia. It was a bit weird that no waiter was assigned to the courtyard section, even if we were the only ones there. The food was comparatively pricy for Malaysian fare, but worth it. See here (

Service was better at the Kopi C. Espresso. The cake with chocolate chips and coffee frosting was divine, and the slice was large enough to justify spending 15 MYR if you feel like treating yourself but the tea came from a teabag, and hardly worth 10 MYR.

This is definitely a nice place to come in from the heat and spend a few hours using the wifi, admiring the art and architecture, or just mindfully eating your meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeckoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazed”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the name of the restaurant fool you. This isn't the Chinese food you wood be expecting. This is Asian food in the 21st century. We took the special day menu. Just amazed by all the superb tastes. This restaurant should be high up the ranking of Georgetown.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joost V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Super surprise”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

A friend who is local in Penang took us to his favorite coffee and cake shop following our request for such.Wow what a surprise once yo enter from what was an un inviting front to a magical den of different rooms with each being totally different .The clientele were all relaxed and enjoying just if in their own home.Cake variety endless and all made on premise. Meal menu looked great also definitely a must try when visiting Penang

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thai-riffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterworth, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unique taste for the foods”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Visited last years, was celebrating my birthday there. My friend strongly recommend this restaurant to me, so we went for a try.

The restaurant are still keep as old style shop house in Penang, heritage feel restaurant, but modern style foods. My friend was ordered something like appetizer, it was a big plate with several snacks I think. The taste is special, I not so sure what kind of cuisine can categorise it.
They served plain water in glass bottle, you can refill it whenever you want, it's cute. Another attraction is, they provide some table covered by plain paper, and some crayon in a glass, you can have fun in drawing while waiting for foods, or sharing something with your friends.

This is a nice place for gathering, chit-chating....
But the price of the foods are little high for me.

Helpful?
Thank Sayki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China House also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to China House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing